People's religious beliefs are very important to them and there are times when others who do not share the same faith have some biases against or stereotypes about them. There are also pressing issues happening within the religious body itself. This guide helps illustrate some of the qualities of the faiths and examine some of the "intramural" and externally felt issues within them. Some of the groupings may be a touch general, but conciseness was needed. Some of those issues can be explored in the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database. List of issues below and under that, will be a link to the database.
|
|
|
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
A TEDxGustavusAdolphusCollege talk given by Kathy Lund Dean published on the TEDx Talks channel on May 17, 2016
From the YouTube description: "Ever been affected by religious discrimination in the work-place? This presentation described research examining how American workers have responded to religious diversity in all types of organizations. Data from U.S. religious discrimination lawsuits over 15 years tells a story of persistent and intense reactions toward those who display certain religious practices and what we, as everyday citizens, can do about it."
Stand up against religious discrimination -- even if it's not your religion talk given by Eboo Patel published on the Big Think YouTube Channel on May 23, 2019.
From the YouTube discrimination: "Religious diversity is the norm in American life, and that diversity is only increasing, says Eboo Patel.
'Using the most painful moment of his life as a lesson, Eboo Patel explains why it's crucial to be positive and proactive about engaging religious identity towards interfaith cooperation.
"The opinions expressed in this video do not necessarily reflect the views of the Charles Koch Foundation, which encourages the expression of diverse viewpoints within a culture of civil discourse and mutual respect."
"Religion After Religion: Millennials in a Post-Religious Age" TEDxCSC talk given by Paul Robertson posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube channel on February 28, 2016
TEDxYouth@Msasani given by Ejaz Bhalloo posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube channel on August 9, 2017.
TEDxVictoria talk given by Genevieve Von Petzinger posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube channel on December 19, 2012.
TEDxCLE talk given by Tony Jack posted on the TEDxTalks YouTube channel on July 10, 2015
Religion in Politics and Society by 
Separation of Church and State by 
God vs. the Gavel by 
Beyondism by 
The Routledge Handbook of Religious Literacy, Pluralism, and Global Engagement by
This pioneering handbook proposes an approach to pluralism that is relational, principled, and non-relativistic, going beyond banal calls for mere'tolerance.'The growing religious diversity within societies around the world presents both challenges and opportunities. A degree of competition between deeply held religious/worldview perspectives is natural and inevitable, yet at the same time the world urgently needs engagement and partnership across lines of difference. None of the world's most pressing problems can be solved by any single actor, and as such it is not a question of if but when you partner with an individual or institution that does not think, act, or believe as you do. The authors argue that religious literacy—defined as a dynamic combination of competencies and skills, continuously refined through real-world cross-cultural engagement—is vital to building societies and states of neighborly solidarity and civic fairness. Through examination, reflection, and case studies across multiple faith traditions and professional fields, this handbook equips scholars and students, as well as policymakers and practitioners, to assess, analyze, and act collaboratively in a world of deep diversity. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
