EGCC Libguides: Environmental Studies: Waste Management, Hazardous Waste &amp; Environmental Toxicology: Environmental Policy Websites

Environmental Policy & Law Websites

Below is a select list of relevant websites which are valuable resources for finding information about environmental law and policy.

Climate Change Laws of the World
A global database of climate change laws, policies, climate targets and litigation cases. From the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment.
Environmental Law Institute (ELI)
ELI's website features research reports and a Guidance & Policy collection which includes over 4,000 federal agencies’ internal guidance documents indexed for easy searching.
EPA Regulatory Information By Topic
Each environmental topic included in this list may include related laws and regulations, compliance and enforcement information, and policies and guidance.
EPA Summary of Laws & Executive Orders
Summaries of environmental laws, organized by Congressional act (e.g. the Clean Air Act, the Clean Water Act, etc.) and executive order.
FindLaw: Opinion Summaries Archive
FindLaw provides an archive with access to summaries of published opinions from 2000 to the present. Includes cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit Courts, and selected state supreme and appellate courts. You can narrow your search by legal topic, such as "Environmental Law."
U.S. Climate Change Litigation
This website provides two databases of climate change litigation, one for U.S. climate change litigation and one for non-U.S. cases. You can search by keyword and filter by case category, court, principal law, and filing year.

Federal Environmental Statutes & Regulations

Federal Environmental Statutes

Statutes passed by the U.S. Congress are published in the United States Code (USC). The USC is is divided into numbered titles. You can find many environmental statutes in Title 16- Conservation or Title 42- The Public Health and Welfare.

You can browse and search the USC at the following link:

United States Code on US House of Representatives' Website

Federal Environmental Regulations

Environmental statutes often delegate authority to agencies to pass regulations which implement the statutes. Federal regulations are published in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), which, like the USC, is divided into numbered titles. Many environmental regulations are found in Title 40- Protection of the Environment.

You can browse and search the CFR at the following link:

Code of Federal Regulations Official Website

State Environmental Laws

Environmental Laws by State

Below are two free online tools for finding state environmental agencies, regulations, and other resources:

Health and Environmental Agencies of U.S. States and Territories
- List of state environmental agencies organized by state and territory. Maintained by the EPA.
Gateway to State Resource Locators
- Links to regulations, agencies, and other resources, organized by topic and state. Created by the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences with the support of the EPA.