Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform by 
The U. S. Healthcare Ecosystem: Payers, Providers, Producers by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The navigator you need to find your way through the process and operational complexities of the U.S. healthcare system From a seasoned professor of healthcare management at The Wharton School, The U.S. Healthcare Ecosystem provides a new perspective to the subject--navigating readers through complicated environment where healthcare customers, healthcare providers, and those who create products used in healthcare all interact. Emphasizing processes and operations, this thorough resource provides expert insight into important themes, i.e., how the goals of healthcare relate to the "the iron triangle" (cost, quality, and access) and "the triple aim" (per capita cost, population health, and patient experience). Chapters include brief but timely cases that inspire you to think more critically about what you hear and read about the healthcare industry and make your own informed assessments. Packed with 200 illustrations, The U.S. Healthcare Ecosystem Covers often-neglected topics, such as employer-based health insurance, pharmacy benefits, healthcare consolidation, and biotechnology. Features: *Contains the most current statistics and industry developments *Every chapter begins with a roadmap and ends with a summary and questions to ponder *Includes insights to drug discovery and development, biotechnology, and information technology, i.e., the marriage of life sciences and business *Reflects the insights and feedback of 60+ professors
Visualizing Health Care Statistics: a Data Mining Approach by
Visualizing Health Care Statistics: A Data-Mining Approach is an engaging, introduction to health care statistics that demonstrates how to visualize health care statistics by using Microsoft Excel and R-Project (open source statistical software) along with hands-on examples using real-world data. In each chapter, readers are encouraged to apply statistical knowledge to real-world health care situations. Through this approach, the reader develops data gathering and analysis skills, while learning how to report and present the data in an impactful way. Key Features: * A breadth of real-world, current health data, including global examples to put health care into a worldwide context. * An introduction to the modern computer software that readers will use in their careers to apply statistics, including Excel and open-source R-Project.* A data-mining approach helps readers understand how big data can be used systematically to increase health care quality and safety while cutting costs.* Data visualization in each chapter to highlight the importance of reporting data to end-users in a meaningful way.* Alignment with new CAHIIM standards, and notes those standards throughout the text.* An ideal resource for preparing for the Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) exam. * Helpful appendices including common abbreviations used in statistics, formulas for health care statistics, resources for further information, CAHIIM competency exercises, and more.
For fields where research rapidly changes, such as the sciences, we recommend limiting your search results to those published within the last 3-5 years.
Ethics and Health Care by
Who should have access to assisted reproductive technologies? Which one of many seriously ill patients should be offered the next available transplant organ? When may a surrogate decision maker decide to withdraw life-prolonging measures from an unconscious patient? Questions like these feature prominently in the field of health care ethics and in the education of health care professionals. This book provides a concise introduction to the major concepts, principles and issues in health care ethics, using case studies throughout to illustrate and analyse challenging ethical issues in contemporary health care. Topics range widely, from confidentiality and truthfulness to end-of-life care and research on human subjects. Ethics and Health Care will be a vital resource for students of applied ethics, bioethics, professional ethics, health law and medical sociology, as well as students of medicine, nursing and other health care professions.
This guide is meant for students in the Healthcare Administration, Health Services, Central Services Technician, Medical Assisting, and Patient Home Navigator Programs. Because your fields are so similar you share a guide and several of the aspects of your program are found on the tabs throughout this guide. This page, however, serves as a general landing page for all of you.
Is Two-Tier Health Care the Future? by
Canadians are deeply worried about wait times for health care. Entrepreneurial doctors and private clinics are bringing Charter challenges to existing laws restrictive of a two-tier system. They argue that Canada is an outlier among developed countries in limiting options to jump the queue. This book explores whether a two-tier model is a solution. In Is Two-Tier Health Care the Future?, leading researchers explore the public and private mix in Canada, Australia, Germany, France, and Ireland. They explain the history and complexity of interactions between public and private funding of health care and the many regulations and policies found in different countries used to both inhibit and sometimes to encourage two-tier care, such as tax breaks. This edited collection provides critical evidence on the different approaches to regulating two-tier care across different countries and what could work in Canada.
