It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fire Science: Research Resources
This guide will help you locate information sources related to Fire Science.
Below is a sample of the resources available through the EGCC Library and Information Commons. These resources are intended to help you begin your research on topics in the Fire Science field. Should you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
Find books in the EGCC and OhioLINK collection by using our Gateway Search.
Try using the following search terms:
Below are are few examples of books within our collection.
Essentials of Fire Fighting and Fire Department Operations by IFSTA
Call Number: 628.9 STOW 6th ed
Publication Date: 2013-01-04
Fire Service Emergency Care by Edward T. Dickinson
Call Number: 616.025 DICK
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Land on Fire by Gary Ferguson
Call Number: 634.9 FERG
Publication Date: 2017-06-21
Practical Fire and Arson Investigation by David R. Redsicker; John J. O'Connor
Call Number: 616.0149 REDS
Publication Date: 1996-10-10
New Fire Science Titles in Our Collection
Fully Involved Leadership by John Buckman III (Foreword by); Gary LudwigOne of the fire service's most well-known and respected leaders reveals principles and events that have shaped his and other chief's careers and leadership values that no "cookie-cutter" leadership or management book can provide. The real-world experiences and lessons that are vividly detailed in the book provide a roadmap for any aspiring firefighter wishing to be promoted, a company or chief officer looking to go to the next level, or a fire chief who wishes to further develop their leadership skills. Fully Involved Leadership, written by Chief Gary Ludwig addresses the tenets of leading firefighters at all ranks and levels, and provides a blueprint for not only motivating firefighters but inspiring them; not showing them how much you know, but how much you care; that leadership is not a position or title - it is an action and examples; reminding you that rank does not equate to leadership, the inverted table of organization, and much more! Fully Involved Leadership is filled with powerful leadership topics and at its core addresses the values of trust; the two key qualities needed to be a fire service leader - character and competence; how to keep your emotions in check by using I before E - intelligence before emotions; how to keep from making a wrong decision; why it is important to show honor to your firefighters, plus a whole lot more! Chief Ludwig offers warm and engaging stories of not only his experiences but other chief officers and how they learned from their mistakes when it comes to leadership. Chief Ludwig provides insights and hard lessons learned that makes you reflect upon the question, "Who would you follow if your life depended upon it?
Call Number: 659.4 L83 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service by Glenn P. Corbett; Francis L. BranniganIn 1971, Francis L. Brannigan created Building Construction for the Fire Service, a groundbreaking resource offering the most comprehensive knowledge of building construction available to fire fighters. With his dedication to fire fighter safety and saving lives, the legacy of Frank Brannigan continues with the sixth edition of Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service.The Sixth Edition meets and exceeds the National Fire Academy's Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) course objectives and outcomes for the Associate's Core-Level course called Building Construction for Fire Protection (C0275). Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service, Sixth Edition is an integral resource for fire officers, instructors, those studying for promotion, individuals taking civil service examinations, fire science students, and both current and prospective fire fighters. It is part of an integrated teaching and learning system that combines dynamic features and content to support instructors and to help prepare students for their career in firefighting. This new edition features:Chapter 7 Non-Fire Building Systems (new) describes several categories of non-fire systems in buildings, including electrical systems, plumbing systems, conveyances, refrigeration systems, and Ventilation (HVAC) systems, in addition to the hazards the systems pose for fire fighters.New or expanded content on:Aluminum-clad polyethylene panelsScaffoldingCranes and their useModular construction using stacked shipping containersLight-weight wood-frame constructionFire escapes and stair designCross-laminated timber and heavy timber constructionMethods of protecting steel against fireNew "green" materials and methods such as hempcrete and biofiltersStructural wall framing systems with insulated studsAir-supported structures for sporting eventsMassive single-structure lightweight wood frame apartment buildingsFirefighting recommendations in lightweight wood frame residential buildingsBuilding construction and its relationship to flow pathHistorical perspective on fire resistance testing and its shortcomingsRoofing material testsSafety issues of post-fire investigation of significantly damaged/collapsed buildingsScenario-Based Learning. Case Studies are found at the beginning and end of each chapter to encourage and foster critical-thinking skills.Tactical Considerations. This feature offers suggestions for firefighting, safety concerns, and related additional material for application on the fireground. Wrap-Up. Chapter Summaries, Key Terms, Challenging Questions, and Suggesting Readings promote comprehension and mastery of course objectives and outcomes.
Call Number: 628.925 C67 2021
Publication Date: 2019-10-21
Fire Officer's Handbook of Tactics by John NormanWith his fifth edition, Chief John Norman offers lessons learned during his extensive and time-honored career. Chief Norman imparts wisdom and experience by offering advice informed by actual outcomes from the fireground. This guide continues to be invaluable for firefighters aspiring to the officer level and those seeking to promote safety and effectiveness in their organization and the communities they serve by improving their own skills. This fifth edition conveys valuable information gained over the past several years from scientific research relating to the tactics that we use to the changes that have taken place within our communities. Failure to recognize change and adapt to it places a fire department at a great disadvantage and can cost lives and property. The community changes that most directly affect the fire service today include faster, hotter, and more toxic fires and significantly reduced staffing in many fire departments. These are inescapable facts. Our challenge is to use the knowledge that is at our disposal to select the right tools, technologies, and tactics to safely and successfully adapt to and overcome these challenges.
Safari Books Online provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. Note that users will be asked to enter their institutional (.edu) email address to access the sit
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Ceased acquiring new titles as of the end of 2004
Below are a few examples of eBooks available in our collection.
Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings by Brian Meacham; Brandon Poole; Juan Echeverria; Raymond ChengEnvironmental concerns and advances in architectural technologies have lead to a greater number of green buildings or buildings with green, eco-friendly elements. However, from a practical standpoint, there is no incident reporting system in the world that tracks data on fire incidents in green buildings. Fire safety objectives are not explicitly considered in most green rating schemes, and green design features have been associated with photovoltaic panels and roof materials, lightweight timber frame buildings, and combustible insulation materials. Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings is the result of an extensive global literature review that sought to identify issues related to green building elements or features and ways to ensure those issues are tracked for future improvement.The book identifies actual incidents of fires in green buildings or involving green building elements, points out issues with green building elements that would increase fire risk, clarifies reports and studies that address ways to reduce fire risk in green design elements, and compares research studies that explicitly incorporate fire safety into green building design. The authors also pinpoint gaps and specific research needs associated with understanding and addressing fire risk and hazards with green building design. Using their data, the authors developed a set of matrices relating these green attributes and potential fire hazards. With these comprehensive tools, potential mitigation strategies for addressing the relative increase in fire risk or hazard associated with the green building elements and features have been identified.Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings is intended for practitioners as a tool for analyzing building safety issues in green architecture and developing methods for tracking data related to green design elements and their potential hazards. Researchers working in a related field will also find the book valuable.
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Firestorm by Edward Struzik"Frightening...Firestorm comes alive when Struzik discusses the work of offbeat scientists." --New York Times Book Review "Comprehensive and compelling." --Booklist "A powerful message." --Kirkus "Should be required reading." --Library Journal For two months in the spring of 2016, the world watched as wildfire ravaged the Canadian town of Fort McMurray. Firefighters named the fire "the Beast." It acted like a mythical animal, alive with destructive energy, and they hoped never to see anything like it again. Yet it's not a stretch to imagine we will all soon live in a world in which fires like the Beast are commonplace. A glance at international headlines shows a remarkable increase in higher temperatures, stronger winds, and drier lands- a trifecta for igniting wildfires like we've rarely seen before. This change is particularly noticeable in the northern forests of the United States and Canada. These forests require fire to maintain healthy ecosystems, but as the human population grows, and as changes in climate, animal and insect species, and disease cause further destabilization, wildfires have turned into a potentially uncontrollable threat to human lives and livelihoods. Our understanding of the role fire plays in healthy forests has come a long way in the past century. Despite this, we are not prepared to deal with an escalation of fire during periods of intense drought and shorter winters, earlier springs, potentially more lightning strikes and hotter summers. There is too much fuel on the ground, too many people and assets to protect, and no plan in place to deal with these challenges. In Firestorm, journalist Edward Struzik visits scorched earth from Alaska to Maine, and introduces the scientists, firefighters, and resource managers making the case for a radically different approach to managing wildfire in the 21st century. Wildfires can no longer be treated as avoidable events because the risk and dangers are becoming too great and costly. Struzik weaves a heart-pumping narrative of science, economics, politics, and human determination and points to the ways that we, and the wilder inhabitants of the forests around our cities and towns, might yet flourish in an age of growing megafires.
Structural Design for Fire Safety by Andrew H. Buchanan; Anthony Kwabena AbuStructural Design for Fire Safety, 2nd edition Andrew H. Buchanan, University of Canterbury, New Zealand Anthony K. Abu, University of Canterbury, New Zealand A practical and informative guide to structural fire engineering This book presents a comprehensive overview of structural fire engineering. An update on the first edition, the book describes new developments in the past ten years, including advanced calculation methods and computer programs. Further additions include: calculation methods for membrane action in floor slabs exposed to fires; a chapter on composite steel-concrete construction; and case studies of structural collapses. The book begins with an introduction to fire safety in buildings, from fire growth and development to the devastating effects of severe fires on large building structures. Methods of calculating fire severity and fire resistance are then described in detail, together with both simple and advanced methods for assessing and designing for structural fire safety in buildings constructed from structural steel, reinforced concrete, or structural timber. Structural Design for Fire Safety, 2nd edition bridges the information gap between fire safety engineers, structural engineers and building officials, and it will be useful for many others including architects, code writers, building designers, and firefighters. Key features: * Updated references to current research, as well as new end-of-chapter questions and worked examples. *Authors experienced in teaching, researching, and applying structural fire engineering in real buildings. * A focus on basic principles rather than specific building code requirements, for an international audience. An essential guide for structural engineers who wish to improve their understanding of buildings exposed to severe fires and an ideal textbook for introductory or advanced courses in structural fire engineering.
Publication Date: 2017-01-30
Temperature Calculation in Fire Safety Engineering by Ulf WickstromThis book provides a consistent scientific background to engineering calculation methods applicable to analyses of materials reaction-to-fire, as well as fire resistance of structures. Several new and unique formulas and diagrams which facilitate calculations are presented. It focuses on problems involving high temperature conditions and, in particular, defines boundary conditions in a suitable way for calculations. A large portion of the book is devoted to boundary conditions and measurements of thermal exposure by radiation and convection. The concepts and theories of adiabatic surface temperature and measurements of temperature with plate thermometers are thoroughly explained. Also presented is a renewed method for modeling compartment fires, with the resulting simple and accurate prediction tools for both pre- and post-flashover fires. The final chapters deal with temperature calculations in steel, concrete and timber structures exposed to standard time-temperature fire curves. Useful temperature calculation tools are included, and several examples demonstrate how the finite element code TASEF can be used to calculate temperature in various configurations. Temperature Calculation in Fire Safety Engineering is intended for researchers, students, teachers, and consultants in fire safety engineering. It is also suitable for others interested in analyzing and understanding fire, fire dynamics, and temperature development. Review questions and exercises are provided for instructor use.
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields
MEDLINE (PubMed)PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE.
provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Links to full-text of selected articles are available using this URL to access PubMed.