For fields where research rapidly changes, such as the sciences, we recommend limiting your search results to those published within the last 3-5 years.
This guide is meant for students in the Dental Assisting program.
Basic Guide to Dental Instruments by 
Battling and Beating the Demons of Dental Assisting by 
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene by
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format. Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene
Clinical Oral Anatomy by
This superbly illustrated book presents the most current and comprehensive review of oral anatomy for clinicians and researchers alike. In 26 chapters, the reader is taken on a unique anatomical journey, starting with the oral fissure, continuing via the maxilla and mandible to the tongue and floor of the mouth, and concluding with the temporomandibular joint and masticatory muscles. Each chapter offers a detailed description of the relevant anatomical structures and their spatial relationships, provides quantitative morphological assessments, and explains the relevance of the region for clinical dentistry. All dental health care professionals require a sound knowledge of anatomy for the purposes of diagnostics, treatment planning, and therapeutic intervention. A full understanding of the relationship between anatomy and clinical practice is the ultimate objective, and this book will enable the reader to achieve such understanding as the basis for provision of the best possible treatment for each individual patient as well as recognition and comprehension of unexpected clinical findings.
Contemporary dental pharmacology : evidence-based considerations by
This book on current approaches to the use of drugs in dentistry aims to equip practitioners with a sound understanding of both the scientific evidence for various interventions and the comparative efficacy of those interventions. The focus is on the drugs most commonly used in conjunction with dental treatment, including local anesthetics, analgesics, antibiotics, sedatives, and drugs for the management of medical emergencies. Summaries of the scientific evidence from the available published literature are provided, with assessment of the level and quality of the evidence base. A unique aspect of the book is its focus on current, evidence-based recommendations from professional organizations with regard to special topics, such as antibiotic prophylaxis, pediatric considerations, and management of medically compromised patients. Emphasis is placed on evidence from randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and in order to further enhance the up-to-date nature of the book, each chapter includes guidance on online resources, such as useful non-commercial websites.
Dental Reception and Supervisory Management by
Dental Reception and Practice Management 2nd Edition is the dental office administrator's essential companion to all aspects of reception work and supervisory practice management duties. The book covers vital interpersonal skills and the important aspects of business management and marketing relevant to dentistry. In addition, it explains the development of dental care, enhancing the reader's understanding and awareness of the necessary clinical aspects of dentistry. It also addresses the General Dental Council's Standards for the Dental Team, which details the nine principals for observing patient rights, and looks at new regulations introduced by the Health and Social Care Act. Provides practical advice for dental receptionists wishing to upgrade their skills Covers all aspects of the receptionist role, from administration and marketing to quality management and patient experience Looks at new standards and regulations put into effect Offers concrete suggestions to improve dental practices and further patient health Includes access to a companion website with case studies and links to useful websites Dental Reception and Practice Management 2nd Edition is designed for use by dental receptionists in practice and for use in dental reception courses. It will also greatly benefit dental nurses, dental hygienists, and dentists.
The Dental Reference Manual by
This book is designed to meet the needs of both dental students and dentists by providing succinct and quickly retrievable answers to common dental questions. Students will find both that it clearly presents the particulars which should be familiar to every dentist and that it enables them to see the big picture and contextualize information introduced to them in the future. Practicing dentists, on the other hand, will employ the book as a daily reference to source information on important topics, materials, techniques, and conditions. The book is neither discipline nor specialty specific. The first part is wide ranging and covers the essentials of dental practice while the second part addresses individual specialties and the third is devoted to emergency dental treatment. Whether as a handy resource in the student s backpack or as a readily available tool on the office desk, this reference manual fills an important gap in the dental literature.
Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases by
A quick reference and revision guide on the most common oral and perioral diseases seen in clinical practice Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a concise reference on the common diseases encountered in daily practice. Presenting a large selection of clinical cases, this user-friendly resource covers a range of oral and perioral lesions located in hard and soft tissues of the mouth and neck, as well as oral manifestations of various systemic diseases. Nearly 300 high-quality color images complement succinct descriptions of clinical cases seen in both community and hospital care settings. Divided into three parts, the text first covers oral lesions classified by their color, appearance, and symptomatology such as bleeding, disturbances of saliva, taste, and orofacial pain. Part two describes the most common oral lesions by location, including those in the buccal mucosae, floor of mouth, gingivae and jaws, lips, neck, palate, salivary glands, tongue, and teeth. The third part encompasses oral lesions that are normal variations or those common to specific age groups or associated with various clinical phenomena. Provides nearly 300 high-quality clinical photos and relevant questions to help lead readers to the proper diagnosis of common oral diseases Contains concise tables relevant to each chapter with a list of common oral lesions and conditions Offers MCQs of varying levels of difficulty to help readers test their knowledge in Oral Medicine Includes clinical flow charts according to the location and duration of oral lesions Incorporates the ICD-10 Codes of oral lesions and diseases Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a valuable reference for general dental and medical practitioners, undergraduate dental students, and postgraduate trainees in oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral medicine, oral pathology, periodontology as well as general pathology, dermatology or head and neck oncology.
Digitization in dentistry: clinical applications by
This book provides evidence-based guidance on the clinical applications of digital dentistry, that is, the use of dental technologies or devices that incorporate digital or computer-controlled components for the performance of dental procedures. Readers will find practically oriented information on the digital procedures currently in use in various fields of dental practice, including, for example, diagnosis and treatment planning, oral radiography, endodontics, orthodontics, implant dentistry, and esthetic dentistry. The aim is to equip practitioners with the knowledge required in order to enhance their daily practice. To this end, a problem-solving approach is adopted, with emphasis on key concepts and presentation of details in a sequential and easy to follow manner. Clear recommendations are set out, and helpful tips and tricks are highlighted. The book is written in a very readable style and is richly illustrated. Whenever appropriate, information is presented in tabular form to provide a ready overview of answers to frequent doubts and questions.
