This tab is meant to help those in the below listed certificate tracks with research resources:
Human Resources Strategies: Balancing Stability and Agility in Times of Digitization by 
Operations Management and Sustainability: New Research Perspectives by 
Corporate Finance by
The book introduces corporate finance to first year students in business schools. Basic subjects such as marketing, human resources and finance are all fundamental to the learning of a business manager. A book on these subjects must emphasise learning that is conceptual in nature and at the same time, application oriented. This book attempts to achieve this in a manner that is comprehensive and shorn of complexity. It examines the practice of finance without diluting theory and conceptual knowledge. Corporate finance is necessarily quantitative in nature and the book duly places emphasis on that aspect. It ensures the primacy of ideas and concepts utilising numbers as supportive elements.
Quantitative Finance by
Presents a multitude of topics relevant to the quantitative finance community by combining the best of the theory with the usefulness of applications Written by accomplished teachers and researchers in the field, this book presents quantitative finance theory through applications to specific practical problems and comes with accompanying coding techniques in R and MATLAB, and some generic pseudo-algorithms to modern finance. It also offers over 300 examples and exercises that are appropriate for the beginning student as well as the practitioner in the field. The Quantitative Finance book is divided into four parts. Part One begins by providing readers with the theoretical backdrop needed from probability and stochastic processes. We also present some useful finance concepts used throughout the book. In part two of the book we present the classical Black-Scholes-Merton model in a uniquely accessible and understandable way. Implied volatility as well as local volatility surfaces are also discussed. Next, solutions to Partial Differential Equations (PDE), wavelets and Fourier transforms are presented. Several methodologies for pricing options namely, tree methods, finite difference method and Monte Carlo simulation methods are also discussed. We conclude this part with a discussion on stochastic differential equations (SDE's). In the third part of this book, several new and advanced models from current literature such as general Lvy processes, nonlinear PDE's for stochastic volatility models in a transaction fee market, PDE's in a jump-diffusion with stochastic volatility models and factor and copulas models are discussed. In part four of the book, we conclude with a solid presentation of the typical topics in fixed income securities and derivatives. We discuss models for pricing bonds market, marketable securities, credit default swaps (CDS) and securitizations. Classroom-tested over a three-year period with the input of students and experienced practitioners Emphasizes the volatility of financial analyses and interpretations Weaves theory with application throughout the book Utilizes R and MATLAB software programs Presents pseudo-algorithms for readers who do not have access to any particular programming system Supplemented with extensive author-maintained web site that includes helpful teaching hints, data sets, software programs, and additional content Quantitative Finance is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and beginning graduate students in statistics, financial engineering, quantitative finance, and mathematical finance programs. It will also appeal to practitioners in the same fields.
How to Read a Financial Report by
The updated new edition of the comprehensive guide to reading and understanding financial reports Financial reports are used to provide a range of vital information, including an organization's cash flow, financial condition, and profit performance (aka The Big Three Financial Statements). Financial statements are often complex and extremely difficult to understand for anyone other than accounting and finance professionals. How to Read a Financial Report enablesinvestors, lenders, business leaders, analysts, and managers to read, analyze, and interpret financial accounting reports. Designed specifically for non-specialists, this reader-friendly resource covers the fundamentals of financial reporting in jargon-free English. Topics such as sales revenue & recognition, costs of goods sold, sources & uses of capital/cash, non-cash expenses (e.g., depreciation expense), income tax obligations, understanding profits & financial stability, and financial statement ratios & analysis are covered throughout the book. Now in its ninth edition, this bestselling guide has been thoroughly revised to reflect changes in accounting and financial reporting rules, current practices, and recent trends. New and expanded content explains managing cash flow, illustrates the deceitful misrepresentation of profits in some financial reports (aka Financial Engineering), and more. Further, end-of-chapter activities help readers learn the intricacies of the balance sheet and cash flow statement, while updated sections address shifts in regulatory standards. Written by two highly experienced experts in financial accounting, this resource: Enables readers to cut through the noise and focus on what financial reports and financial statements are really saying about a company Clarifies commonly misunderstood aspects of financial reporting and how companies can "financially engineer" operating results Offers comprehensive, step-by-step guidance on analyzing financial reports Provides numerous examples and explanations of various types of financial reports and analysis tools
The Unwritten Rules of Managing Up by
Project managers don't have a lot of authority, but they must keep their projects on track--they can't allow anyone to get in their way. In this book a veteran project manager shares her secrets on how to tactfully keep your boss from accidentally sabotaging your project's success. What do you do when the biggest threat to your project is your boss? It's not that your boss is out to get you. In fact, bosses generally mean well. But clueless leadership from a well-intentioned boss can sometimes cause more damage than a criminal mastermind tying your project to the railroad tracks. Lucky for you, the best project managers have got "managing up" down to a fine science. The reason is that project managers are often outside consultants with no formal position in the organization they're working for, putting them at a double disadvantage. Learn how tried-and-tested techniques from the discipline of project management can be used to manage five main "types" of difficult bosses. Dana Brownlee, certified Project Management Professional, has repeatable, reliable techniques based on years of project consulting, which apply to each of these difficult boss types. Your boss will be eating right from your hand in no time.