Achieving justice in the U.S. healthcare system : mercy is sustainable: the insatiable thirst for profit is not by
This book focuses on justice and its demands in the way of providing people with medical care. Building on recent insights on the nature of moral perceptions and motivations from the neurosciences, it makes a case for the traditional medical ethic and examines its financial feasibility. The book starts out by giving an account of the concept of justice and tracing it back to the practices and tenets of Hippocrates and his followers, while taking into account findings from the neurosciences. Next, it considers whether the claim that it is just to limit medical care for everyone to some basic minimum is justifiable. The book then addresses finances and expenditures of the US health care system and shows that the growth of expenditures and the percentage of the gross national product spent on health care make for an unsustainable trajectory. In light of the question what should be changed, the book suggests that overdiagnosis and medicalizing normal behavior lead to harmful, costly and unnecessary interventions and are the result of unethical behavior on the part of the pharmaceutical industry and extensive ethical failures of the FDA. The book ends with suggestions about what can be done to put the U.S. health care system on the path to sustainability, better medical care, and compliance with the demands of justice.
Discovering Precision Health by
Today we are on the brink of a much-needed transformative moment for health care. The U.S. health care system is designed to be reactive instead of preventive. The result is diagnoses that are too late and outcomes that are far worse than our level of spending should deliver. In recent years, U.S. life expectancy has been declining. Fundamental to realizing better health, and a more effective health care system, is advancing the disruptive thinking that has spawned innovation in Silicon Valley and throughout the world. That's exactly what Stanford Medicine has done by proposing a new vision for health and health care. In Discovering Precision Health, Lloyd Minor and Matthew Rees describe a holistic approach that will set health care on the right track: keep people healthy by preventing disease before it starts and personalize the treatment of individuals precisely, based on their specific profile. With descriptions of the pioneering work undertaken at Stanford Medicine, complemented by fascinating case studies of innovations from entities including the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub, GRAIL, and Impossible Foods, Minor and Rees present a dynamic vision for the future of individual health and health care. Youll see how tools from smartphone technology to genome sequencing to routine blood tests are helping avert illness and promote health. And you'll learn about the promising progress already underway in bringing greater precision to the process of predicting, preventing, and treating a range of conditions, including allergies, mental illness, preterm birth, cancer, stroke, and autism. The book highlights how biomedical advances are dramatically improving our ability to treat and cure complex diseases, while emphasizing the need to devote more attention to social, behavioral, and environmental factors that are often the primary determinants of health. The authors explore thought-provoking topics including: The unlikely role of Google Glass in treating autism How gene editing can advance precision in treating disease What medicine can learn from aviation Discovering Precision Health showcases entirely new ways of thinking about health and health care and can help empower us to lead healthier lives.
Innovating Healthcare by
Why is there a need to 'innovate healthcare'? The basic reason stems from the sheer scale of the challenges now facing healthcare provision in the UK and across many other countries. The aim of this book is to interrogate past and current attempts to innovate in this arena and to draw-out the key lessons. Innovating Healthcare: The Role of Political, Managerial and Clinical Leadership presents the latest state of knowledge based on original data from a series of NIHR-funded research projects set in the context of a review of extensive secondary research. The book draws upon first-person verbatim accounts of change attempts made by doctors and other clinicians as well as upon research findings about the roles played by policy-makers and managers. The analysis draws upon theory and practice in leadership, innovation and institution-building. The mutually-reinforcing contributions of political, managerial and clinical leadership are at the core of the investigative narrative. This book will be of interest to students and researchers, clinicians and managers in the health and care sectors as well as policy-makers. While the focus in on healthcare, the book has wider relevance for students of management, leadership, innovation and organizational studies.
Unaffordable by
Written for nonexperts, this is a brisk, engaging history of American healthcare from the advent of Medicare and Medicaid in the 1960s to the impact of the Affordable Care Act in the 2010s. Step by step, Jonathan Engel shows how we arrived at our present convoluted situation, where generic drugs prices can jump 1,000 percent in a day and primary care physicians can lose 20 percent of their income at the stroke of a Congressional pen. Unaffordable covers, in a conversational style punctuated by apt examples, topics ranging from health insurance, pharmaceutical pricing, and physician training to health maintenance organizations and hospital networks. Along the way, Engel introduces approaches that other nations have taken in organizing and paying for healthcare and offers insights on ethical quandaries around end-of-life decisions, neonatal care, life-sustaining treatments, and the limits of our ability to define death. While describing the political origins of many of the federal and state laws that govern our healthcare system today, he never loses sight of the impact that healthcare delivery has on our wallets and on the balance sheets of hospitals, doctors' offices, government agencies, and private companies.
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Links to full-text of selected articles are available using this URL to access PubMed.
