America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Points of View Reference Center is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.
Public Affairs Index Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today
The College offers an elective for many grids of an "American Government" class. However, as librarians, we encourage all students to check this guide out to become more aware of the political process as those who vote help make the rules of these United States. It is incumbent upon all Americans to become literate with the way our government works.
American Government, Second Edition by
This exciting new book explores the role of government, politics, and policy in American lives. Full of real life applications and scenarios, this text encourages and enables political thinking. The second edition has been updated to include recent developments in U.S. politics and government. This includes the description and analysis of the 2016 elections as well as the early Trump administration. Chapters have expanded coverage of immigration policy, environmental policy, economic policy, and global affairs (including counterterrorism policy). The text also includes analysis of racial issues in contemporary American politics and law. It also addresses questions about the state of the economy, jobs, and wages. Hyperlinks and URLs provide "deeper dives" into various topics and examples of comparative politics.
A Constitutional History of the U. S. Supreme Court by 
The Untold Story of Women of Color in the League of Women Voters by
The Untold Story of Women of Color in the League of Women Voters explores ways in which these women have been marginalized and recognizes how their contributions will positively influence the organization as it moves into its next 100 years. On February 14, 2020, the League of Women Voters of the United States celebrated the 100th anniversary of its founding. Although women of color have always made significant contributions to women's suffrage and the women's movements, their contributions, particularly as they relate to the League of Women Voters (LWV), have been marginalized and relegated to the footnotes of the organization's history. The Untold Story of Women of Color in the League of Women Voters adds a new dimension to these conversations. The book is structured to show the progression of the relationship between the League of Women Voters and its members of color as manifested in changes to its policies, practices, symbols, and messaging. It begins with the suffrage movement and continues until the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the League and uses actual correspondence, convention minutes, existing League histories, and personal accounts to tell the League story. Chapter titles disclose the philosophical shifts in attitude at each stage of the organization's evolution. Celebrates the 100-year history of the League of Women Voters and the contributions of women of color Provides an accurate, comprehensive account of history in this grassroots membership organization Explores the unique challenges that women of color faced in the United States and in its mainstream organizations Argues that the League must learn from the past and make intentional decisions to change for the future to remain relevant in the next phase of its history
The Civil Rights Movement by
Drawing on the most recent scholarship, The Civil Rights Movement provides a concise overview of the most important social movement of the 20th century and will expand readers' understanding of the fight for racial equality. Ideal for research, this one-stop reference provides a unique introduction to the Civil Rights Movement as it includes its development, issues, and leaders. Six essays capture the drama and conflict of the struggle, covering, among other topics, the origins of the movement, the role of women, the battle for racial equality in the North, and the lasting effects of the protests of the 1950s and 1960s. Ready-reference features include a chronology, a bibliography, photographs, and biographical profiles of 20 activists, from Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X to Ella Baker and Angela Davis. The book also contains a selection of primary sources, including presidential addresses, Supreme Court decisions, and FBI reports on Malcolm X and Stokeley Carmichael. Based on the latest scholarship in the field, this guide gives readers all of the analysis and reference sources they need to expand their understanding of the Civil Rights movement. Offers up to date information based on the latest scholarship in the field Combines analytical essays with historical documents and concise biographies Examines traditional as well as new themes, from the rise of Martin Luther King, Jr. to the battle against Jim Crow in the North Ties the historic struggles of the 1950s and 1960s to the movements today against mass incarceration and police abuse
American Government by
In the Third Editionof American Government: Stories of a Nation, author Scott F. Abernathy tunes in to the voices of allAmericans, showing how our diverse ideas shape the way we participate and behave, the laws we live by, and the challenges we face. The key concepts are memorable because they are tied to real politics, where your students can see political action and political choices shaping how institutions advance or impede the fulfillment of fundamental ideas
American Government: a Brief Introduction, 16th Edition by
American Government: A Brief Introduction teaches students to think for themselves. A unique brief framework built around themes of governance and representation enables readers to understand how the concepts and processes of American government function in their daily lives. New in-text and online resources develop the skills required to interpret data and break down political information. Students don't just learn the basics?they discover how to think critically about the role American government plays in their own lives.
The Supreme Court by
In The Supreme Court, Lawrence Baum provides a brief yet comprehensive introduction to the U.S. Supreme Court, one that is balanced and illuminating. In successive chapters, the book examines each major aspect of the Court: the selection, backgrounds, and departures of justices; the creation of the Court′s agenda; the decision-making process and the factors that shape the Court′s decisions; the substance of the Court′s policies; and the Court′s impact on government and American society. Describing the Court′s personalities and procedures, and delving deeply to explain the actions of the Court and the behavior of justices, Baum shows students the Court′s complexity and reach. Tables and figures, plus a lively photo program, make this one of the most engaging books available. It is simply the standard.
Below are some introductory resources about the Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.
If you need information about a specific amendment, you can use the blue Gateway Search box. Please use the following as your search terms (typed in the quotations and including the plus sign): "# Amendment" + "U.S. Constitution." Click the check mark next to "Full Text" to ensure you will be able to read the results of your search.
If you're not getting relevant search results by typing in "14th Amendment" try typing the number as a word: "Fourteenth Amendment."