The Socially Intelligent Project Manager by
High-performing teams don't happen by magic. You need processes that are designed in a socially intelligent way if your team is going to overcome the modern world's tough challenges with coordination. To be a star project manager, you have to communicate with people in their individual learning styles, provide accountability in ways that won't be demotivating, and run meetings and minutes that people won't tune out. Your processes must be constructed in ways that respect the complex realities of social dynamics step by step. You have to know your team before you can motivate them, and you have to motivate them before you can manage them. In this book are foolproof techniques to make sure your team connects with you, each other, and everyone they need to get the job done. After all, a team should be more than the sum of its parts--and it's up to the project manager to provide the glue that holds it all together.
Bedtime Stories for Managers by
Management legend Henry Mintzberg (whose Berrett-Koehler books have sold over 225,000 copies worldwide) says we need to bring managing down from thin air and onto solid ground. Leaders need to be deeply rooted in what's happening on the front lines, not isolated in the privileged confines of the boardroom. "Enough of heroic leadership, it's time for engaging management!" is the rallying cry from management and leadership giant Henry Mintzberg. He establishes this theme in the first story in the book, about the CEO of a failing airline who always flew comfortably in first class, blithely unaware of the terrible things happening with his customers in coach (in this case, being served famously inedible scrambled eggs). Managing can't be about sitting where you have become accustomed, insulating yourself--it has to be about eating the scrambled eggs. So Mintzberg urges leaders to call their own call centers, work with their workers, expect extraordinary ideas from ordinary people. Be a keynote listener, not a keynote speaker. Don't say "top management" if you won't say "bottom management." In this best-of collection from his popular, entertaining and irreverent blog, Mintzberg writes that he captures "a lifetime of learning about managing and organizing and strategizing, while getting out many of the ideas that I buried in obscure publications... If some strike you as outrageous, please understand that my most outrageous ideas tend to be my truest." This is Mintzberg at his most playful, but always with serious intent.
Win the Heart by
According to Gallup's 2017 report, only 33% of workers are engaged at work--and the numbers have been low for years. Leaders have tried and failed to address this critical problem. Based on Mark Miller's research, this book both simplifies and operationalizes the necessary behaviors to reverse this troubling trend. The missing link is realizing that the pandemic of low engagement is not a problem with the workers, it is a problem with the leaders. In this charming fable, Blake, a young CEO, is convinced something is not quite right in his organization. Sales, profits, and customer satisfaction are barely improving, the competition is gaining on them and no one appears to care. And when he's honest with himself, he's lost his fire as well. He just can't put his finger on the problem. Blake seeks out his old friend and first mentor, Debbie Bruster. She sends Blake on a journey to discover the key to engaging leadership. By the end of his journey, Blake has discovered a powerful philosophy to guide his decisions in the future, and four drivers of engagement to implement today.
