This guide provides resources related to legal research and writing. Use the blue tabs to navigate through the guide.
Use the above tabs to view eBooks available in the EGCC Library collection and for free online.
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals by
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals emphasizes the skills and issues that paralegals encounter in practice. Thoroughly up-to-date, the Ninth Edition continues to combine clear text with visual aids, writing samples, tips, and pointers. Designed specifically for paralegal students, Deborah Bouchoux's classroom-tested approach teaches cutting-edge research skills, writing style, and proper citation form--to equip students with an essential skill set and well-founded confidence. The author's logical and comprehensive approach enhances students' understanding. Part I covers Primary Authorities, Part II discusses Secondary Authorities, and Part III covers the basics of Legal Writing. In addition, Bouchoux integrates writing strategies into each research chapter to demonstrate the link between the two processes. Thorough coverage of electronic research includes chapters on both internet research and fee-based services. Bouchoux thoroughly explains proper citation form and the process of updating/validating legal authorities. The Legal Writing section includes samples of legal writing, such as letters, a court brief, and a legal memorandum. New to the Ninth Edition: New "Sidebar" feature in all research chapters that provides quick tips showing how the material in that chapter applies to computer-assisted legal research systems, such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law. Discussion of GovInfo, which provides free public access to official and authenticated publications from all three branches of the federal government. Coverage of new tools used for cite-checking, including EVA and Bestlaw. Discussion of Westlaw Edge, Westlaw's new research platform. Extensive new coverage of the increasing use of artificial intelligence in legal research and writing. Discussion of new sources that provide free public access to the law, including Harvard's Caselaw Access Project and CourtListener. New sections on preparing email letters and email memoranda, including assignments. All new Research Questions and Internet Legal Research Assignments have been included for each chapter. Professors and students will benefit from: Pedagogy designed to enhance the accessibility of the material, including helpful charts and diagrams that synthesize complex topics, Practice Tips offering realistic and helpful suggestions for workplace success, and Ethics Alerts in every chapter. Targeted and ample exercises help students learn how to use a wide range of research sources. Charts and practice tips, updated for this edition, that help students apply what they have learned. Tips on how to effectively use electronic resources are included throughout the text. Conscientious revision ensures that the book has the most up-to-date material, presented in a readable and accessible format.
A Practical Introduction to Paralegal Studies by
This book offers a thorough exploration of the entire paralegal profession. In a logical three-part organization, experienced author Deborah Bouchoux covers the fundamentals of the paralegal profession and the American legal system, along with the paralegal skills essential for success in the workplace. This engaging and well-written text provides the pragmatic and realistic information students need to hit the ground running.
PLEASE NOTE: To download the EBSCO eBooks above, you will need a MyEBSCO account. The links below explain how to create a MyEBSCO account and how to download an EBSCO eBook.
Idea and Methods of Legal Research by
The work deals with both the idea and methods of legal research in a systematic and comprehensive manner. In view of the fact that analytical, comparative, historical, philosophical, policy, action, and feminist legal researches are daily carried on by a large number of researchers as essential methods of legal research, the book provides valuable insights into all these aspects.
The Yale Law School Guide to Research in American Legal History by
The study of legal history has a broad application that extends well beyond the interests of legal historians. An attorney arguing a case today may need to cite cases that are decades or even centuries old, and historians studying political or cultural history often encounter legal issues that affect their main subjects. Both groups need to understand the laws and legal practices of past eras. This essential reference is intended for the many nonspecialists who need to enter this arcane and often tricky area of research.
The open educational resources below are free to use and available online.
Foundations of Legal Research and Writing - 4th Edition by 
Legal Writing by 
Legal Writing Manual - 2nd Edition by
This text provides an overview of first-year legal writing topics and provides checkpoints during your writing process
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research - 4th Edition by
This open access textbook introduces students to the new kind of research required to study and to practice law. It seeks to demystify the art of legal research by following a “Source and Process” approach. First, the text introduces students to the major sources of American law and describes the forms the various authorities traditionally took in print. After establishing this base, the text proceeds to instruct students on the methods they will most likely use in practice, namely electronic research techniques and the consultation of secondary sources.