Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with MLA 9th Edition
Learn the basics of MLA Style with the following tutorials and videos. Many of the following resources are produced by the Modern Language Association. These resources in addition to some others that we found particularly useful can help you develop a better understanding of the MLA writing style, citation requirements and paper formatting.
This guide has a number of subpages that will explain the various elements to the MLA Style. Feel free to read through the entire MLA Guide or use the following links to jump to a section.
MLA 9 Templates & Sample Paper
MLA 9th ed. Google Docs Template
MAKE SURE YOU ARE LOGGED INTO GOOGLE DOCS (OR GMAIL) before accessing this link. Select the link, select "Use Template," and then adapt it for your paper. Margins, font, spacing, headers, page numbers, title page, and works cited page are preset to meet MLA 9 specifications.
MLA 9th ed. Word Template
Save this template to your desktop or flash drive and then adapt it for your paper. Margins, font, spacing, header with page numbers, title page, and works cited page are preset to meet MLA 9th edition.
MLA Workshop Resources
Below you will find the Video Recording and Slides from our MLA Workshop.
MLA Workshop Video
This YouTube video is a recording of our MLA Workshop which covers in-text and Works Cited citations.
MLA Workshop Slides
This is a PDF file of the slides from the MLA Workshop presentation. These slides include sample citations and helpful links.
Upcoming Library Workshops
Citation Help Appointments
Boost Your Writing Skills
Are you looking for more writing help and practice?
Sign-up (free through the library) for a Gale Presents: Peterson's Test & Career Prep account to access a number of great tutorials that can help you improve your writing skills. Your free account will allow you to track your progress and save where you left off.
- Instructions for creating a personal account
- English & Writing Tutorials
MLA Style Books & Guides In Our Print Collection
MLA Handbook by
Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Call Number: 808.027 M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
Call Number: 808.027 MLAH
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing by
Updated for the needs of today's students--and with handy citation style guides adapted from The Chicago Manual of Style , Seventeenth Edition, the MLA Handbook , Eighth Edition, and the Publication Manual of the APA , Seventh Edition--the third edition of The Nuts and Bolt of College Writing offers essential guidance for college writers at all levels. Praise for previous editions: "This wonderful little book has helped improve the level of writing in all the courses I teach. No one should graduate from college without having used it." --Gonzalo Munevar, Lawrence Technological University "With concision and wit, Harvey shows college students how to write papers that are clear, cogent, and also stylish." --James Miller, editor, Dædalus "Simply the best guide to clear and effective writing since Strunk and White. Indispensable for students--and for their teachers." --Terry Nardin, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee
Call Number: 808.042 H34 2020
Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Online Citation Generators
There are a number of quality citation generators available on the internet today. Below is one that we've found helpful.