It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CIS classes guide: Research Resources
Good for CIS101, Spreadsheet Concepts, Database Concepts, and Advanced Database Concepts.
This page offers some assistance with the general workings of the class and tutorials to aid you with understanding some course materials. The next page, however is crucial for your research project on "Information Systems" and should be consulted by all students in CIS 101.
New Gateway Search Box
Power Tip: Limit Search Results by Date
For fields where research rapidly changes, such as the sciences, we recommend limiting your search results to those published within the last 3-5 years.
E-Books in OhioLINK Digital Databases
This list is by no means exhaustive, but it gives the researcher/student some basics to help them. Please utilize the databases listed for more in-depth research.
Many of the books below are located in the O'Reilly Learning Platform. First time O'Reilly users will need to create an account. Please see this FAQ for instructions on how to create an O'Reilly Account.
Excel Basics to Blackbelt by Elliot BendolyThis third edition capitalizes on the success of the previous editions and leverages the important advancements in visualization, data analysis, and sharing capabilities that have emerged in recent years. It serves as an accelerated guide to decision support designs for consultants, service professionals and students. This 'fast track' enables a ramping up of skills in Excel for those who may have never used it to reach a level of mastery that will allow them to integrate Excel with widely available associated applications, make use of intelligent data visualization and analysis techniques, automate activity through basic VBA designs, and develop easy-to-use interfaces for customizing use. The content of this edition has been completely restructured and revised, with updates that correspond with the latest versions of software and references to contemporary add-in development across platforms. It also features best practices in design and analytical consideration, including methodical discussions of problem structuring and evaluation, as well as numerous case examples from practice.
Publication Date: 2020-05-08
Learn Microsoft Office 2019 by Linda FoulkesGet to grips with the complete range of Office 2019 applications, explore solutions to common challenges, and discover best practices for working productively Key Features Explore MS Office to enhance productivity and boost your professional development Get up and running with the new and improved features in Microsoft Office 2019 Discover how to overcome common challenges when working with Office 2019 applications Book Description Learn Microsoft Office 2019 provides a comprehensive introduction to the latest versions of Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, and Outlook. With the help of illustrated explanations, this Microsoft Office book will take you through the updated Office 2019 applications and guide you through implementing them using practical examples. You'll start by exploring the Word 2019 interface and creating professional Word documents using elements such as citations and cover pages, tracking changes, and performing mail merge. You'll then learn how to create impressive PowerPoint presentations and advance to performing calculations and setting up workbooks in Excel 2019, along with discovering its data analysis features. Later chapters will focus on Access 2019, assisting you in everything from organizing a database to constructing advanced queries. You'll then get up to speed with Outlook, covering how to create and manage tasks, as well as how to handle your mail and contacts effortlessly. Finally, you'll find solutions to commonly encountered issues and best practices for streamlining various workplace tasks. By the end of this book, you'll have learned the essentials of Office business apps and be ready to work with them to boost your productivity. What you will learn Use PowerPoint 2019 effectively to create engaging presentations Gain working knowledge of Excel formulas and functions Collaborate using Word 2019 tools, and create and format tables and professional documents Organize emails, calendars, meetings, contacts, and tasks with Outlook 2019 Store information for reference, reporting, and analysis using Access 2019 Discover new functionalities such as Translator, Read Aloud, Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG), and data analysis tools that are useful for working professionals Who this book is for Whether you're just getting started or have used Microsoft Office before and are looking to develop your MS Office skills further, this book will help you to make the most of the different Office applications. Familiarity with the Office 2019 suite will be useful, but not mandatory.
Publication Date: 2020-05-29
Office 365 All-In-One for Dummies by Peter Weverka; Timothy L. Warner (As told to)The deepest reference on Microsoft's productivity service Office 365 offers the same productivity power as past versions of Microsoft Office along with tools designed to boost collaboration in the workplace and instant access to the latest Office updates without buying a whole new software package. It's an ideal solution for both the office and home use. The author of the bestselling Office All-in-One For Dummies shares his advice on how to navigate the nuts and bolts of getting things done with Office 365. Look inside for step-by-step instructions on Excel, Outlook, Word, PowerPoint, Access, and OneNote along with a dive into the cloud services that come with Office 365. Access Office 365 Make sense of common Office tasks Use Excel, Word, outlook, PowerPoint and more Take advantage of 365 online services If you're a home or business user interested in having a complete reference on the suite, this book has you covered.
