To form, make, or operate on by means of a machine; to print, engrave, cut, shape, or sew by means of a machine.
"machine, v." OED Online, Oxford University Press, June 2021, www.oed.com/view/Entry/111851. Accessed 20 August 2021.
Introduction to Advanced Machining and Finishing Processes by
Focuses on applications of non-conventional machining processes for advanced machining as well as advanced surface finishing. The study of non-conventional machining processes mainly includes working principles, material removal mechanisms, system details, process parameters and their influence on performance, process capabilities, advantages, limitations, and applications etc. Applications of non-conventional machining processes to achieve micro and nano level finishing on various product surfaces highlights working principles, material removal mechanisms, system details, process parameters and their influence on performance advantages, limitations, and applications of these process in various fields. This book will be invaluable to engineering postgraduate and undergraduate students, practising engineers, and researchers in manufacturing or production discipline.
CNC Control Setup for Milling and Turning by
No other book covers CNC control setup in such practical detail. This unique reference from the author of the best-selling CNC Programming Handbook features nearly all of the activities a typical CNC operator performs on a daily basis. Starting with overall descriptions and in-depth explanations of various features, it goes much further and is sure to be a valuable resource for anyone involved in CNC. Describes working with all types of offsets for milling and turning applications, interpretation of part programs, applying trial cuts, making program changes, and much more. Places emphasis on troubleshooting many common problems that occur in CNC operations. Presents suggested methods of correction, along with methods of prevention.
The CNC Cookbook by
CNC stands for Computer Numerical Control, and is a collection of technologies that enable precise computerized control of a variety of machines. If you are a hobbyist or DIY enthusiast interested in building and operating a computer controlled device like a router table or foam cutting machine, or converting and running a benchtop CNC mill or lathe, then The CNC Cookbook will provide the help you need to get started. Concepts of design, construction, and successful operation are covered in a practical, straightforward way. Topics include: -Types of CNC hardware (motors, drive systems, linear slides, etc) -Electronics (motor drives, power supplies, and more) -Software (CAD, CAM, and controller programs) -Conversion of existing machines and design of new CNC machines -The basics of G-code and how to operate a CNC machine successfully
CNC Programming Handbook by
Over its first two editions, this best-selling book has become the de facto standard for training and reference material at all levels of CNC programming. Used in hundreds of educational institutions around the world as the primary text for CNC courses, and used daily by many in-field CNC programmers and machine operators, this book literally defines CNC programming. Written with careful attention to detail, there are no compromises. Many of the changes in this new Third Edition are the direct result of comments and suggestions received from many CNC professionals in the field. This extraordinarily comprehensive work continues to be packed with over one thousand illustrations, tables, formulas, tips, shortcuts, and practical examples. The enclosed CD-ROM now contains a fully functional 15-day shareware version of CNC tool path editor/simulator, NCPlot(tm). This powerful, easy-to-learn software includes an amazing array of features, many not found in competitive products. NCPlot offers an unmatched combination of simplicity of use and richness of features. Support for many advanced control options is standard, including a macro interpreter that simulates Fanuc and similar macro programs. The CD-ROM also offers many training exercises based on individual chapters, along with solutions and detailed explanations. Special programming and machining examples are provided as well, in form of complete machine files, useful as actual programming resources. Virtually all files use Adobe PDF format and are set to high resolution printing. FEATURES Fully functional shareware version of CNC toolpath simulator/editor, NCPlot(TM), included on the CD-ROM. This powerful software includes an amazing array of features, including those not found in competitive products. Support for many advanced features is standard, and the included macro interpreter can simulate Fanuc and compatible macro toolpath programs Detailed section on CNC lathes with live tooling, including examples Image files of many actual parts, used as examples More programming examples (both in printed text and on the CD-ROM) Optimized for the latest Fanuc and related control systems Additional formulas, calculations and handy reference material Fourth axis programming (indexing and rotary) CD-ROM based projects, including several as interactive PDF forms Improved index for better search of topics
CNC Programming Techniques by
This is the CD-ROM only version of this popular title. Contains the complete contents of the book, fully searchable, with interactive table of contents and index, in Adobe's popular portable document format (PDF). Written by the author of the bestselling CNC Programming Handbook and the recent release Fanuc CNC Custom Macros, this practical and very useful resource covers several programming subjects, including how to program cams and tapered end mills, that are virtually impossible to find anywhere. Other, more common, subjects, such as cutter radius offset and thread milling are covered in great depth. Presents detailed part programming suggestions for a variety of machining operations. Includes discussions on the following major subjects: thread milling methods, knurling, programming cams, part reversal methods, using pallet changers, applying special grooving and threading techniques, and many more. Provides numerous illustrations, charts, tables, and practical examples, allowing users to fully understand all concepts. Many methods presented can also be adapted to programming methods using a CAM system.
Machine Tool and Manufacturing Technology by
The book is designed to interest students in manufacturing in a logical manner. .*The basic machine tool operations are covered (same as the machine tool courses presently taught in schools)..*A complete section on CNC programming and operation for teaching-size and standard machines presented in east-to-understand language..*Twelve new manufacturing technologies, directly related to the machine trade are covered in a brief overview of each, designed to show students the many exciting career opportunities available in manufacturing..ALSO AVAILABLEWorkbook, ISBN: 0-8273-7587-5INSTRUCTOR SUPPLEMENTS CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO ORDERInstructor's Manual, ISBN: 0-8273-7863-7
For more articles on milling, machining, CNC and more try searching the following databases.
