The following are databases in our collection that contain eBooks.
The Case for Gay Reparations by
Beyond making the case for gay reparations in the United States, this book explores a wide range of questions provoked by the rise of the gay reparations movement.
Come Out, Come Out, Whoever You Are by
This book systematically examines how coming out has moved beyond gay and lesbian rights groups and how different groups wrestle with the politics of coming out in their efforts to resist stigma and enact social change.
Female Husbands: A Trans History by
Moving deftly from the colonial era to just before the First World War, this book uncovers the riveting and very personal stories of female husbands who lived as men despite tremendous risk, danger, violence, and threat of punishment.
Gay Rights vs. Religious Liberty?: The Unnecessary Conflict by
This book clearly and empathetically engages with both sides of the same-sex marriage debate.
Interrogating Homonormativity by
This book explores the concept of homonormativity and examines how the politics of homonormativity has shaped the lives and practices of gay men living primarily in the UK.
Learning Queer Identity in the Digital Age by
Through specific analysis of media representations, personal interviews, and historical research, this book explores how the digital environment perpetuates harmful and limiting stereotypes of queerness.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans People (LGBT) and the Criminal Justice System by
This book explores the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) communities as victims, offenders and staff within the criminal justice system.
LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences by
This book expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities. The work provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature.
Marginality and Global LGBT Communities: Conflicts, Civil Rights and Controversy by
This book examines the interconnectedness of LGBT civil and political rights, bias, discrimination, homophobia, and LGBT health disparities both in the United States and globally.
Sexual Orientation Equality in Schools by
This book explores how to help teachers become better advocates for sexual orientation equality in secondary schools.
Transforming Prejudice: Identity, Fear, and Transgender Rights by
This book examines what tactics are effective in changing public opinion regarding transgender people. The result is a new approach that they call Identity Reassurance Theory. The idea is that individuals need to feel confident in their own identity before they can embrace a stigmatized group.
Growing Up Queer: Kids and the Remaking of the LGBTQ Identity by
This book explores the changing ways that young people are now becoming LGBT-identified in the US. This book focuses on the voices and stories of youths themselves in order to show how young people understand their sexual and gender identities, their interest in queer media, and the role that family plays in their lives.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances by
This book is meant to equip professionals at institutions with mental health programs that deal with LGBT issues with information and insight to help them better serve the LGBT populations.
LGBTQ History and Current Issues by
The book provides an overview of LGBTQ history and current issues. It includes biographies of some notable figures in LGBTQ history.
Same-Sex Marriage: Exploring the Issues by
This work examines the issue of same-sex marriage in the U.S. and internationally. It surveys the attitudes of major religions towards same-sex marriage. The book's A-Z organization makes it easy for readers to locate important court cases, individuals, and movements at the center of the same-sex marriage debate.
Sexual Orientation and Transgender Issues in Organizations by
Given the shortage of work on issues related to homosexual, bisexual and transgender employees, compared to other facets of workforce diversity, this book opens up new perspectives on this issue.
When States Come Out by
This book investigates the recent history of the LGBT movement in Europe, focusing on the diffusion of the norms it champions and the overarching question of why, despite similar international pressures, the trajectories of socio-legal recognition for LGBT minorities are so different across states.
2SLGBTQ+ Healthcare by
This open access textbook is a guide to building an inclusive practice for LGBTQ+ healthcare. It includes case scenarios and helps the reader address attitudes, beliefs, and biases.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by
This open textbook provides a chronological overview of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book reveals key people and events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement.
Introduction to Human Sexuality by
Published by Open Oregon Educational Resources, this open textbook covers human sexuality theories as well as professional and clinical topics in human sexuality.
Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies by
This open textbook offers accessible, academically sound information on a wide range of LGBTQ+ topics. Chapters cover LGBTQ+ history, culture, and Queer Theory, but also explore LGBTQ+ relationships, families, parenting, health, and education.
The following print books are available in the EGCC Library's on-campus library collections. If you are an off-campus student, we recommend checking with your local public library for more print books related to LGBTQIA+ issues.
Forcing the Spring: Inside the Fight for Marriage Equality by
A tour de force of groundbreaking reportage by a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, this book follows the historic legal challenge mounted against California's ban on same-sex marriage, a remarkable lawsuit that forced the issue of marriage equality before the highest court in the land.
Introduction to Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies by
Emphasizing both interdisciplinarity and intersectionality, this innovative mix of anthology and textbook includes key primary historical sources, debates on contemporary issues, and recent work in science, technology, and digital cultures.
Winning Marriage by
In this book, a leader in the movement for marriage equality gives the reader a seat at the strategy-setting and decision-making table in the campaign to win and protect the freedom to marry.