Publication Date: 2019-05-29
Essential Excel 2019: A Step-by-Step Guide by Annette Slager and David SlagerCreate, edit, sort, analyze, summarize, and format data as well as graph it in Excel 2019. Chock full of visuals, user-friendly instructions, and reader exercises, this in-depth guide makes it easy for you to get on the bandwagon taking advantage of this powerful software and what it can do. Essential Excel 2019 doesn't mess around. It provides the most clear and concise, but complete, information you need to successfully use the expansive features of Excel in your work environment. The second edition of this soup-to-nuts book delivers essential how-to and reference information for users who are new to Excel, those who want to continue building their Excel skills, or anyone who wants to get up to speed on the latest changes and features in Excel 2019. It is heavy on the practical examples and light on the theory, providing a step-by-step process of what you need to do when you are working with Excel. You will begin with the basics, advancing as each chapter builds on knowledge from previous chapters. You will appreciate real-life examples and exercises that reinforce what you have learned, and upon finishing the book, you will have the confidence to use much more than the typical 10% that most people use in Excel. What You Will Learn Create amazing visualizations of your data Get up to speed on easy and accurate methods for entering data Extract the information you want from imported data; manipulate and format it to meet your needs Export your results to other programs or share with others in the cloud Organize, summarize, filter, and consolidate your data in multiple ways Audit, validate, and protect your data Who This Book Is For Anyone new to Excel or looking to take better advantage of the advanced features of the platform.
Publication Date: 2020
Introducing Microsoft Access Using Macro Programming Techniques: An Introduction to Desktop Database Development by Example by Flavio MorgadoLearn Microsoft Access by building a powerful database application from start to finish. Microsoft Access ships with every version of Office, from Office 2019 to Office 365 Home and Personal editions. Most people understand the value of having a reliable contact database, but few realize that Access can be an incredibly valuable data tool and an excellent gateway for learning database development. Introducing Microsoft Access Using Macro Programming Techniques approaches database development from a practical and experiential standpoint. You will learn important data concepts as you journey through each step of creating a database using Access. The example you will build takes advantage of a massive amount of data from an external source of nutritional data (USDA). You will leverage this freely available repository of information in multiple ways, putting Access to the test in creating powerful business solutions that you can then apply to your own data sets. The tables and records in this database will be used to demonstrate key relational principles in Access, including how to use the relationship window to understand the relationships between tables and how to create different objects such as queries, forms, reports, and macros. Using this approach, you will learn how desktop database development can be a powerful solution to meet your business needs. What You Will Learn Discover the relational database and how it is different from other databases Create database tables and establish relationships between them to create a solid relational database system Understand the concept and importance of referential integrity (RI) in data and databases Use different types of Access queries to extract the information you need from the database Show database information in individual, customized windows using Access Forms Present insightful information about the database using Access Reports Automate your database solutions with macros This book is for anyone who wants to learn how to build a database using Microsoft Access to create customized solutions. It is also useful for those working in IT managing large contact data sets (healthcare, retail, etc.) who need to learn the basics in order to create a professional database solution. Readers should have access to some version of Microsoft Access in order to perform the exercises in this book. Flavio Morgado is a food engineer with an MSc. degree in food science and technology, a VBA professional developer, and a professor of epidemiology, statistics, and medical informatics at UNIFESO, a health sciences university in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Flavio has written more than 30 books, including Programming Excel with VBA (Apress) and Microsoft Word Secrets (Apress), and has translated many technical books. He also loves animals and the exquisite nature of the surrounding rainforest, and when he is not teaching, writing, or developing, he can be found running or riding his mountain bike through the Teresopolis Mountains, followed by his eight dogs, or spending time on the stunningly beautiful beaches of Cabo Frio in Rio de Janeiro.