Rogue Money and the Underground Economy by
This easy-to-use guide covers the history, development, and current workings of cybercurrencies and the underground economy, both in the United States and around the world. The world of cybercurrency has experienced explosive growth in recent years, but that expansion has been accompanied by numerous controversies and misunderstandings about what it is, how it works, and how it relates to the underground economy and illegal activities such as money laundering, tax evasion, and human trafficking. Many illegal or malicious activities are paid for with cyber currencies. This book covers those applications. But cyber currencies also have many legitimate, constructive applications, all of which are explained in Rogue Money in clear, plain English, without embellishment or exaggeration. An authoritative and thought-provoking reference for readers seeking a greater understanding of all aspects of alternative cybercurrencies, this encyclopedia includes entries on economic history, international trade, current controversies, and its impact on the wider underground economy. It peels back the layers of jargon and obfuscation, giving each topic individual attention to show how it works and contributes to the whole. Features approximately 175 entries on cybercurrencies and the underground economy Provides background on how major underground economic activities work to put cybercurrencies in context Discusses the benefits and drawbacks of the increased role of cybercurrencies in today's underground economy Includes an appendix of illuminating primary documents, providing insights into key historical developments
Help Them Grow or Watch Them Go by
The new edition of a bestselling classic, Help Them or Grow Watch Them Grow offers advice on talent retention for the modern gig economy and the evolving American workforce, now accompanied by an interactive card game and training videos! Study after study confirms that career development is the single most powerful tool managers have for driving retention, engagement, productivity, and results. It's the sustainable competitive advantage that will distinguish the winners from the losers. Nevertheless, it's frequently back-burnered. When asked why, managers say the number one reason is that they just don't have time - for the meetings, the forms, the administrative hoops. But there's a better way. And it's surprisingly simple- frequent short conversations with employees about their career goals and options integrated seamlessly into the normal course of business. Beverly Kaye, coauthor of the bestselling Love 'Em or Lose 'Em, and Julie Winkle Giulioni identify three broad types of conversations that will increase employees' awareness of their strengths, weaknesses, and interests; point out where their organization and their industry are headed; and help them pull all of that together to design their own up-to-the-minute, personalized career plans. Help Them Grow or Watch Them Go is filled with practical tips, guidelines, and templates, as well as nearly a hundred suggested conversation questions. This new edition will also be released alongside an interactive Help Them Grow or Watch Them Go card deck to create organizational pathways for career development, and twenty-seven minutes of video trainings covering content, activities and practices in the book.
Breaking the Silence Habit by
Top consultant Sarah Beaulieu goes beyond rules and compliance to offer a five-part framework that will enable men and women to have uncomfortable but necessary conversations about sexual harassment and violence at work and develop new ways to work together. In the wake of the #MeToo movement, employees and leaders are struggling with how to respond to the pervasiveness of sexual harassment within their organizations and industries. Compliance-only approaches fall short because they teach employees the rules but don't provide them with the skills to follow them. Sarah Beaulieu provides a new skills-based approach to addressing sexual harassment prevention and response in the workplace, including using underdeveloped skills like empathy, situational awareness, boundary setting, and intervention. Beaulieu outlines a five-part framework for having conversations about sexual harassment- Know the Facts; Feel Uncomfortable; Get Curious, Not Furious; See the Whole Picture; and Embrace Practical Questions. By embracing these conversations, we can break the cycle of avoidance and silence that leaves our lives and our workplaces feeling volatile and unsafe. This book will help you contribute toward fostering a safer environment for your colleagues so that everyone can bring their full talent and contributions to the workplace.
Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship by
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Entrepreneurship is a career path that more and more students and job seekers are considering. Like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and Mark Zuckerburg, anyone with a great idea can change the world. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship fills the need for helpful information on the founding principles of entrepreneurship-how to start a business, how to pitch your product, how to raise capital, how to market your product and so much more. This is information anyone looking to start a business needs to know. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the fundamentals of what is involved in starting a business. Over 100 easy-to-understand entries outline the basics of: Innovation Leadership Investment Valuation Launching New Ventures through Technology Leadership & Motivation Lean Manufacturing Logistics Management Managing the Process of Innovation Marketing Strategy Mergers & Acquisitions Negotiations Networking New Ventures & the Law New Product Management Patents Pricing Strategies Principles of Advertising Product Life Cycle Risk Analysis Scenario Planning Social Entrepreneurship Team Management Technological Innovation An understanding of the essentials of entrepreneurship is important for anyone who is considering creating a new product, delivering a new type of service, those who want to start their own business, or even those who have just started developing their new idea.
