Diversity, Inclusion and Equity is an important issue that reaches to every part of modern society. This guide walks you through general information about the topic while providing some definitions regarding these three. Subsequent pages of this guide also deals with diversity, inclusion, and equity in various parts of life, from education to work. Separate guides will deal with separate demographics that have DEI issues.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
The Trouble with Diversity by 
110 Ways to Champion Diversity and Build Inclusion by 
Diversity in Organizations by 
Pax Ethnica by
In a world replete with stories of sectarian violence, we are often left wondering: Are there places where people of different ethnicities, especially with significant Muslim minorities, live in peace? If so, why haven't we heard more about them, and what explains their success? To answer these questions, Karl Meyer and Shareen Brysac undertook a two-year exploration of oases of civility, places notable for minimal violence, rising life-expectancy, high literacy, and pragmatic compromises on cultural rights. They explored the Indian state of Kerala, the Russian republic of Tatarstan, the city of Marseille in France, the city of Flensburg, Germany, and the borough of Queens, New York. Through scores of interviews, they document ways and means that have proven successful in defusing ethnic tensions. This pathbreaking book elegantly blends political history, sociology, anthropology, and journalism, to provide big ideas for peace.
Excellence Through Equity by
Excellence Through Equity is an inspiring look at how real-world educators are creating schools where all students are able to thrive. In these schools, educators understand that equity is not about treating all children the same. They are deeply committed to ensuring that each student receives what he or she individually needs to develop their full potential and succeed. To help educators with what can at times be a difficult and challenging journey, Blankstein and Noguera frame the book with five guiding principles of Courageous Leadership: Getting to your core Making organizational meaning Ensuring constancy and consistency of purpose Facing the facts and your fears Building sustainable relationships. They further emphasize that the practices are grounded in three important areas of research that are too often disregarded: (1) child development, (2) neuroscience, and (3) environmental influences on child development and learning. You'll hear from Carol Corbett Burris, Michael Fullan, Marcus J. Newsome, Paul Reville, Susan Szachowicz, and other bold practitioners and visionary thinkers who share compelling and actionable ideas, strategies, and experiences for closing the achievement gap in your classrooms and school. Ensuring that all students receive an education that cultivates their talents and potential is in all our common interest. As Andy Hargreaves writes in the coda: "The opportunity for all Americans is to articulate and believe in an inspiring vision of educational change that is about what the next generation of America and Americans should become, not about a target or ranking that the nation should attain." From the Foreword by Archbishop Desmond Tutu: "Letting go of a system of winners and losers in favor of what is proposed in this book is a courageous leap forward that we all must take together. Let this bold, practical book be a guide; and may you travel into this new exciting vista, in which every child can succeed."
Hate Groups: a Reference Handbook by
Hate Groups: A Reference Handbook covers the topic of hate groups from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background of the topic and a review of current problems, controversies, and solutions. The remainder of the book consists of chapters that aid readers in continuing their research on the topic, such as an extended annotated bibliography, a chronology, a glossary, lists of noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. The variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays about hate groups, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field, differentiates this book from others of its kind. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic.
Diversity in Decline?: The Rise of the Political Right and the Fate of Multiculturalism by 
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Action by
All too often, in a hurried attempt to "catch up," diversity training can create division among staff or place undue burdens on a handful of employees. Instead, academic libraries need approaches to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) that position these priorities as ongoing institutional and professional goals. This book's model programs will help academic libraries do exactly that, sharing a variety of initiatives that possess clear goals, demonstrable outcomes, and reproducible strategies. Librarians, administrators, and directors will all benefit from the programs detailed inside, which include such topics as a university library's community of practice for interactions and learning around DEI; cultural competency training to create more welcoming instruction spaces; student workshops on literature searches that mitigate bias; overcoming the historic tendency to marginalize LGBTQ+ representation in archives; a curriculum and design workshop that moved from discussing social values to embedding them in actions; the founding of a library-led LGBT club for students at a rural community college; a liberal arts college's retention-boosting program for first-generation students; tailoring a collection and library services to the unique needs of student veterans; and a framework for moving from diversity to equity and inclusion, toward a goal of social justice.
