EGCC Libguides: Technology Assistance/Digital Literacy: Home

Acquiring appropriate devices

EveryoneOn
This website allows you enter your zip code to find programs for connectivity and computer acquisition.
PCs for People
Sells refurbished PC's and other tech equipment for people financially eligible.
Dell Technologies: ACCESS
Dell has various programs to help people get access to devices.

Information Specialist

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks, English, Fine Arts, Health Sciences, History, Library/Information Science, Literature, Music, Nursing, Religion, Theater & Drama, Writing Manuals

Introduction

Internet connectivity, access to internet-enabled devices and knowing how to work them are increasingly important as the years pass. This guide gives you some resources in order for you obtain devices, get connected, or gain a little bit more acumen for digital literacy.

Internet Connectivity program

Affordable Connectivity Program
Link to enroll
The two steps to enroll:
1) Click the "link to enroll" to submit an application or print out a mail-in application.
2) Contact your preferred participating provider to select a plan and have the discount applied to your bill.
Some providers may have an alternative application that they will ask you to complete.
Eligible households must both apply for the program and contact a participating provider.

The Affordable Connectivity Program is an FCC benefit program that helps ensure that households can afford the broadband they need for work, school, healthcare and more.

The benefit provides a discount of up to $30 per month toward internet service for eligible households and up to $75 per month for households on qualifying Tribal lands. Eligible households can also receive a one-time discount of up to $100 to purchase a laptop, desktop computer, or tablet from participating providers if they contribute more than $10 and less than $50 toward the purchase price.

The Affordable Connectivity Program is limited to one monthly service discount and one device discount per household.

Who Is Eligible for the Affordable Connectivity Program?

A household is eligible for the Affordable Connectivity Program if the household income is at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, or if a member of the household meets at least one of the criteria below:

Received a Federal Pell Grant during the current award year;
Meets the eligibility criteria for a participating provider's existing low-income internet program;
Participates in one of these assistance programs:
- The National School Lunch Program or the School Breakfast Program, including through the USDA Community Eligibility Provision;
- SNAP
- Medicaid
- Federal Public Housing Assistance
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- WIC
- Veterans Pension or Survivor Benefits
- or Lifeline;
Participates in one of these assistance programs and lives on Qualifying Tribal lands:
- Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance
- Tribal TANF
- Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations
- Tribal Head Start (income based)

Digital literacy links

However, if you want something a little bit more basic or diverse, below are more links that will give you similar tutorials or a broader range of tutorials.

TechBoomers
Many of our students worry about learning how to work some aspects of technology because they are older and fear they cannot compete with the ever-changing technology. This website provides some free tutorials and lessons to aid you in some aspects of technology.
DigitalLearn
"If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed. " This gives you some lessons in order to start out with computers, being safe online, acquire some basic job skills, being productive (including resources in enrolling in Healthcare.gov), social media, mobile devices, and online shopping.
more...less...
As of now "users cannot create new accounts at this time. If you've already created an account, please login. If not, just choose a course to start learning! To keep a record of your courses, please print the certificate you receive at the end."
GCFLearnFree.org
This not only helps you gain technology acumen but also gives you some tutorials in other core skills with reading, math, financial literacy, creativity and design, basic Spanish, resources for ESOL. Also has some of the lessons in other languages like French, Greek, Arabic and others.
Link to FAQ for GCFLearnFree
It seems that you do need to create an account in order to keep track of your progress, so this knowledge base has information on account creation.
Google for Education
If you work more comfortably with the "Microsoft Office Like" programs offered by Google. Google has a bunch of tutorials for their products. The tutorials range from the more practical like resume creation or evaluating online website credibility to fun stuff like lyrics writing.
Further Resource for Ohio Residents
Most public libraries across the state of Ohio have access to another, more powerful digital resource, Northstar Digital Literacy, which provides assessments on different aspects of digital literacy. This link provides links of the library systems that utilize Northstar. Contact your local library for more information if they have access.

Peterson's Career and Test Prep

Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Peterson's Test and Career Prep combines Peterson’s Test Prep and Peterson’s Career Prep into one single user experience.
Test Prep: This online education tool offers users standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses. Ideal for researching undergraduate and graduate school programs, finding tuition assistance, exploring academic opportunities, and preparing for professional careers.
Career Prep: This comprehensive resource platform creates personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, skills, personality, and workplace preferences. Peterson’s Career Prep also includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, and job search powered by Indeed.com.
First Time Users please see our FAQ on creating an account: https://egcc.libanswers.com/faq/357503.

How do I Access Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep?
You DO NEED to create an account to access the tutorials. This walks you through that process.

Of especial use are these tutorials:

Microsoft Office Tutorials