Connectedness and Contagion: Protecting the Financial System from Panics by 
Business Intelligence by
Business Intelligence: The Savvy Managers Guide, Second Edition, discusses the objectives and practices for designing and deploying a business intelligence (BI) program. It looks at the basics of a BI program, from the value of information and the mechanics of planning for success to data model infrastructure, data preparation, data analysis, integration, knowledge discovery, and the actual use of discovered knowledge. Organized into 21 chapters, this book begins with an overview of the kind of knowledge that can be exposed and exploited through the use of BI. It then proceeds with a discussion of information use in the context of how value is created within an organization, how BI can improve the ways of doing business, and organizational preparedness for exploiting the results of a BI program. It also looks at some of the critical factors to be taken into account in the planning and execution of a successful BI program. In addition, the reader is introduced to considerations for developing the BI roadmap, the platforms for analysis such as data warehouses, and the concepts of business metadata. Other chapters focus on data preparation and data discovery, the business rules approach, and data mining techniques and predictive analytics. Finally, emerging technologies such as text analytics and sentiment analysis are considered. This book will be valuable to data management and BI professionals, including senior and middle-level managers, Chief Information Officers and Chief Data Officers, senior business executives and business staff members, database or software engineers, and business analysts.
Winning the War for Talent by
Competition for top talent is a battle. Win the war. There isn't an organization out there that hasn't struggled to fill open positions with the best people possible. And once you have them, how do you keep them? Winning the War for Talent addresses the challenges of today's job market and reveals how your organization can adapt in order to recruit, retain, and develop your employees. Recruiting is no longer as easy as posting jobs on a job board and waiting for the resumes to pile in. Starting with creating a sales-minded HR team, Chris Czarnik, creator of the groundbreaking Human Search Engine process that serves job seekers and a twenty-year veteran of HR and operations management, lays out the foundation for making your company the one people want to work for. Retaining your top talent once you have them is easy, right? Not quite. Czarnik identifies the primary reasons great employees leave and how you can prevent that from happening at your company. Developing employees is all about empowering them to own their career paths. You'll get an actionable plan to keep your employees invested in their growth. From small business owners to global corporations, Winning the War for Talent is a step-by-step guide for building and keeping the best team possible!
The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias by
A timely, must-have guide to understanding and overcoming bias in the workplace, from the experts at FranklinCovey. Unconscious bias affects everyone. It can look like the disappointment of an HR professional when a candidate for a new position asks about maternity leave. It can look like preferring the application of an Ivy League graduate over one from a state school. It can look like assuming a man is more entitled to speak in a meeting than his female junior colleague. Ideal for every manager who wants to understand and move past their own preconceived ideas, The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias explains that bias is the result of mental shortcuts, our likes and dislikes, and is a natural part of the human condition. And what we assume about each other and how we interact with one another has vast effects on our organizational success--especially in the workplace. Teaching you how to overcome unconscious bias, this book provides more than thirty unique tools, such as a prep worksheet and a list of ways to reframe your unconscious thoughts. According to the experts at FranklinCovey, your workplace can achieve its highest performance rate once you start to overcome your biases and allow your employees to be whole people. By recognizing bias, emphasizing empathy and curiosity, and making true understanding a priority in the workplace, we can unlock the potential of every person we encounter.