Publication Date: 2021
Microsoft Word 2019 Step by Step by Joan LambertThe quick way to learn Microsoft Word 2019 and Word for Office 365! This is learning made easy. Get more done quickly with Microsoft Word 2019 and Word for Office 365. Jump in wherever you need answers--brisk lessons and informative screenshots show you exactly what to do, step by step. Create great-looking, well-organized documents to enhance communication Use headings, bookmarks, and footnotes for more intuitive access to knowledge Visualize information by using diagrams and charts Illustrate concepts by using 3D models, icons, and screen clippings Collaborate, track changes, and coauthor documents in real-time Enforce security and privacy in electronic documents Quickly build tables of contents, indexes, and equations Generate individualized emails, letters, labels, envelopes, directories, and catalogs Supercharge efficiency with custom styles, themes, templates, and building blocks Look up just the tasks and lessons you need
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Books in our collection
Microsoft Word in Easy Steps by Scott BashamMicrosoft Word in easy steps will get you up and running in no time, and then reveal all the clever features of this popular word processor. Learn all you need to know about: Creating, structuring and adding styles to your documents; text editing and formatting. Adding and editing pictures, graphics, videos, hyperlinks; and faster shape formatting. Working with equations, symbols and tables. Writing, sharing and collaborating on documents in real time and while on the move using different devices. Proofing, indexing, adding citations, and creating tables of contents. Reviewing and protecting your documents. The must-have guide for all Microsoft Word newbies as well as for those needing to take their word processing skills to the next level! Covers MS Word in Microsoft 365 suite.
Call Number: 005.52 B37 2021 (Youngstown)
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Microsoft 365 in Easy Steps by Michael PriceMicrosoft 365 in easy steps guides you through the essential functions of Microsoft 365 - whether you are new to the Microsoft 365 suite or just upgrading. Covers Microsoft 365 and Office 2019.Microsoft 365 in easy steps will take you through the key features so you can be productive straight away. In bite-size chunks, it shows how to: Create reports, newspapers, cards and booklets Calculate and manage financial matters Perfect presentations and slide shows Email, keep in touch and stay organized Access notes anywhere on any device Collaborate with others to work on documents Packed with handy tips and time-saving shortcuts,Microsoft 365 in easy steps is a great investment for all Microsoft 365 users, whether you are new to the Microsoft 365 suite or just upgrading. Covers Microsoft 365 and Office 2019.
Call Number: 005.5 P75 2021 (Youngstown)
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Access 2019 Bible by Michael Alexander; Richard KusleikaMaster database creation and management Access 2019 Bible is your, comprehensive reference to the world's most popular database management tool. With clear guidance toward everything from the basics to the advanced, this go-to reference helps you take advantage of everything Access 2019 has to offer. Whether you're new to Access or getting started with Access 2019, you'll find everything you need to know to create the database solution perfectly tailored to your needs, with expert guidance every step of the way. The companion website features all examples and databases used in the book, plus trial software and a special offer from Database Creations. Start from the beginning for a complete tutorial, or dip in and grab what you need when you need it. Access enables database novices and programmers to store, organize, view, analyze, and share data, as well as build powerful, integrable, custom database solutions -- but databases can be complex, and difficult to navigate. This book helps you harness the power of the database with a solid understanding of their purpose, construction, and application. Understand database objects and design systems objects Build forms, create tables, manipulate datasheets, and add data validation Use Visual Basic automation and XML Data Access Page design Exchange data with other Office applications, including Word, Excel, and more From database fundamentals and terminology to XML and Web services, this book has everything you need to maximize Access 2019 and build the database you need.
Call Number: 005.7565 A44 2018 (Youngstown)
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Excel 2019 in Easy Steps by Michael PriceExcel 2019 in easy steps will help you get to grips with the latest version of this popular spreadsheet application. Areas covered include: Creating, editing and manipulating worksheets Formulas, Functions and Pivot Tables Handy templates to give you a head start Macros for everyday tasks to save time Charts to get an overview of your data Linking workbooks for automatic updates Using the Excel Online app to share and collaborate on spreadsheets and workbooks Adding images and illustrations to your spreadsheet to impress your colleagues! Whether you're upgrading to Excel 2019 or new to the spreadsheet concept, use this guide to learn the key features constructively and get more out of Excel 2019 - in easy steps!
In this database, there are places to gain some career skills for various fields. One of those is Microsoft Office Tutorials. Click on the link below and then create a free account to use the tutorials.
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,709,749 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.