Cancel Culture by
What is "cancel culture." A new phrase in popular circulation for less than two years, it has provoked passionate denunciations from observers concerned with civil liberties, especially rights of free speech and expression, and apologetic defenses from opponents who advocate equity and accountability in light of new mores. Still others deny that "cancel culture" exists at all, while many claim never to have heard of it. In Cancel Culture: Tales from the Front Lines, noted historian and critic Paul du Quenoy presents a series of case studies that reveal the new phenomenon known as "cancel culture" as experienced or claimed in media, academia, the arts, public space, and other areas of ideological controversy. More than a bald denunciation or frustrated description of an unfamiliar new concept, this groundbreaking approach seeks to understand "cancel culture" as a process - how it starts and stops, where it comes from and leads, and how and, indeed, whether it might one day end. This penetrating and highly original analysis sheds light on a society grappling feverishly with fundamental issues of freedom and liberty.
Intersectionality: An Intellectual History by
"Intersectionality theory has emerged over the past thirty years as a way to think about the avenues by which inequalities (most often dealing with, but not limited to, race, gender, class and sexuality) are produced. Rather than seeing such categories as signaling distinct identities that can be adopted, imposed or rejected, intersectionality theory considers the logic by which each of these categories is socially constructed as well as how they operate within the diffusion of power relations. In other words, social and political power are conferred through categories of identity, and these identities bear vastly material effects. Rather than look at inequalities as a relationship between those at the center and those on the margins, intersectionality maps the relative ways in which identity politics create power. Though intersectionality theory has emerged as a highly influential school of thought in ethnic studies, gender studies, law, political science, sociology and psychology, no scholarship to date exists on the evolution of the theory. In the absence of a comprehensive intellectual history of the theory, it is often discussed in vague, ahistorical terms. And while scholars have called for greater specificity and attention to the historical foundations of intersectionality theory, their idea of the history to be included is generally limited to the particular currents in the United States. This book seeks to remedy the vagueness and murkiness attributed to intersectionality by attending to the historical, geographical, and cross-disciplinary myopia afflicting current intersectionality scholarship. This comprehensive intellectual history is an agenda-setting work for the theory"-- Provided by publisher.
Revisualising Intersectionality by
Revisualising Intersectionality offers transdisciplinary interrogations of the supposed visual evidentiality of categories of human similarity and difference. This open-access book incorporates insights from social and cognitive science as well as psychology and philosophy to explain how we visually perceive physical differences and how cognition is fallible, processual, and dependent on who is looking in a specific context. Revisualising Intersectionality also puts into conversation visual culture studies and artistic research with approaches such as gender, queer, and trans studies as well as postcolonial and decolonial theory to complicate simplified notions of identity politics and cultural representation. The book proposes a revision of intersectionality research to challenge the predominance of categories of visible difference such as race and gender as analytical lenses.
YouTube video published by TEDx Talks channel on September 18, 2013.
From the YouTube description: "CEO of Human Facets, Helen has a 25+ year successful track record in the field of Global Inclusion. She is an internationally recognized Thought Leader on Unconscious Bias, global inclusion and diversity. As creator of "Cognizant" -- Unconscious Bias assessment tool and the "ISM Profile" for measuring Inclusion Skills gaps, her work has contributed to clients winning the Catalyst Award for Gender improvements. Helen is passionate about Inclusion work and relaxes by watching and playing golf."
YouTube video from the TEDxTalks given by Ms. Melanie Funchess published on October 16, 2014.
YouTube description: "This talk was given at a local TEDx event, produced independently of the TED Conferences. Everyone makes assumptions about people they don’t know. Melanie will teach us to recognize these assumptions and work toward a common understanding.
Ms. Melanie Funchess is currently employed by the Mental Health Association where she serves as the Director of Community Engagement. She is also involved in several community based coalitions and organizations such as the African American Leadership Development Program, African American Health Coalition, Black Women’s Leadership Forum, Greater Rochester Parent Leadership Training Institute, the Mental Health Promotion Task Force, and the Neighborhood Consortium for Youth Justice. She is a founding member of the Coalition for the Beloved Community. The Coalition’s mission is to serve as a “countywide movement to build a culture of peace; grounded in dignity and fed by hope”.
