This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Academic areas covered include: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Alternate Name(s):Peterson's Test and Career Prep
Test and Career Prep
Career Prep: This comprehensive resource platform creates personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, skills, personality, and workplace preferences. Peterson’s Career Prep also includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, and job search powered by Indeed.com. Test Prep: This online education tool offers users standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses. Ideal for researching undergraduate and graduate school programs, finding tuition assistance, exploring academic opportunities, and preparing for professional careers.
First Time Users please see our FAQ on creating an account: https://egcc.libanswers.com/faq/357503.
Nexis Uni is an easy-to-use academic search engine that provides access to news sources, legal cases, criminal justice and business information. Paralegal Students you will use Nexis Uni to locate and access many of your required cases.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
eBooks from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania, Rutgers and Penn State presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
Alternate Name(s):Alumni Access - Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep
EGCC Alumni Access to Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep database.
Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep helps you prepare for the GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and more. Find in-depth information on graduate programs, tuition and scholarship assistance, interviewing, and networking advice. Plus, use templates to create visually interesting resumés, cover letters, and websites that can be externally shared with prospective employers.
EGCC Alumni, please contact the library to register for access. Alumni status will be verified with the Alumni office.
(scroll down to click the Counseling & Psychotherapy box to view all available videos in the collection)
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.