EGCC Libguides: BIO103 Nutrition: Websites

Websites on Nutrition

Websites: Special Topics in Nutrition

Below is a select list of relevant websites related to specific nutritional topics, including: Diseases & Health Issues, Environmental Nutrition, Food Additives, Food Pyramids, Food Safety, GMOs, Organic Food, Pregnancy, Vitamins & Minerals, and Sports & Exercise.

The Digestive System

Mayo Clinic: See How Your Digestive System Works
This slideshow provides images and step-by-step descriptions of how the digestive system works.
Your Digestive System & How it Works
This resource from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) explains the digestive process and why digestion is important.

Diseases & Health Issues

American Diabetes Association
Includes resources for reading food labels, meal planning, understanding carbs, fitness, and nutrition.
American Heart Association
Provides information about healthy cooking and eating, heart-check foods, healthy lifestyle, and fitness.
National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases: Diet & Nutrition
Highlights a variety of resources on nutrition to help manage health conditions such as diabetes, obesity, kidney disease, and others.
National Osteoporosis Foundation: Nutrition
Discusses nutrition for patients with Osteoporosis, including foods that are healthy for your bones and advice for building healthy bones.

Environmental Nutrition & Agriculture

FoodData Central
An integrated data system from the USDA which provides nutrient profile data and links to related research.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: Endocrine Disruptors
Explains how endocrine disruptors work, explores common types of endocrine disruptors, and discusses discoveries the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences has made.
USDA National Agriculture Library
Features many online resources related to nutrition and agriculture, including the National Agricultural Library's digital collection.

Food Additives

Nutrition.gov: Food Additives
Includes links that discuss the what food additives are, what they contribute to foods, how they are regulated, and how to identify them in the foods you eat.
USDA: Nutritive and Nonnutritive Sweetener Resources
Features links to resources which provide general information on nutritive and nonnutritive sweeteners.

Food Pyramids & Dietary Guidelines

Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Provides dietary advice for Americans to encourage healthy development, aid in preventing diet-related chronic diseases, and satisfy nutrient needs. Created by the U.S. Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services.
Food-Based Dietary Guidelines from Around the World
A collection of food-based dietary guidelines and food pyramids from across the globe. Information is organized by country. Published by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations.

Food Safety

CDC: Food Safety
Provides information and educational materials about challenges in food safety, preventing foodborne illness, and the CDC's role in food safety.
FoodSafety.gov
Includes food safety charts, food safety recalls and outbreaks, and advice on safely handling and storing food to prevent food poisoning.

Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs)

FDA: Feed Your Mind
An education initiative to help the general public better understand genetically engineered foods, often referred to as GMOs or genetically modified organisms.
World Health Organization: GM Foods
WHO's page on genetically modified food which features concise information, fact sheets, and other resources.

Organic Food

The Mayo Clinic: Organic foods
An article, written by Mayo Clinic staff, which explains the health benefits (real or perceived) of organic foods.
USDA: Organic Agriculture
Features resources focused on organic agriculture, including organic certification, technical training, financial resources, and data/research.
USDA Organic Integrity Database
A database which records the organic certifications of farms worldwide.

Pregnancy & Breastfeeding

CDC: Breastfeeding
Features information on breastfeeding including FAQs, a resource library, data and statistics, guidelines and recommendations, and nutritional concerns.
Nutrition During Pregnancy
An FAQ guide to nutrition during pregnancy from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, covering issues like healthy diet, vitamins and minerals, and obesity.
PAHO: Breastfeeding & Complementary Feeding
The Pan American Health Organization's website features a section on breastfeeding which provides key facts, data and statistics, and other informative resources.

Vitamins & Minerals

Mayo Clinic: Supplements
This article, written by Mayo Clinic staff, discusses the difference between supplements and whole foods, who may need supplements, and guidelines for choosing and using supplements.
Vitamin and Mineral Supplement Fact Sheets
This collection of fact sheets from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements provides information about dietary supplements and their ingredients, including vitamins, minerals, herbs and botanicals, probiotics, etc.

Sports & Exercise

American College of Sports Medicine Resource Library
A collection of books, infographics, articles, videos, and publications about sports medicine and exercise science.
CDC Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
This division of the CDC works to encourage regular physical activity and good nutrition. Its website offers information about nutrition, obesity, healthy weight, and other related topics.

Additional Websites on Nutrition

Below is a select list of relevant websites which are valuable resources for current discussions in the field of nutritional science.

American Society for Nutrition
Features nutrition science teaching tools, nutrition-related news, and resources on advocacy and science policy such as fact sheets and statements.
CDC: Nutrition
Includes information, data, and statistics about nutrition. Specific topics include improving access to healthier food, infant and toddler nutrition, micronutrients, malnutrition, and dietary guidelines.
Food & Nutrition Information Center
Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Mayo Clinic: Nutrition
This webpage from Mayo Clinic offers information and expert answers concerning nutrition basics, healthy diets, and supplements.
MedlinePlus: Nutrition
This entry in MedlinePlus provides numerous links to resources about nutrition and related health topics.
Nutrition.gov
Provides government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.
Pan American Health Organization: Nutrition
PAHO's nutrition program website includes information about salt reduction, breastfeeding, obesity prevention, undernutrition prevention, and sustainable food systems.
USDA: Human Nutrition Research
A helpful list of links to websites, news sources, and databases focused on human nutrition research.
World Health Organization: Nutrition
Provides fact sheets, guidelines, and data about numerous nutrition issues, such as healthy diet, malnutrition, obesity, and salt reduction.