Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,709,749 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Computer & Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
This guide is designed with the students in the Information Technology-ATS-A program in mind. This page serves as a general landing area for students in all levels of the program whereas subsequent tabs will provide books in various classes in the program, divided into three disciplines.
Computer Programming for Absolute Beginners by
Get to grips with the building blocks of programming languages and get started on your programming journey without a computer science degree Key Features Understand the fundamentals of a computer program and apply the concepts you learn to different programming languages Gain the confidence to write your first computer program Explore tips, techniques, and best practices to start coding like a professional programmer Book Description Learning how to code has many advantages, and gaining the right programming skills can have a massive impact on what you can do with your current skill set and the way you advance in your career. This book will be your guide to learning computer programming easily, helping you overcome the difficulties in understanding the major constructs in any mainstream programming language. Computer Programming for Absolute Beginners starts by taking you through the building blocks of any programming language with thorough explanations and relevant examples in pseudocode. You'll understand the relationship between computer programs and programming languages and how code is executed on the computer. The book then focuses on the different types of applications that you can create with your programming knowledge. You'll delve into programming constructs, learning all about statements, operators, variables, and data types. As you advance, you'll see how to control the flow of your programs using control structures and reuse your code using functions. Finally, you'll explore best practices that will help you write code like a pro. By the end of this book, you'll be prepared to learn any programming language and take control of your career by adding coding to your skill set. What you will learn Get to grips with basic programming language concepts such as variables, loops, selection and functions Understand what a program is and how the computer executes it Explore different programming languages and learn about the relationship between source code and executable code Solve problems using various paradigms such as procedural programming, object oriented programming, and functional programming Write high-quality code using several coding conventions and best practices Become well-versed with how to track and fix bugs in your programs Who this book is for This book is for beginners who have never programmed before and are looking to enter the world of programming. This includes anyone who is about to start studying programming and wants a head start, or simply wants to learn how to program on their own.
Understanding Software: Max Kanat-Alexander on Simplicity, Coding, and How to Suck Less as a Programmer by
In Understanding Software, Max Kanat-Alexander, Technical Lead for Code Health at Google, shows you how to bring simplicity back to computer programming. Max explains to you why programmers suck, and how to suck less as a programmer. There's just too much complex stuff in the world. Complex stuff can't be used, and it breaks too easily. Complexity is stupid. Simplicity is smart.
Reflections on Programming Systems: Historical and Philosophical Aspects by
This book presents a systematic philosophical and historical analysis of operating systems (0S). The discussion starts with the evolution of OSs since before their birth. It continues with a comprehensive philosophical analysis grounded in technical aspects. Coverage looks at software and (where appropriate) hardware as well as their historical developments. The authors not only offer historical and philosophical reflections on operating systems. They also explore the programs they coordinate and trace the epsitemic and ontological consequences of their designs. Each chapter investigates one or more overlapping fragments of this fascinating history. These include: the birth of the UNIX system and the development of early systems and prototypes; a conceptual analysis of the plurality of systems; an investigation into business, ethical, and aesthetics aspects related to operating systems; and logical principles of formal languages. This book will interest researchers from a diversity of backgrounds. It will appeal to historians, philosophers, as well as logicians and computer scientists who want to engage with topics relevant to the history and philosophy of programming and more specifically that of operating systems.
Programming the Internet of Things by
Learn how to program the Internet of Things with this hands-on guide. By breaking down IoT programming complexities in step-by-step, building-block fashion, author and educator Andy King shows you how to design and build your own full stack, end-to-end IoT solution-from device to cloud. This practical book walks you through tooling, development environment setup, solution design, and implementation. You'll learn how a typical IoT ecosystem works, as well as how to tackle integration challenges that crop up when implementing your own IoT solution. Whether you're an engineering student learning the basics of the IoT, a tech-savvy executive with a company embarking on an IoT journey, or a programmer building your own smart house solution, this practical book will help you get started. Design an end-to-end solution that implements an IoT use case Set up an IoT-centric development and testing environment Organize your software design by creating abstractions in Python and Java Use MQTT, CoAP, and other protocols to connect IoT devices and services Create a custom JSON-based data format that's consumable across a range of platforms and services Use cloud services to support your IoT ecosystem and provide business value for stakeholders.
