To make a plan or sketch of; esp. to draw a preliminary plan of (something to be constructed); to design.
"draught, v." OED Online, Oxford University Press, June 2021, www.oed.com/view/Entry/57521. Accessed 19 August 2021.
The Piping Guide by
From development of the initial requirements to final drawings used in construction, this authoritative reference for the design and drafting of industrial piping systems provides a step-by-step guide to piping design. Created as an in-depth resource for professionals, this piping bible is as valuable in the field as it is in the office or the classroom. Among the topics covered in this encyclopedic survey are techniques of piping design, the assembly of piping from components, processes for connecting piping to equipment, office organization, methods to translate concepts into finished designs, and terms and abbreviations concerned. An expansive selection of charts and tables presents a wide array of information--frequently used data; factors for establishing pipeways width; spacing between pipes with and without flanges and for "jumpovers" and "runarounds;" principal dimensions and weights for key components; conversion for customary and metric units; direct-reading metric conversion tables for dimensions and data; and a metric supplement with principal dimensional data in millimeters--handily organized for quick reference.
Basic Drafting by
This book meets the requirements for a High School or College beginning drafting class. Written in an easy-to-follow approach, it can be used for individual study or class-room setting to prepare the student for advanced board drafting or CAD drafting. The book stays 'on the subject' to teach the basic principles and techniques of mechanical drawing. It introduces the instruments and explains their use before proceeding through the topics, one by one, of lettering, orthographic projection, measuring and scaling, dimensioning, sectioning, pictorial drawings, and sketching. There are ample practice exercises included in the book.
Structural, Civil and Pipe Drafting for CAD Technicians by
For nearly twenty years, David Goetsch has provided a one-of-a-kind information resource with his book, Structural Drafting. Now, for a broader audience, he has developed a new and complete introduction to structural drafting with related coverage of civil and piping drafting that has complementary software. Structural, Civil and Pipe Drafting for CAD Technicians is organized into seven sections. The first section of the book supplies readers with an overview of structural drafting, from the organizational structure of the typical department through product fabrication and shipping. Later sections invite readers to hone in on the specifics of structural steel, pre-cast concrete, poured-in-place concrete, and structural wood drafting. Section six includes chapters on pre-fab metal buildings, civil engineering drafting, and process piping to ensure that readers gain all of the expertise they need to become highly competent, professional drafters.
Hand Drafting for Interior Design by
In Hand Drafting for Interior Design, Diana Bennett Wirtz uses her professional and academic experience to show readers how to create beautifully detailed interior design drawings to share with clients. She provides detailed examples of how to render furniture, floors, walls, windows, and even plants, in floor plans and elevations, using only drafting pencils, a T-square, and a triangle. The text covers the complete drafting process, from choosing the right tools through to a complete drawing that represents the designer's ideas and concepts.
Architecture Inside-Out by
Fifty of the world's most important buildings seen through specially commissioned isometric illustrations and detailed photographs and plans, providing the perfect introduction to architecture for students and anyone interested in buildings. Taking readers behind architecture's facades and finishes, this charmingly illustrated book explores how some of the most important buildings in the world were constructed. Specially commissioned isometric drawings present the essential structural elements of the world's masterpiece buildings that are not visible to the naked eye. These illustrations are displayed alongside plans, details, and photographs, all of which are clear and accessible, yet accurate and elegant enough to satisfy the most discerning eye. This fascinating book explores the thinking and expertise behind architects' designs and offers a means by which to better understand buildings already visited as well as those on the must-see list. Selections range from domestic structures such as Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and skyscrapers such as the Chrysler Building, to iconic classics such as the Louvre and Barcelona's famed Sagrada Familia Cathedral. The buildings have been chosen for their importance and interest, their role in the development of architectural thinking, and the structural secrets that intricate 3-D drawings can reveal.
Drawing for Landscape Architecture by
This new paperbackcombines traditionaldrawing techniques withthose from CAD renderingsto guide practitionersfrom their first impressionof a site throughconcept, construction,and site drawings. Across design disciplines, drawing by hand has largely become a lost art. With digital tools at their disposal, the majority of designers create while sitting at their computer screens. Attitudes are changing, however. Eager to push the boundaries of their creative processes and spurred by a sense of being disconnected from their briefs, today's designers seek a greater and more immediate connection with their projects. There is no better way to stimulate the imagination than by learning to draw what one sees, and in the fluid, living world of landscape architecture, it is particularly important. This essential publication reintroduces the importance of learning to "see by hand," to visualize large-scale design schemes and explain them through drawing, before using the digital tools that are time- and cost-efficient building solutions. Combining traditional drawing techniques with those from CAD rendering, Drawing for Landscape Architecture guides practitioners from their very first impression. This expanded edition includes a new chapter on the relationship between landscape design and architecture, along with a selection of updated images.
