It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is meant to help the student in the Teacher Education program. This page serves as a landing page for the program while most additional tabs serves as resources for some topics within your program.
This list is by no means exhaustive. It gives the researcher/student some basic ideas to get their research started.
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Full-length educational films and documentaries on many subjects.
contains full-length educational films and documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities and Sciences. Formerly known as The Digital Video Collection.
Educational Resources Information Center. EBSCOhost Interface. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Complete.
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Graphical search interface for students in grades K-5.
Explora for Primary Schools is a colorful, mobile-friendly search for students in grades K-5. Explora provides an easy to use interface to find magazine articles, pictures, and encyclopedias. Searching is organized by topic, and topic overviews are available for many subjects.
This resource was previously known as Kids Search.
Graphical search interface for students in grades 6-12.
Explora for Secondary Schools is a search interface designed for students in grades 6-12. It provides students with research tools to obtain appropriate types of content (magazines, newspapers, biographies, etc.) on a variety of topics.
This resource was previously known as Student Research Center.
An age-appropriate database for elementary students that includes books, magazines, news, videos, and images on a variety of topics.
Kids Infobits is a kid-friendly database for elementary students that includes books, magazines, news, videos, and images on topics like: animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, and technology.
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
Primary Search provides full text from 57 children's magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children''s reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Animals and full text for over 100 pamphlets.
Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for articles from magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, biographies, book reviews, public opinion polls, EBSCO's Current Issues database, and government information.
The premier online reference source with thousands of articles, state-of-the-art multimedia, editor-reviewed websites, Behind the Headlines and Compare Places features, a How to Do Research guide, periodical content, and more.
Physical Education and Arts and Crafts are also an important part of the teacher's planning. These two databases may prove useful too.