EGCC Libguides: LGBTQIA+ Issues: Home

Introduction

This guide introduces students to topics related to the LGBTQIA+ community and its history, including issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

LGBTQIA+ stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex, Asexual, and more.

To access different types of resources related to LGBTQIA+ issues, click on the blue navigation tabs.

"Rainbow flag and blue skies" by Ludovic Bertron is available for use under a CC BY 2.0 license.

Databases

To find more resources, try using our Gateway Search box above and the subject databases below.

HELPFUL TIP: When using Gateway Search or a subject database, make sure to limit your search to Full Text so you can read full electronic versions of all the resources in the result list.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBT issues
Disciplines covered by LGBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

The Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database provides information about hot topic issues. Many of these issues have connections to the LGBTQIA+ community.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Below are links to relevant reference articles from the Opposing Viewpoints database:

LGBTQIA+ Issues

Research Help

Need further assistance? Email us or make an appointment.

Email: libhelp@egcc.edu

Research Starters

Introduction

Databases

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints