For fields where research rapidly changes, such as the sciences, we recommend limiting your search results to those published within the last 3-5 years.
Next, you need to focus your research and locate current information on your topic. One of the best ways to do this is to search for information in journals and other publications relevant to your topic.
For a walk-through on how to find scholarly articles, complete EGCC Library's Finding Scholarly Articles Tutorial.
Tip: Use the database’s built-in filters to limit your search results, these can often be found on either side of the search results.
Once you have chosen your topic and your research questions your next step will be to develop a search strategy by identifying key terms and composing search statements. While this process is similar to searching on Google, it is not the same. Internet search engines generally allow users to type an entire question into the search box, however, this rarely works within academic databases.
Step 1: Write down the research question(s) you have developed.
Step 2: Identify the key concepts within your question(s). A good rule of thumb is to have between 2-4 key concepts. These concepts will become the basis for your search terms.
Step 3: Identify synonyms for each of your concepts. Synonyms may be used as alternate search terms. In addition to synonyms, identify spelling variations (e.g. U.K. vs U.S. spelling) and related words or acronyms (and what they stand for) that may be used in conjunction with your topic.
Step 4: Choose a specific subject database or use our Gateway Search to search multiple databases. Begin with simple broad searches at first (e.g. one concept at a time) and then build up to more complex search statements. Build your search statement by connecting your terms using Boolean operators. Anticipate some trial and error as you proceed, this is normal.
Step 5: Pay attention to which terms are producing the best results. Keep an eye out for recurring terms that may be a good addition to your collection of search terms. Refine your search based on your observations and go from there.
A database’s basic search box typically only allows users to search by single keywords or at the most, short phrases of 2-3 words. However, using advance search boxes allow the user to build and use search statements.
Search statements are longer and more complex search queries created by connecting search terms with Boolean operators. Boolean operators are the words and, or, & not. When used, these operators instruct the database on how and whether or not to include particular terms within the search. Using the Boolean operators in the advanced search can allow you to build very specific and effective search statements.
Below is an explanation on how each of these terms will affect your search.
| AND | OR | NOT |
|---|---|---|
| Each result contains all search terms. Using AND allows you to narrow down your search to give you more specific results that contain all the terms. | Each result contains at least one search term. Using OR allows you to broaden your search for more results. You can use this term with synonyms as well. | Results do not contain the specified terms. Using NOT allows you to narrow your search for fewer results. |
| The search Obesity and Diabetes finds items that contain both the terms Obesity and Diabetes. | The search Teenagers or Adolescents finds items that contain either the term Teenagers or Adolescents. | The search Obesity not Diabetes finds items that contain the term Obesity but do not contain Diabetes. |
It is important to organize the information you find. This will be a huge timesaver later on when you need to cite your information. You can save articles as PDFs to your computer or email them to yourself for later.
Below you will find links that will help you organize your research and create folders in our databases.