Informed architecture : computational strategies in architectural design by
This book connects the different topics and professions involved in information technology approaches to architectural design, ranging from computer-aided design, building information modeling and programming to simulation, digital representation, augmented and virtual reality, digital fabrication and physical computation. The contributions include experts? academic and practical experiences and findings in research and advanced applications, covering the fields of architecture, engineering, design and mathematics. What are the conditions, constraints and opportunities of this digital revolution for architecture? How do processes change and influence the result? What does it mean for the collaboration and roles of the partners involved. And last but not least: how does academia reflect and shape this development and what does the future hold? Following the sequence of architectural production - from design to fabrication and construction up to the operation of buildings - the book discusses the impact of computational methods and technologies and its consequences for the education of future architects and designers. It offers detailed insights into the processes involved and considers them in the context of our technical, historical, social and cultural environment. Intended mainly for academic researchers, the book is also of interest to master?s level students.
Revit 2020 for Architecture by
The updated 2020 edition of the popular step-by-step tutorial for Revit Architecture Shortly after its first publication, Autodesk Revit for Architecture: No Experience Required quickly became the market-leading, real-world guide for learning and building with Revit--the powerful and sophisticated Building Information Modeling (BIM) software used by professionals the world over. Fully updated for Revit 2020, this popular, user-friendly book helps you learn the Revit interface, understand the fundamental concepts and features of the software, and design, document, and present a 3D BIM project. A continuous, step-by-step tutorial guides you through every phase of the project: from placing walls, doors, windows, structural elements, dimensions, and text, to generating documentation, advanced detailing, site grading, construction scheduling, material takeoffs, and much more. Updated and revised to include new content, this invaluable guide covers all the fundamental skills every Revit user needs. Whether used as a complete, start-to-finish lesson or as a quick-reference for unfamiliar tasks, this book will help you: Learn each phase of designing, documenting, and presenting a four-story office building using a simple yet engaging continuous tutorial Follow the tutorial sequentially or jump to any chapter by downloading the project files from the Sybex website Use the start-to-finish tutorial project as a reference for your own real-world projects and to develop a powerful Revit skillset Gain thorough knowledge of Revit's essential concepts and features to make the move from 2D drafting to 3D building information modeling Get up to speed with advanced features, including new coverage of advanced walls, families, sites, topography, and more Autodesk Revit 2020 for Architecture No Experience Required is the go-to guide for both professionals and students seeking to learn Revit's essential functions quickly and effectively, to understand real workplace projects, processes, and workflows, and to set the stage for continuing on to more advanced skills.
Mastering Autodesk Revit 2020 by
The best-selling Revit guide, now more complete than ever with all-new coverage on the 2020 release Mastering Autodesk Revit 2020 is packed with focused discussions, detailed exercises, and real-world examples to help you get up to speed quickly on the latest version of Autodesk Revit. Organized according to how you learn and implement the software, this book provides expert guidance for all skill levels. Hands-on tutorials allow you to dive right in and start accomplishing vital tasks, while compelling examples illustrate how Revit for Architecture is used in every project. Available online downloads include before-and-after tutorial files and additional advanced content to help you quickly master this powerful software. From basic interface topics to advanced visualization techniques and documentation, this invaluable guide is your ideal companion through the Revit workflow. Whether you're preparing for Autodesk certification exams or just want to become more productive with the architectural design software, practical exercises and expert instruction will get you where you need to be. Understand key BIM and Revit concepts and master the Revit interface Delve into templates, work-sharing, and managing Revit projects Master modeling and massing, the Family Editor, and visualization techniques Explore documentation, including annotation, detailing, and complex structures BIM software has become a mandatory asset in today's architecture field; automated documentation updates reduce errors while saving time and money, and Autodesk's Revit is the industry leader in the BIM software space.
Architectural draughtsmanship : from analog to digital narratives by
This is the proceedings of the XVI International Congress of Graphic Design in Architecture, EGA 2016, held in Alcalá de Henares, Spain, in June 2016. About 200 professionals and researchers from 18 different countries attended the Congress. This book will be of interest to researchers in the field of architecture and Engineering. Topics discussed are Innovations in Architecture, graphic design and architecture, history and heritage among others.
Architecture : changing spatial transitions between context, construction and human activities by
The question of what architecture is answered in this book with one sentence: Architecture is space created for human activities. The basic need to find food and water places these activities within a larger spatial field. Humans have learned and found ways to adjust to the various contextual difficulties that they faced as they roamed the earth. Thus rather than adapting, humans have always tried to change the context to their activities. Humanity has looked at the context not merely as a limitation, but rather as a spatial situation filled with opportunities that allows, through intellectual interaction, to change these limitations. Thus humanity has created within the world their own contextual bubble that firmly stands against the larger context it is set in. The key notion of the book is that architecture is space carved out of and against the context and that this process is deterministic.