Algorithmic Thinking: A Problem-Based Introduction by
"An introduction to solving problems with algorithms and data structures, using competitive programming examples. Topics covered include recursion, dynamic programming, graphs, greedy algorithms, heaps, hash tables, segment trees, and other data structures for efficiently handling data"-Provided by publisher"
Programming Basics: Getting Started with Java, C#, and Python by
Programming Basics offers the fundamentals of what it's like to function in today's world from the perspective of a programmer. The approach is highly practical with numerous small code listings for C#, Java, and Python included. The reigning programming paradigm of object-oriented programming (OOP) is a part of all of these languages and its basics are explained in this book as well. Knowing the basics of coding is beneficial for those working close to, but not quite as one of the programmers in a team of software developers. Many people working in the audiovisual fields in the gaming/media industry would benefit from learning more of the programmers' points of view. The same applies to software testers and even company executives, who might have an education in business instead of computer science. What You'll Learn " Gain a basic understanding of three popular programming languages, namely C#, Java, and Python " Think and read code-listings like a programmer " The basics of Unified Modeling Language (UML) class diagrams " Communicate more efficiently with programmers of all experience levels in a work-based environment " The core concepts related to the object-oriented programming (OOP) " How to set up your programming environments for Windows, MacOS, and Linux Who This Book Is For Those looking to discover programming, including beginners in all fields, and professionals looking to understand how basic coding processes work.
Introduction to Computational Thinking: Problem Solving, Algorithms, Data Structures, and More by
Learn approaches of computational thinking and the art of designing algorithms. Most of the algorithms you will see in this book are used in almost all software that runs on your computer. Learning how to program can be very rewarding. It is a special feeling to seeing a computer translate your thoughts into actions and see it solve your problems for you. To get to that point, however, you must learn to think about computations in a new way--you must learn computational thinking. This book begins by discussing models of the world and how to formalize problems. This leads onto a definition of computational thinking and putting computational thinking in a broader context. The practical coding in the book is carried out in Python; you'll get an introduction to Python programming, including how to set up your development environment. You will: Think in a computational way Acquire general techniques for problem solving See general and concrete algorithmic techniques Program solutions that are both computationally efficient and maintainable.
Php in Easy Steps by
PHP in easy steps, 4th edition demonstrates every aspect of the language you'll need to produce professional web programming results. Its examples provide clear syntax-highlighted code, which is freely downloadable, showing PHP language basics including variables, arrays, logic, looping, functions and classes. Install a free web server and the PHP interpreter to create an environment in which you can produce your own data-driven web pages. Write PHP server-side scripts; master PHP operators and control structures; process HTML form data; get cookies and session data; access Web Services APIs over HTTP... and much more! PHP in easy steps, 4th edition is ideal for PHP newbies who want to quickly learn the fundamentals of server-side programming with PHP and create interactive web pages. Also, useful for PHP pros who want to grasp the new PHP 8 features and achieve optimum performance! Updated for PHP 8.
HTML, CSS and JavaScript in Easy Steps by
HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps instructs the reader on each of the three coding languages that are used to create modern web pages: HyperText Markup Language (HTML) tags are used to control the structure of web page content; Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) rules are used to determine how web page content appears; and JavaScript functions are used to provide web page interactivity. HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps contains examples and screenshots that illustrate each feature of all three coding languages. You'll learn how to create web pages to display text, images, lists, tables, hyperlinks, forms, audio, and video. Each chapter builds your knowledge so by the end of the book you'll have gained a sound understanding of HTML markup, CSS rules, and JavaScript functions. HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps has an easy-to-follow style that will appeal to anyone who wants to create great functional web pages. It will appeal to programmers who want to quickly add web page coding to their skills set, and to the student who is studying website design at school or college, and to those seeking a career in web development.
For these, and other CISCO and technology related titles please visit our O'Reilly Learning database.