Essentials of Dental Photography by
An accessible, one-stop guide to getting the most out of dental photography in clinical practice Dental photography is an increasingly important part of dental care in general practices, hospitals, and specialist clinics. The uses of dental photographs are numerous, such as monitoring treatment outcomes, educating patients, promoting services, and providing evidence for litigation or regulatory purposes. Essentials of Dental Photography is a user-friendly guide to incorporating dental photographs into daily practice. Containing real-world advice and proven techniques, this book helps clinicians understand and apply the fundamental principles of dental photography. Accessible chapters cover every major aspect of dental photography and answer the most common questions asked by clinicians. Step-by-step instructions show readers how to select the correct photographic and dental equipment, setup equipment for a variety of dental procedures, process images using photo-editing software, and more. The author, a recognised expert in the field, explain the basic concepts of dental photography and how to create high-quality, predictable and repeatable images. Providing an easy-to-follow roadmap to exceptional dental photographs, this practical guide: Covers all the basic concepts, equipment, and techniques of dental photography Illustrates the photographic setups for both intra- and extra-oral images Provides recommendations for appropriate types of cameras, lenses, flashes, reflectors, tripods, and software Discusses photographic archiving, electronic dissemination, printing, publishing, and presenting images Essentials of Dental Photography is a valuable guide for dental practitioners and new graduates looking to learn dental photography and apply it in practice.
Infection control in primary dental care by
This book is an easy-to-use guide to all aspects of infection control and decontamination that will support the implementation of effective measures for risk reduction in dental practice. Among the topics addressed are the principles and practicalities of cleaning and sterilizing dental instruments, the role of personal protective equipment, the design and use of decontamination rooms, choice of dental equipment, environmental disinfection, and considerations relating to dental unit water lines. In addition, readers will find an informative and helpful section on the background history and basic science of infection control within dentistry. Infection Control in Primary Dental Care will be very useful for all members of the dental team, including dentists, dental nurses or assistants, dental hygienists, and therapists. The book is illustrated with photographs, diagrams, and tables to aid understanding and encourage good practice. The authors have a background in microbiology and dental practice and have extensive experience of providing advice and guidance to professional colleagues on infection control procedures.
Integration of Medical and Dental Care and Patient Data by
This largely revised second edition comprehensively reviews the need and rationale for the integration of medical and dental patient data. The reader will find extensive guidance on issues involved with care and data integration, and how to achieve an integrated model of healthcare. The book discusses how the use of state-of-the-art, fully integrated (dental-medical), electronic health records can improve clinical, financial as well as societal outcomes. In the book you will also find different aspects that play a role in integration including existing clinical software implementations (and their paths for integration), clinical touch points, and how current and future developments will facilitate the integration process in a more efficient way. This second edition of Integration of Medical and Dental Care and Patient Data details the available methods and technologies for successfully integrating patient medical and dental data. It is, therefore, an important and timely update for informaticians and a broad range of both dental and medical professionals and other health professionals (dental assistants, hygienists, nurses) as well as clinical students entering the professional environment.
A review on dental materials by
This book discusses the current biomaterials used for dental applications and the basic sciences underpinning their application. The most critical structures in the oral cavity are the teeth, which play a central role in speaking, biting, chewing, tasting and swallowing. Teeth consist of three types of tissue: the cementum, enamel and dentin, with bone and gingival tissue serving as supporting structures. Caries, tooth wear, trauma and mechanical defects can lead to severe facial conditions; however, correcting these defects remains a challenge for scientists and dentists. Presenting insights form a broad range of disciplines, including materials science, biology, physiology and clinical science, this book provides a timely review of the principles, processing and application of dental materials.
Risk assessment in oral health : a concise guide for clinical application by
This book is a wide-ranging guide to risk assessment and risk-based prevention in oral health and dentistry. Readers will find clear explanation of the principles, models, and tools of risk assessment, as well as practical information on risk assessment in relation to periodontal disease, caries, tooth wear, and oral cancer. The lessons that the oral healthcare profession can learn from experiences regarding risk assessment in primary medical care practice, particularly in cardiovascular and diabetes medicine, are highlighted. The closing section focuses specifically on implementation of risk assessment within the dental practice, including training of the oral healthcare team and the need to take into account medicolegal considerations. The book is a very timely addition to the literature, given the move towards wellness- rather than repair-based models of healthcare in Europe and North America and the focus of dental contracts on risk-driven care pathways. It will be of high value for not only practitioners but also professionals in healthcare funding bodies.
Ethics and Health Care by
Who should have access to assisted reproductive technologies? Which one of many seriously ill patients should be offered the next available transplant organ? When may a surrogate decision maker decide to withdraw life-prolonging measures from an unconscious patient? Questions like these feature prominently in the field of health care ethics and in the education of health care professionals. This book provides a concise introduction to the major concepts, principles and issues in health care ethics, using case studies throughout to illustrate and analyse challenging ethical issues in contemporary health care. Topics range widely, from confidentiality and truthfulness to end-of-life care and research on human subjects. Ethics and Health Care will be a vital resource for students of applied ethics, bioethics, professional ethics, health law and medical sociology, as well as students of medicine, nursing and other health care professions.
Useful Databases
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,709,749 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
