It seems as if society has an unfortunate "sweet spot" when it comes to age range. In order to make an impact, one can neither be too young or too old, and that is a shame because both the old and the young need to have equity and inclusion. This guide gives a bit of information about such. In the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database, there are some explorations about topics connected to ageism against the older people and the young. Below is the link for the database and a listing of which germane topics there are.
|
|
|
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Families in Ageing Societies by 
Providing Home Care for Older Adults by
A practical guide to providing home-based mental health services, Providing Home Care for Older Adults teaches readers how to handle the unique aspects of home-based care and apply and adapt evidence-based assessment and treatment within the home-based setting. Featuring contributions from experienced, board-certified home care psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists, the book explains the multifaceted role of a home-based provider, offers concrete and practical considerations for working within the home, and highlights adaptations to specific evidence-based methods used in treating homebound older adults. Also covered are special topics related to hoarding, safety, capacity evaluations, caregivers, case management, and use of technology. Each chapter includes engaging case examples with practical tips that illustrate what it is like to work in this new and exciting frontier.　 Psychologists, counselors, and other mental health practitioners in home settings will be able to use this guide to provide effective home-based care to older adults.
Gerontological Social Work and the Grand Challenges: Focusing on Policy and Practice by 
Cross-Cultural and Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives in Social Gerontology by 
Ageism by
Current research and theory from a range of disciplines on ageism, discussing issues from elder abuse to age discrimination against workers, revised and updated. People commonly use age to categorize and stereotype others-even though those who stereotype the elderly are eventually bound to become elderly themselves. Ageism is found cross-culturally, but it is especially prevalent in the United States, where most people regard growing older with depression, fear, and anxiety. Older people in the United States are stigmatized and marginalized, with often devastating consequences. This volume collects the latest theory and research on prejudice against older people, offering perspectives from psychology, nursing, medicine, social work, and other fields. The second edition has been completely updated, with new or extensively revised contributions. The contributors, all experts in their fields, consider issues that range from elder abuse to age discrimination against workers. There has been a relative dearth of research on ageism, perhaps because age prejudice is still considered socially acceptable. This book is still the only one that examines ageism in such detail, from such diverse scholarly perspectives. The contributors discuss the origins and effects of ageism and offer suggestions for how to reduce ageism as the wave of baby boomers heads for old age. Contributors Yoav S. Bergman, Ehud Bodner, Jennifer Barbour, Piers Bayl-Smith, Daphne Blunt Bugental, Maria Clara P. de Paula Couto, Susan T. Fiske, Jeff Greenberg, Barbara Griffin, Jessica A. Hehman, Peter Helm, Sarah H. Kagan, Molly Maxfield, Lynn McDonald, Mary Chase Mize, Joann M. Montepare, Todd D. Nelson, Michael S. North, Amanda Rumsey, Jeff Schimel, Laura Shannonhouse, Dirk Wentura, Susan Krauss Whitbourne
Contemporary Perspectives on Ageism by
This open access book provides a comprehensive European perspective on the concept of ageism, its origins, the manifestation and consequences of ageism, as well as ways to respond to and research ageism. The book represents a collaborative effort of researchers from over 20 countries and a variety of disciplines, including, psychology, sociology, gerontology, geriatrics, pharmacology, law, geography, design, engineering, policy and media studies. The contributors have collaborated to produce a truly stimulating and educating book on ageism which brings a clear overview of the state of the art in the field. The book serves as a catalyst to generate research, policy and public interest in the field of ageism and to reconstruct the image of old age and will be of interest to researchers and students in gerontology and geriatrics. This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license.
TED2017 talk given by Ashton Applewhite.
It's not the passage of time that makes it so hard to get older. It's ageism, a prejudice that pits us against our future selves -- and each other. Ashton Applewhite urges us to dismantle the dread and mobilize against the last socially acceptable prejudice. "Aging is not a problem to be fixed or a disease to be cured," she says. "It is a natural, powerful, lifelong process that unites us all."
TEDxManhattanBeach talk given by Amelia Conway posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube channel on December 8, 2017.
Amelia believes when what we can or can't do is determined by our age, we are limiting ourselves and our society. At the young age of 11, Amelia started directing commercials, short films, and documentaries. 4 years later, she reflects on defying ageism, how she has benefitted, and her hopes for the future. Amelia Conway is a film maker of short films, music videos and commercials. She is also fourteen years old, and can’t figure out why her age is such a big deal. Amelia made her debut in the entertainment industry when she co-hosted a radio show on the internet station “Little Radio” at seven years old. Since her radio days, she has gone on to make several short films and music videos. She has worked with many well-known brands — including Toms Shoes, Beats Music and American Girl Doll — and recently directed campaigns for Target and NASCAR.
TEDxCanaryWharf talk given by Meryvn Eastman posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube channel on August 10, 2015.
YouTube description: "We live in a gerontophobic culture, in that so many people now fear ageing and hold prejudices against the over 60s. The challenge is that we, as older people, hold ageist views about other older people – we think of older people as somebody else! We feel we are owed because we are old and hence feed “everyday ageism”."
TEDxLakeJunaluska talk given by Maggie Wallem Rowe posted on the TEDx Talks YouTube Channel on April 5, 2021.
YouTube description: "In western culture older women in particular often feel unseen and unheard, consigned to the margins rather than being in the middle of the stories society elevates. Maggie Wallem Rowe makes the case that self-prejudice is an unrecognized form of discrimination practiced when older women and men define themselves by what they no longer have instead of what they've yet to give. Four things can help seniors step from the shadows into the vibrancy of the final third of life. Wallem Rowe is a national speaker, dramatist, and writer from western North Carolina. Her work includes decades in public relations, adult education, and ministry to women. Maggie's first book was traditionally published when she was 67. This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community."
TEDxFarmingdale talk by Kate MacKinnon (not that Kate MacKinnon) posted on TEDx Talks YouTube Channe on January 21, 2021
YouTube video description: "There are so many myths and misconceptions about women aging in our Western culture. As we get older, we become invisible -- generally starting at 40, though some feel it earlier, and it continues as we age. As a result, we can feel less valued and sometimes downright disregarded. There is an entire population that feels disenfranchised. Internally, what happens is many women believe because they are invisible, their life doesn't have much meaning. This, in turn, causes women to take on the role of being invisible, and they pass this behavior on. As we age, we have so much to offer, but we believe the myth, live as if it is true, and it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.
"Young women do not know what this is about. And it's my wish that they never do. Rather than warn our younger sisters, I desire to mentor and support women and talk about this, so we stop accepting it as the norm, stop believing the myths and misconceptions as "the truth" and start speaking about what is actually true. This will not only have an impact on our communities but have a global effect by starting the conversation for women all over the world. Former Vice President of JP Morgan Chase, Kate MacKinnon, also ran her own management technology company before answering her calling to help women step into their power and greatness. Now, as a certified Feng Shui Practitioner, Kate creates spaces of elegance and beauty that also transform lives. This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community."