Surveying for civil and mine engineers : acquire the skills in weeks by
This updated and expanded edition of the book includes four additional chapters on earthwork on sloping sites; transitional curves and super elevation; calculations of super elevations on composite curves; and underground mine surveying. Richly illustrated with diagrams, equations and tables as well as examples of every day survey tasks. It also covers new topics, such as the global navigation satellite systems (Real Time Kinematic-RTK), which are increasingly used in a wide range of everyday engineering applications.
Engineering surveys for industry by
This book is the translated English version of a text on industrial surveys, originally published in Slovak by SPEKTRUM STU Publishing.This updated version is not only a translation of the original, but also a reviewed, extended version, which reflects up-to-date international standards and regulations. The book covers topics in engineering surveying not available in other publications in this complex form, and addresses the design methodology, data processing and implementation of geodetic measurements under specific conditions to make industrial work environments safer and more efficient. The book begins by introducing readers to these conditions, and then discusses design of maps, geodetic networks and information systems of industrial plants, the usage of cartesian and polar coordinate measuring systems, terrestrial laser scanning technology, as well as measurement of cranes, rotary kilns and special objects of nuclear power plants. The book will be of use to teachers, students, practitioners (e.g. surveyors), quality production managers, equipment designers and mechanical engineers.
Technical drawing for product design : mastering ISO GPS and ASME GD&T by
This book is intended for students, academics, designers, process engineers and CMM operators, and presents the ISO GPS and the ASME GD & T rules and concepts. The Geometric Product Specification (GPS) and Geometrical Dimensioning and Tolerancing (GD & T) languages are in fact the most powerful tools available to link the perfect geometrical world of models and drawings to the imperfect world of manufactured parts and assemblies. The topics include a complete description of all the ISO GPS terminology, datum systems, MMR and LMR requirements, inspection, and gauging principles. Moreover, the differences between ISO GPS and the American ASME Y14.5 standards are shown as a guide and reference to help in the interpretation of drawings of the most common dimensioning and tolerancing specifications. The book may be used for engineering courses and for professional grade programmes, and it has been designed to cover the fundamental geometric tolerancing applications as well as the more advanced ones. Academics and professionals alike will find it to be an excellent teaching and research tool, as well as an easy-to-use guide.
Advanced AutoCAD® 2022 Exercise Workbook by
Looking to take your AutoCAD skills to the next level, but don't know where to turn? Your search is over. AutoCAD® gurus Cheryl Shrock and Steve Heather have created the perfect learning system, packed with lessons, exercises, projects, and practical inside tips. Refreshed screenshots and step-by-step exercises, frequently asked questions, and updated industry-specific projects highlight this edition covering the new AutoCAD 2022 software. This Exercise Workbook covers important AutoCAD commands and step-by-step procedures, including a thorough review of the latest features available (see the feature box, below), including Floating Drawing Tabs and Shared Views. All of this is reinforced by inch and metric exercises, designed to give you the practice needed to efficiently master key skills and complete more advanced projects. Plus, for the first time ever, an AutoCAD Quick Key Guide is included, providing a handy reminder for one-key shortcuts and multiple keyboard combinations. Whether you are an instructor, a student of engineering, design, architecture, or computer graphics, or a hobbyist looking to hone your craft, you will find the Advanced AutoCAD Exercise Workbook an invaluable asset in your AutoCAD library. New and/or Improved Features in AutoCAD 2022: Installer-The new Installer reduces the number of steps required for the initial install, improving performance. Floating Drawing Tabs-Drag a drawing file tab from the main application window to make it a separate drawing file window and have several drawings open at once. This is particularly useful if you have two or more monitors. Shared Views-Store your designs in the Cloud for other users to view, measure, and exchange feedback. Share Current Drawing-Share a link to your drawing file and others can view or edit that drawing in AutoCAD's online application. Trace-Turn this on so that collaborators can work together on drawing changes without altering the existing drawing. Redesigned Start Tab-Take advantage of easier access to recent work and saved drawing files from connected drives, as well as learning resources and announcements from Autodesk.
AutoCAD 2022 3D Modeling by
This book provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects, rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application. Use the companion CD to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures including color. AutoCAD 2022 3D Modelingincludes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2022. FEATURES: Provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models in both metric and imperial units Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color The companion files are also available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at info@merclearning.com.
The following titles are located in our O'Reilly Learning Database. Please see this FAQ to learn more about accessing O'Reilly titles.
Below are just a few Drafting and Design journals and magazines. To find more titles on Drafting and Design use our Gateway Search's Publication Finder.
For more articles on drafting, design, CAD and more try searching the following databases.