Diversity Beyond Lip Service by
The ugly truth about diversity is that some people worry they must give up their power for others to have a chance. La'Wana Harris's Inclusion Coaching method helps people realize that sharing power isn't the same as losing it. "La'Wana Harris has opened this coach's eyes to the power of coaching practices to create new paths for diversity and inclusion work--whether or not you are formally trained as a coach. Please read this book and help create workplaces with honest engagement and access for all." --Marshall Goldsmith, Thinkers 50 #1 Executive Coach and two-time #1 Leadership Thinker in the world The ugly truth about diversity is that some people worry they must give up their power for others to have a chance. La'Wana Harris's Inclusion Coaching method helps people realize that sharing power isn't the same as losing it. The elephant in the room with diversity work is that people with privilege must use it to allow others equal access to power. This is often why diversity efforts falter--people believe in diversity until they feel that they have to give something up. How do we talk them through this shift? La'Wana Harris introduces Inclusion Coaching, a new tool based on cutting-edge research that identifies the stages of preparation, implementation, and "self-work" necessary to help individuals, teams, and organizations build a sustainable culture of inclusion. Harris's six-stage COMMIT model--Commit to courageous action, Open your eyes and ears, Move beyond lip service, Make room for controversy and conflict, Invite new perspectives, and Tell the truth even when it hurts--provides a proven process for making people aware of their own conscious and unconscious biases and concrete steps to make inclusion an embedded reality. Harris offers managers and diversity coaches new models to empower everyone from employees to CEOs to "do" inclusion and address deep-rooted biases that are often invisible. She addresses the growing need to challenge bias and build authentic cultures where everyone can feel a sense of belonging.
Handbook for Strategic HR by
Since the 1990s, a transformation has occurred within the role of human resources departments. HR professionals are being called upon to help determine priorities in running the business, craft organizational development strategies, and shape the culture within their company. From the renowned OD practitioner, the American Management Association, this forward-thinking book introduces readers to core organization development strategies and skills--providing creative approaches, practical tips, and proven methods to help them succeed.Through a compendium of the best thinking on the subject, you'll learn how to strategically identify where best to foster change in the organization, team up with consultants and senior-level staff in leading a change project, improve employee engagement, include others in the important work of the organization, and operate effectively in cross-cultural and virtual working situations.Comprehensive and practical, Handbook for Strategic HR includes 78 articles that will enable you see the big picture roles and responsibilities of human resource professionals today. Best of all, this book is approved for HRCI Recertification Credit--helping you to advance your career in numerous tangible ways. See the SHRM store website for details.
Employee Engagement by
How can I create engagement strategies that will empower employees to succeed? This book offers a practical resource for developing an effective engagement strategy aligned to business objectives. An engaged workforce is essential to the performance and success of any organization. Featuring practical tools and templates, Employee Engagement provides comprehensive coverage of all stages of the engagement process, from planning initiatives to building and measuring their success. This updated third edition presents engagement strategies that account for recent workplace developments, from remote working to creating psychological safety. It also includes updates on the evolving technology trends that impact engagement and guidance on how to create strategies that are inclusive of all employees. With examples and case studies from organizations such as AXA PPP Healthcare, EDF Energy and Marks & Spencer, Employee Engagement is essential reading for HR students and professionals. Online supporting resources include diagnostic tools, templates and additional best-practice case studies. HR Fundamentals is a series of succinct, practical guides featuring exercises, examples and case studies. They are ideal for students and those in the early stages of their HR careers.
Employment Law by
The updated third edition of Employment Law is a clear and practical guide to understanding the complex, important system that regulates the relationship between employers and employees in the UK. Understanding and applying the law effectively at work is essential for organizations. Employment Law offers a complete overview of the core components that form the interactions between an organization, its employees and the HR function. The third edition includes the latest developments and changes in law and HR perspectives, with new material on the changeability of the law, equal pay and parental leave. Featuring practical tools, checklists, case studies and real-life examples, Employment Law builds legal knowledge in key areas including recruitment, contracts, discrimination, equal pay, health and safety and managing the end of the employment relationship. It is supported by case studies on topics such as early conciliation, implied rights and diversity and inclusion and online resources including person specification templates and appraisal forms and additional references. HR Fundamentals is a series of succinct, practical guides featuring exercises, examples and case studies. They are ideal for students and those in the early stages of their HR careers.
Human Resources Changes the World: How and Why HR and HR Directors Should Step-Up As Leaders in the 21st by 
