IDEA lists Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) as a separate category to Intellectual disabilities and Specific Learning Disabilities. This page provides many resources related to ASD.
Below you will find general reference articles about ASD:
Below you will find articles from reliable internet sources, as well as non-internet articles from our library databases.
Autism Spectrum Disorders in Adults by
In this book a group of international experts guide the reader through the clinical features of adults with autism spectrum disorders, describe the care needs of patients and their families, explain the evolution of the disorders into old age, and highlight what can be done to help.
Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by
The Second Edition of this major reference work expands its coverage and continues to break new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals on ASD.
Handbook of Quality of Life for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This handbook offers a comprehensive examination of wide-ranging issues relevant to adults diagnosed with ASD. Coverage includes a detailed review of such issues as family relationships, education, living in different settings (e.g., group homes, community), effective interventions, functional goals, and curriculum.
Life on the Autism Spectrum: Translating Myths and Misconceptions into Positive Futures by
This book presents a unique exploration of common myths about autism by examining these myths through the perspectives of individuals with autism. Examining the history of attitudes and beliefs about autism and people with autism, this book highlights the ways that these beliefs are continuing to impact individuals and their families.
Parent Training for Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book presents parent training for ASD as a unique approach that is not only more accessible but is also one of the most promising methods for promoting long-term behavioral improvements in children with ASD.
Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Intended for clinicians and families, this succinct, definitive, and up-to-date guide reviews current research in Autism Spectrum Disorders and its impact on assessment and treatment.
College on the Autism Spectrum: A Parent's Guide to Students' Mental Health and Wellbeing by
Providing expert yet accessible guidance to parents of young autistic people who are going to college, this book helps parents support their child from application through to graduation. Covering social issues, independent living, academic challenges, student services and emotional wellbeing, this is the one-stop shop for advice on the transition from school to college or university.
Towards an Ethics of Autism by
This thoughtful, wide-ranging book examines a number of perspectives on autism, including psychiatric, biological, and philosophical, to consider different ways of thinking about autism, as well as its meanings to those who experience it, those who diagnose it, and those who research it.
Young People, Adults and Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book explores the challenges for the minority group of people with autism as they live amongst the numerically dominant population of typical thinkers in a society largely structured around typical thinking.
Choosing Effective Support for People on the Autism Spectrum by
This book is essential for anyone interested in learning about the therapeutic potential of orthodox and state-of-the-art supports for people on the autism spectrum. This book presents literature reviews about supports for autistics and then rates the efficacy of the support. In addition to this, the insights and experiences of autistics about the autism supports examined are presented.
Decoding Autism and Leading the Way to Successful Inclusion by
With warmth and wisdom informed by her experience as a school administrator, autism educator, clinician, and parent of a son on the spectrum, the author provides a holistic look at the challenges students on the spectrum face in the areas of anxiety, executive function, sensation, communication, socialization, engagement, and cognitive acquisition. Learn to decode the functional and behavioral manifestations of these challenges, and gain practical and research-based preemptive, supportive, and responsive strategies.
The following print books are available in the EGCC Library's on-campus library collections.
If you are an off-campus student, we recommend checking with your local public library for more print books related to Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Behavioral Challenges in Children with Autism and Other Special Needs by
This book offers a comprehensive view of behavioral challenges for a child with autism or other special needs from a developmental perspective based on the DIRFloortime framework.
Getting the Best Out of College for Students on the Autism Spectrum by
This interactive workbook provides guidance for your entire journey through college and further education. Full of handy tips and strategies to help you through college, it guides you through early hurdles such as preparing for a new sensory environment, planning your transport and making friends. Chapters also cover life in college, so you'll know how to properly manage your time studying and socializing.