Use our GatorLINK catalog to search for print books in our collection or to search the OhioLINK print collection.
Below is a small selection of books in our collection. Try using the following keywords to find additional titles.
Anatomy by
Prepare for the dissection lab and operating room with Anatomy: A Photographic Atlas , 8e. Featuring outstanding full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images, this proven text depicts anatomic structures more realistically than illustrations in traditional atlases. Chapters are organized by region in the order of a typical dissection with each chapter presenting topographical anatomical structures in a systemic manner. Authentic photographic reproduction of colors, structures, and spatial dimensions as seen in the dissection lab and on the operating table help you develop an understanding of the anatomy of the human body. Functional connections between single organs, the surrounding tissue, and organ systems are clarified to prepare you for the dissection lab and practical exams. Clinical cases and over 1,200 images enhance your understanding. Dissections illustrate the topographical anatomy in layers "from the outside in" to better prepare you for the lab and operating room.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The gold standard of excellence for 25 years, Frank H. Netter, MD's Atlas of Human Anatomy offers unsurpassed depictions of the human body in clear, brilliant detail - all from a clinician's perspective. With its emphasis on anatomic relationships and clinically relevant views, Dr. Netter's work provides a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine today. View anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of medical and healthcare students and professionals who rely on Netter to optimize learning and clarify even the most difficult aspects of human anatomy. Comprehensive labeling uses the international anatomic standard terminology, Terminologia Anatomica, and every aspect of the Atlas is reviewed and overseen by clinical anatomy and anatomy education experts. Consulting Editors include: John T. Hansen, PhD; Brion Benninger, MD, MS; Jennifer Brueckner-Collins, PhD, Todd M. Hoagland, PhD, and R. Shane Tubbs, MS, PA-C, PhD. Explore additional unique perspectives of difficult-to-visualize anatomy through all-new paintings by Dr. Carlos Machado, including breast lymph draina≥ the pterygopalantine fossa; the middle ear; the path of the internal carotid artery; and the posterior knee, plus additional new plates on arteries of the limbs and new radiologic images. Master challenging structures with visual region-by-region coverage -- including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each Section. Student Consult access includes a suite of interactive tools and guides, including selected images formatted as self-testing exercises; dissection videos; multiple choice questions; illustrated axial cross-sections and scroll-throughs; Key Point Anatomy Guides; additional plates from previous editions; and more.
Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology by
Prepare for a career as a leading respiratory therapist with the solid foundation in anatomy and physiology found in Des Jardins' best-selling CARDIOPULMONARY ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY: ESSENTIALS OF RESPIRATORY CARE, 7E. This extremely reader-friendly presentation delivers the most complete, accurate information about the structure and function of the respiratory system. Clear and concise coverage presents even complicated concepts in an understandable format using full-color design and proven learning features that guide you in applying what you've learned to your professional career. Thirteen new Clinical Connections add to the book's total 141 Clinical Connections that link chapter content to today's clinical setting and highlight actual situations that respiratory therapists encounter every day. These features also direct meaningful discussion and strengthen your critical-thinking skills.
Gray's Anatomy by
In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
The Human Body in Health and Illness by
Using colorful cartoons, illustrations, and an easy-to-read approach, The Human Body in Health and Illness, 4th Edition makes it fun to learn anatomy & physiology. Clear, step-by-step explanations provide all the information you need to know, so concepts are easy to understand even if you have a limited background in the sciences. Written by well-known educator Barbara Herlihy, the book begins with a basic discussion of the human body and cellular structure and moves toward genetics and the greater complexity of the human organism. It breaks down complex concepts and processes into digestible chunks, and new features such as Re-Think and Go Figure! help you apply what you've learned to common problems in patient care. Full-color illustrations simplify difficult concepts and complex processes. Colorful cartoons use humor to clarify and reinforce the content, making it more memorable, accessible, and reader-friendly. Interesting analogies and examples make learning easier, especially if you're studying A&P for the first time. Key terms and objectives are listed at the beginning of every chapter, setting learning expectations and goals, with terms defined in a comprehensive glossary. Did You Know boxes include brief vignettes describing clinical scenarios or historical events related to A&P. Review tools include chapter summaries, Review Your Knowledge questions, and Go Figure! questions relating to figures and diagrams. UPDATED illustrations and content keep A&P information current and strengthen an already popular textbook. UPDATED Medical Terminology and Disorders tables include pronunciations, derivations, and word parts, along with expanded, in-depth descriptions of the most crucial information. UPDATED! The Evolve website assets include practice exams, interactive activities and exercises, the Body Spectrum Online Coloring Book, and more!
