Environmental Studies: Waste Management, Hazardous Waste & Environmental Toxicology

With its 104 chapters, this Encyclopedia of aquatic ecotoxicology reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation.

As we know, rapid industrialization is a serious concern in the context of a healthy environment. Various physico-chemical and biological approaches for the removal of toxic pollutants are available, but unfortunately these are not very effective. Biological approaches using microorganisms (bacterial/fungi/algae), green plants or their enzymes to degrade/detoxify environmental contaminants such as endocrine disrupting chemicals, toxic metals, pesticides, dyes, petroleum hydrocarbons and phenolic compounds are eco-friendly and low cost. This book provides a much-needed, comprehensive overview of the various types of contaminants, their toxicological effects on the environment, humans, animals and plants as well as various eco-friendly approaches for their management (degradation/detoxification). As such it is a valuable resource for a wide range of students, scientists and researchers in microbiology, biotechnology, environmental sciences.

This book is an invaluable reference tool that critically reviews current knowledge on human exposure to selected chemical agents in the ambient environment. The latest edition provides the most current information and research available for performing risk assessments on exposed individuals and populations, giving guidance to public health authorities, primary care physicians, and industrial managers. Toxic substances in the general environment can produce adverse health effects among large numbers of people. The effects are usually sub-clinical unless cumulative changes lead to chronic effects after long-term exposure, causing a need for identification and risk assessment.

Environmental Toxicology provides a detailed, comprehensive introduction to this key area of sustainability and public health research. The broad coverage includes sections on ecological risk assessment, monitoring, mechanisms, fate and transport, prevention, and correctives, as well as treatment of the health effects of solar radiation and toxicology in the ocean.

This book details how the values of sustainability can be applied to the design of health systems and the delivery of primary care. By providing a practical framework for understanding complicated sustainability problems related to health, the book offers an authoritative resource for understanding parallels between human toxicology and ecotoxicology.

This book review series presents current trends in modern biotechnology. The aim is to cover all aspects of this interdisciplinary technology where knowledge, methods and expertise are required from chemistry, biochemistry, microbiology, genetics, chemical engineering and computer science.

This book covers the latest environmental issues based on current research objectives. All chapters are fundamentally interlinked and focus on deciphering the networking of mutagens in environmental toxicity and human health. Our changing environment, climate, and lifestyle factors are growing concerns in the 21st century. The existing mutagens, either physical or chemical, are responsible for environmental toxicity. These toxicants are carcinogenic and not limited to naturally occurring chemicals or biologicals, but can also be man-made, such as 'radiation'. The networking of mutagens can have a broad range of effects on both the environment and human health.

This book is a valuable contribution to the debate about the harmful effects of environmental toxicants on human health, which is a growing concern in the 21st century. Chapters decipher the phenomena and highlight the latest developments in environmental toxicology, providing readers with a comprehensive overview of environmental toxicology and human health.

Many books have now been published in the broad field of environmental toxicology.  However, to date, none of have presented the often fascinating stories of the wildlife science, and the steps along the way from discovery of problems caused by environmental pollutants to the regulatory and non-regulatory efforts to address the problems.  This book provides case by case examinations of how toxic chemical effects on wildlife have brought about policy and regulatory decisions, and positive changes in environmental conditions. 

A peer-reviewed journal which provides insight into contaminants in the environment, with multidisciplinary contributions from the fields of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science, and toxicology.

A peer-reviewed journal which focused on advances in the fields of air, soil, water, and food contamination and pollution and methodology concerned with the introduction, presence, and effects of toxicants in the total environment.

Covers research on the effects of toxic chemicals on populations, communities and terrestrial, freshwater and marine ecosystems.

A peer-reviewed journal which publishes in the areas of toxicity and toxicology of environmental pollutants in air, dust, sediment, soil and water, and natural toxins in the environment.

A peer-reviewed journal dedicated to furthering scientific knowledge and disseminating information on environmental toxicology and chemistry, including the application of these sciences to risk assessment.

A peer-reviewed journal which publishes the results of studies concerning toxic and pharmacological effects of (human and veterinary) drugs and of environmental contaminants in animals and humans.

Environmental Chemistry and Ecotoxicology publishes studies that examine the environmental chemistry (distribution, dynamics and fate) of pollutants, the biologic and toxic effects of man-made chemical pollutants on ecotoxicological animal models and plants.