Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CIS classes guide: For Information Systems Paper

Good for CIS101, Spreadsheet Concepts, Database Concepts, and Advanced Database Concepts.

Prompt of Paper

According to Britannica.com, an Information System is an integrated set of components for collecting, storing, and processing data and for delivering information, knowledge, and digital products.

For this assignment, you will compose a 500-word minimum paper that identifies 3 different companies that use Information Systems. Then for each company, describe the WHAT the company actually uses, the HOW the company uses it, and the WHY the company needs to implement this system within itself.

Example: Dunkin Donuts uses a Radiant POS Information System. This system collects all information on sales, inventory, staff, etc. The company then uses this information for projected ordering, hiring, and sales growth.

In the closing paragraph of your paper, describe the impact that these companies have on our society and how the use of this technology plays a role in their impact. Would their companies have such an impact if they did not use these information systems?

Paper Format:

  • Save As ~ CIS101_YourUsername_InformationPaper
  • Title Page ~ Course Name, Paper Title, Your Name, Total Word Count, Submission Date
  • Paper ~ APA Style (Information on proper formatting can be found here (Links to an external site.))
  • Reference Page ~ Minimum 3 resources required using proper citation. Just listing an URL address will not count as a citation.
  • If you need help creating acceptable citations please visit https://www.citationmachine.net

Apply appropriate technology tools and resources to locate and retrieve information from various sources (e.g., on-line, libraries, etc.) while completing this assignment. Use proper English grammar and spelling, normal page margins, and standard formatting of Microsoft Word. Include at least 3 sources at the end of the paper. Resources to write your paper can be collected from various Internet sites using Google, and you are welcome to visit the [http://egcc%20library/]EGCC Library (Links to an external site.) as well. 

Be sure to review the assignment rubric before submitting to ensure you have met all evaluation criteria.

Some Background Reading Links

If you have read the Britannica article but still are a little unsure about what Information Systems are, these two links are guaranteed to give you a better perspective of what this term means.  Not only that, but these two links will provide some good background research you can use to start your paper off.

Advice for limiting your search to just Academic Journals

As stated in the column with the "Basic Advice," a bit of your research should be concentrated on journal articles.  In order to make sure you've limited your search to just journal articles, follow the advice in the Full Text FAQ then follow the image in the picture below.  Remember to also adjust the earliest publication year to within three years of the current year, in order to get the most up-to-date information.  The below link, also should be noted as a Journal Title that covers Information Systems as it's main focus.  So you probably will find germane information there.

Information Systems (Journal Title)

You are asked to write a paper with a certain amount of words and are scared because 100, 150 or even 200 words sound daunting.  This gives you an idea of approximately how many words those truly are.  (Most if not all resources outside the library.)

Basic Advice

This advice just gets you started with the paper at hand.  Utilize other suggestions peppered throughout this page and in some of the links provided to help you out as well.

  1. You do not need library resources for this.  The library databases will prove to be a very difficult place to find the information you need.  Therefore utilize Google for your search.  However, the information you find must be judged and evaluated.  Use some of the advice found in the Evaluating Information Guide to assess the usefulness and accuracy of the sources.
  2. Here is a list of companies that students have had success with searching in the past: Walmart, CVS Health, eBay, Netflix, Lululemon, Amazon, Target, Walt Disney Company, Toyota, Jiffy Lube, Warby Parker, McDonald’s, Subway.

  3. You could also try to search for types of information systems on Google and then find companies that use these types of systems. For example: Management Information Systems (MIS), Transaction Process System (TPS), Point of Sale (POS) systems, Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) systems, Supply Chain Management (SCM) systems, Customer Relationship Management (CRM) systems, or Knowledge Management Systems (KMS). There are also Decision Support Systems (DSS), Executive Information Systems (EIS), Marketing Information Systems, Accounting Information Systems, Human Resource Management Systems, and Office Automation Systems (OAS).

  4. Say for example you find a list for Customer Relationship System and see that Netflix is one of the companies that use this system (which in fact it does), then what you may want to do, is do a search using the words Netflix + "Customer Relationship System" which will get you articles about the How they use the system and Why the company needs that system.  But remember, assess those articles well, don't choose them willy-nilly.

E-Books

Recommended eBooks

Much of the information found in these e-books probably will be basic in nature, but you will probably find some good points for your research in one of all of them.  So give these a once over and see if any work for you. 

Recommended Database:

If you feel like a general Gateway Search is too broad and you need to be a touch more surgical or you would like to find more computer related articles better for the nature of this course, then this database, listed below, might be for you.

Also, there are plenty of other databases listed on this guide page (and general research advice as well): https://egcc.libguides.com/business-management/researching-a-specific-business.  Click the link or go to the top of this page, click on this tab, and it will lead you to a sub-page with the same page.

Once you click on the Databases, put the phrase "Information Systems" in the search box, exactly as you see it with the phrase in quotes. Then once the results page comes up, please follow the advice in the Full Text FAQ to narrow down the search to those sources you could read online.

Some Guides and an FAQ of Use

If you need to know some basics about how library research works, evaluating information, or knowing how to find full text, use these links..  Of important note: the General Writing Guide has a section on APA!!!