Kinn's Medical Assisting Fundamentals by
Master the clinical and administrative competencies you need to succeed as a Medical Assistant! Kinn's Medical Assisting Fundamentals, 2nd Edition covers the administrative and clinical knowledge, skills, and procedures that are essential to patient care. A reader-friendly approach and focus on foundational content - including medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, basic math calculations, and soft skills - provide a solid foundation for the key skills and procedures at the heart of Medical Assisting practice. An applied learning approach organizes content around realistic case scenarios. The 2nd edition adds coverage of intravenous procedures, catheterization, and limited-scope radiography to address competencies approved in many states. This practical text will prepare you to launch a successful Medical Assisting career! Easy-to-understand writing style is appropriate for all levels of learners in all types of Medical Assisting programs. Emphasis on foundational content includes in-depth coverage of anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, basic math calculations, and job readiness to build a strong base of knowledge. Illustrated, step-by-step procedure boxes demonstrate how to perform and document key administrative and clinical skills. Content supports Medical Assisting certification test plans to help you prepare for board examinations. Real-world scenario in each chapter presents a situation for you to follow as you read through the material, helping you understand and apply key concepts as they are presented. Learning features include key terms and definitions, Being Professional boxes, study tips, critical thinking exercises, and review and summary sections, all focusing on developing the soft skills that employers seek when hiring. Chapter learning tools include terms with definitions, study tips, critical thinking boxes, and review and summary sections. Medical Terminology boxes highlight chapter-related medical terms to help you learn word parts, pronunciation, and definitions. Evolve website includes skills videos, chapter quizzes, five practice certification exams, and a portfolio builder. NEW chapters on intravenous procedures and limited-scope radiography provide coverage of expanded Medical Assisting functions approved in many states. NEW! Expanded content addresses behavioral health, catheterization procedures, disease states, medical office organization, expanding MA roles, and more.
The Library has access to a large number of purchased and licensed eBooks. Use the library's Publication Finder, Gateway Search and eBook Databases to access these titles. Use the following search terms to locate these titles:
EGCC Library's Gateway Search powered by EBSCO's Discovery Service.
Browse our collection of Gale eBooks that cover a variety of subjects and topics.
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. Most e-books are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
eBooks in subjects including earth and planetary sciences, engineering and computing, life and biological sciences, medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
MIT Press Direct eBook collection through 2021. MIT Press Direct Description: Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Up-to-date overviews of classic and current research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built Environment from Routledge and CRC Press.
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical and veterinary information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
Comparative Medicine : Anatomy and Physiology by
This new volume provides a concise overview of the most basic and exciting chapters of comparative medicine with regards to physiology and function in healthy individuals. The book includes core concepts in anatomy and physiology in human and animal models, which are key to understanding comparative medicine and to making contributions to research in this area. While writing this book, the authors were in constant interdisciplinary dialogue. They aim to contribute to improvements in quality of life for human and animal patients.
Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding by
This unique resource pairs the CPT® code set and full descriptors with relevant anatomical illustrations created by famed medical illustrator and physician Frank Netter, MD, and others working in the Netter tradition. Each of seven chapters delves into a specific anatomical region--starting with the head and ending with the lower extremities--and opens with a brief introduction explaining the features of the region. The result is an illustrated explanation of how medical procedures relate to anatomy. This long-awaited third edition of Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT® Coding provides readers a natural reference tool for reviewing clinical information and understanding the assignment of codes. FEATURES AND BENEFITS · MORE THAN A DECADE OF CODE UPDATES! This third edition features CPT® 2020 codes and descriptors from the Anesthesia, Surgery, Radiology, and Medicine sections of CPT® Professional and integrates them with more than 500 anatomical illustrations from the Netter collection. The second edition featured the 2009 code set. · NEW ILLUSTRATIONS! New illustrations are featured in every chapter, with more than 100 new anatomical and procedural plates. · ADDITIONAL CODE SECTION INCLUDED! Category III codes are now included, giving visual context to the relationship between anatomy and emerging technology, services, procedures, and service paradigms. · Select CPT guidelines and instructional notes appear verbatim with the codes and illustrations while an appendix offers section opening guidelines for easy reference. · Nomenclature notes help explain related terminology. · A special symbol indicates when a procedural illustration exists for a code thereby allowing the reader to reference CPT® Professional for additional information. · An appendix of abbreviations frequently found in CPT code descriptions and guidelines provide readers with information that can aid them in understanding documentation used to support code assignment. · NEW EPONYMS APPENDIX! A procedural eponyms appendix gives not only a list of common eponyms found within the code set but a brief explanation of each procedure. · NEW PROCEDURAL ILLUSTRATIONS APPENDIX! The inclusion of select procedural illustrations found in CPT® Professional helps readers make the visual connects between anatomy and procedure.
Principles of Anatomy by
This new volume will give readers an overview of bodily structures, the building blocks of life, and major concepts and contemporary issues surrounding the study of anatomy. A must for STEM students at the high school and undergraduate levels.
The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy by
As medical schools struggle to fit ever more material into a fixed amount of time, students need to approach the study of anatomy through a succinct, integrative overview. Rather than setting forth an overwhelming list of facts to be memorized, this book engages readers with a fascinating account of the connections between human anatomy and a wide array of scientific disciplines, weaving in the latest advances in developmental and evolutionary biology, comparative morphology, and biological engineering. Logically organized around a few key concepts, The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy presents them in clear, memorable prose, concise tabular material, and a host of striking photographs and original diagrams.