Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: General information

This guide is intended to aid the students in the various Nursing Programs and tracks.  Not only will it give you guidance on general resources great for your program and usage overall, but it also offers resources for you to comprehend and offer supplementary help in your courses and research aids for some of your major papers.  Navigating this guide:

This tab introduces the guide and offers general resources good for the program overall.  The second tab covers the Fundamentals classes and the two sub-tabs covers the LPN to ADN class paper and the Culture paper.  The third tab, labeled Advanced Med Surg, has a main page that will provide supplementary reading materials good for the major things covered by the major foci of the three Advanced Medical Surgical classes you have to take (that is, bodily issues, care providing, medication administration, and others).  The sub-pages, however, provide research resources and some basic starting points for your important research papers in these three classes.  Then you will have Tab labeled "Other Courses" with a bunch of sub-tabs for your Mental Health Course, your Maternal health, your Child Health, and your Leadership and Management.  After that, there is a special section for the PN program and a final tab for Career Exploration and NCLEX Prep. 

New Gateway Search Box

Useful Databases

Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.

Peterson's Career and Test Prep

Clicking on the below resource is the Gale Presents Peterson's Test and Career Prep's landing page for Medical and Nursing.  In it you can find practice tests and courses to aid you with different NCLEX exams.  To utilize this source, create a profile using the "New User Signup" on the upper right hand corner of the screen. 

Basic Research Guides:

 

E-Books in the OhioLINK digital databases

This list is to provide supplementary material for you.  But if you would like to find other supplementary materials, use these databases, to find additional eBooks. 

Physical Books located in one of our Campuses

A General Article of Use

Cambridge Core, Evidence-Based eBooks

Power Tip: Limit Search Results by Date

Research in the sciences can change rapidly so we recommend that users limit their search results by date.
For rapidly changing fields we recommend limiting your information sources to those published within the last 3-5 years. 

Our own personal eBook, owned by EGCC Library solely 

Links to standard medical dictionaries

APA Resources:

In the General Writing Guide listed on the right hand side, there are a lot of resources for APA aids, but you may want a little more comprehension, because a firm grasp of APA formatting, citation and references are needed for this program.  Therefore, here are a few extra tutorials for you.