Basic information about page
Sometimes in some of your courses, you'll be asked to research the background or workings of a certain business or industry. Here are some resources to find what you need there. Sometimes merely searching the Gateway Search Discovery Layer by encasing the business in quotations, like "General Motors" but if you are running into some roadblocks or have so much coming at you in the Discovery Layer and need to make more surgical and meaningful searches, here are some resources for you. Moreover, if you're researching a business that's more "Mom and Pop" you may want to look up, via a Google search some local businesses that match your query and perhaps call them and interview them to find out more information.
Nexis Uni is an easy-to-use academic search engine. It delivers relevant content that makes scholarly research more efficient, and it provides personalization, discovery, and collaboration features that students and university faculty want in an academic research tool.
Some useful Databases
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the academic researcher as well as the student with the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV. The reliable and timely data can be utilized by students for their entrepreneurial assignments or case studies ranging from solo projects to major entrepreneurial undertakings. Subjects covered include business planning, communications, innovations, management, marketing, organizational behavior, product development, raising capital, risk taking, and many more.
Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.
MIT Press Direct eBook collection through 2021. MIT Press Direct Description: Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Additional Databases that Could have some information
If you are looking to research information in a specific industry or trying to exhaust all avenues, you could attempt to find information in these databases as well.
The Chilton Library is a database of automotive help. It includes step-by-step service and repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance and specification tables, troubleshooting guides, and diagnostic trouble codes. The Chilton database also includes the ASE test prep materials.
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
Food Science Source is an extensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels. This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to the food industry, encompassing sectors such as:
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others.
Points of View Reference Center is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.