She is a devoted wife and mother of four children (two boys and two girls) three of whom experience mental/ emotional challenges. Her mission is to use her knowledge of systems and communities to create opportunities for youth and families to be empowered and successful and to break down the walls that separate us and build bridges to unite us as one community where every child is our own, we have front porch neighborhoods, and we use language that respects everyone."
YouTube video found on the TEDx Talks channel, published on September 12, 2019.
YouTube description: "Paloma Medina challenges our paradigm of diversity in the work place and in society with this eloquent, humorous talk. We need to do a “find and replace” in our vocabulary challenging the concept of diversity vs. equity."
TEDxYouth@CSJL talk given by Felicitas "Joji" Pantoja found on the TEDx Talks channel, published June 27, 2022.
YouTube description: "Social Entrepreneur Joji Pantoja provides a Filipino perspective on reimagining the world as more socially inclusive. Her point of view highlights understanding ourselves is the first step in creating social change around the world. Felicitas "Joji" Pantoja is a social entrepreneur based in Davao, Philippines. Her startup, Coffee for Peace, is a social enterprise that promotes the culture of Peace through coffee. They help protect the environment, empower local farmers, and promote Peace and Reconciliation in affected areas of the Southern Philippines. She has been awarded the Sustainable Business Award for Best Flagship Initiative and Best Social Enterprise 2019."
TED talk given by Kimberle Crenshaw posted on the TED YouTube channel on Dec. 7, 2020.
YouTube description: 'Now more than ever, it's important to look boldly at the reality of race and gender bias -- and understand how the two can combine to create even more harm. Kimberlé Crenshaw uses the term "intersectionality" to describe this phenomenon; as she says, if you're standing in the path of multiple forms of exclusion, you're likely to get hit by both. In this moving talk, she calls on us to bear witness to this reality and speak up for victims of prejudice."
Talk given by Nafeesa Nizami for TEDxBradford posted on the TEDxTalks channel on April 26, 2019.
YouTube description: "Nafeesa explores Intersectionality as an intervention in radically social times, using the frame of intersectionality as a radical activist intervention to address systemic social issues such as racism, gender inequalities and discrimination in the era of rising global populism. Nafeesa will draw upon theories of feminism, colonialism, philosophy and politics, nuanced with punctuations of humour and entertainment. -- Nafeesa Nizami (Naz) is a Psychotherapist, Trainer and Lecturer. She is currently working in the areas of couples, young peoples, parents/families, groups and bilingual therapy for a national charity. Her clinical background includes having worked in the NHS and within child protection. Nafeesa is also undertaking her PhD at the University of Manchester. Her research focuses on deconstructing Pre-Trial Therapy; exploring the relationship between law, therapy and sexual abuse through discourse analysis. The research considered through its examination to be a theoretical, political and ethical exercise. Nafeesa has a keen interest in the areas of mental health, social justice, politics, policy analysis, linguistics, ethics, philosophy, post-structuralism, colonial studies, childhood studies, and feminist theories. Nafeesa Nizami (Naz) is a Psychotherapist, Trainer and Lecturer. She is currently working in the areas of couples, young peoples, parents/families, groups and bilingual therapy for a national charity. Her clinical background includes having worked in the NHS and within child protection. Nafeesa is also undertaking her PhD at the University of Manchester. Her research focuses on deconstructing Pre-Trial Therapy; exploring the relationship between law, therapy and sexual abuse through discourse analysis. The research considered through its examination to be a theoretical, political and ethical exercise. Nafeesa has a keen interest in the areas of mental health, social justice, politics, policy analysis, linguistics, ethics, philosophy, post-structuralism, colonial studies, childhood studies, and feminist theories. This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at https://www.ted.com/tedx"
Posted on the TEDxTalks channel on Nov. 4, 2013.
From the YouTube video description: "A personal exploration of the intersections of multiracial identity from which to draw lessons on how people of all backgrounds can better understand their connectedness to struggles for social justice."
Talk given by Florencia Escobedo Munoz for TEDxColegioAngloColombiano posted on the TEDx Talks channel on Sept. 19, 2018.
YouTube Description: "About the conception what identities are and how they are constructed. Tenth grade student at Colegio Anglo Colombiano This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at https://www.ted.com/tedx"
