EGCC Libguides: Paralegal: Home

Introduction to this Guide

This guide is designed to provide helpful resources to students in the Paralegal program. You can use the blue tabs to access different resources related to the Paralegal field.

Use our Gateway Search box to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search.

Below are some legal databases you can use to begin your research.

This image by Nick Youngson available for use under a CC BY-SA 3.0 license.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is an easy-to-use academic search engine that provides access to news sources, legal cases, criminal justice and business information. Paralegal Students you will use Nexis Uni to locate and access many of your required cases.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and full text of articles on law and legal topics.
is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text's coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window Catalog of U.S. government documents.
is a catalog of U.S. government documents from 1976 to the present. The database describes Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. It contains records on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government.

Law Libraries

Law libraries are designed to help law students, attorneys, paralegals, judges, and members of the public find legal information.

If you need help researching a particular legal issue, consider reaching out to your county, state, or federal law library, depending on which type of law you are researching.

FEDERAL: The Law Library of Congress is the national library of the United States.

STATE: To find your state's law library, visit this State Law Library Directory, created by the Minnesota State Law Library.

COUNTY: To find your county's law library, try a simple Google search for: [name of your county] + "law library." Please note that not every county in the United States has a law library.

Featured Workshop: Shepard's Citations

Nexis Uni Webinars
View more Nexis Uni webinars presented by Lynn Smith from LexisNexis

Paralegal

Legal LibGuides

LibGuides - Types of Law

Introduction to this Guide

Law Libraries

Featured Workshop: Shepard's Citations