A Dictionary of Chemistry by
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.For this eighth edition, the Dictionary has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date reference work of its kind. Almost 200 entirely new entries have been added, including bioethanol, genome, molecular spintronics, oganesson, phosphorylation, and reticular chemistry. Areas such asanalytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and organic chemistry have been expanded to reflect recent developments in the field.The dictionary's supplementary material has also been enhanced as new diagrams provide readers with useful visual aids, and the appendices have been substantially updated. All web links have been revised and updated, and are easily accessible via the companion website.
Below is a selection of general environmental chemistry books.
Due to the changing nature of this topic, be sure to take note of when the books were published. While some information in older books is still relevant, there may also be information that has become outdated.
The Chemistry of Environmental Engineering by
The focus of this book is the chemistry of environmental engineering and its applications, with a special emphasis on the use of polymers in this field. It explores the creation and use of polymers with special properties such as viscoelasticity and interpenetrating networks; examples of which include the creation of polymer-modified asphalt as well as polymers with bacterial adhesion properties. The text contains the issues of polymerization methods, recycling methods, wastewater treatment, types of contaminants, such as microplastics, organic dyes, and pharmaceutical residues. After a detailed overview of polymers in Chapter 1, their special properties are discussed in the following chapter. Among the topics is the importance of polymers to water purification procedures, since their use in the formation of reverse osmosis membranes do not show biofouling. Chapter 3 details special processing methods, such as atom transfer radical polymerization, enzymatic polymerization, plasma treatment, and several other methods, can be used to meet the urgent demands of industrial applications. Chapter 4 addresses the important environmental issue of recycling methods as they relate to several types of materials such as PET bottles, tire rubbers, asphalt compositions, and other engineering resins. And wastewater treatment is detailed in Chapter 5, in which the types of contaminants, such as microplastics, organic dyes and pharmaceutical residues, are described and special methods for their proper removal are detailed along with types of adsorbents, including biosorbents. Still another important issue for environmental engineering chemistry is pesticides. Chapter 6 is a thorough description of the development and fabrication of special sensors for the detection of certain pesticides. A detailed presentation of the electrical uses of polymer-based composites is given in Chapter 7, which include photovoltaic materials, solar cells, energy storage and dielectric applications, light-emitting polymers, and fast-charging batteries. And recent issues relating to food engineering, such as food ingredient tracing, protein engineering, biosensors and electronic tongues, are presented in Chapter 8. Finally, polymers used for medical applications are described in Chapter 9. These applications include drug delivery, tissue engineering, porous coatings and also the special methods used to fabricate such materials.
Environmental Chemistry by
This book describes advances in this new, fast developing science, which seeks to decipher fundamental mechanisms ruling the behaviour in water, soils, atmosphere, food and living organisms of toxic metals, fossil fuels, pesticides and other organic pollutants. Sections on eco-toxicology, green chemistry, and analytical chemistry round out this thorough survey of conditions and analytical techniques in an emerging specialty.
Environmental Chemistry by
This book presents chemical analyses of our most pressing waste, pollution, and resource problems for the undergraduate or graduate student. The distinctive holistic approach provides both a solid ground in theory, as well as a laboratory manual detailing introductory and advanced experimental applications. The laboratory procedures are presented at microscale conditions, for minimum waste and maximum economy. This work fulfills an urgent need for an introductory text in environmental chemistry combining theory and practice, and is a valuable tool for preparing the next generation of environmental scientists.
Environmental Chemistry for a Sustainable World by
Environmental chemistry is a fast developing science aimed at deciphering fundamental mechanisms ruling the behaviour of pollutants in ecosystems. Applying this knowledge to current environmental issues leads to the remediation of environmental media, and to new, low energy, low emission, sustainable processes. Chapters review analysis and remediation of pollutants such as greenhouse gases, chiral pharmaceuticals, dyes, chlorinated organics, arsenic, toxic metals and pathogen in air, water, plant and soil. Several highlights include the overlooked impact of air pollutants from buildings for health risk, innovative remediation techniques such as bioreactors for gas treatment, electrochemical cleaning of pharmaceuticals, sequestration on Fe-Mn nodules, phytoremediation and photocatalytical inactivation of microbial pathogens. This book will be a valuable source of information for engineers and students developing novel applied techniques to monitor and clean pollutants in air, wastewater, soils and sediments.
Environmental Chemistry for a Sustainable World by
Environmental chemistry is a fast developing science aimed at deciphering fundamental mechanisms ruling the behaviour of pollutants in ecosystems. Applying this knowledge to current environmental issues leads to the remediation of environmental media, and to new, low energy, low emission, sustainable processes. Nanotechnology applications for alternative energies such as solar power, fuel cells, hydrogen and lithium batteries are reviewed in the first section. Recent investigations on carbon nanotubes, nanocatalysts and cyclodextrins disclose unprecedented techniques to monitor and clean pollutants such as greenhouse gases, heavy metals, pesticides, pathogens occurring in water, air and soil. The second section reviews the risks for human health of critical pollutants such as endocrine disruptors, dioxins and heavy metals contaminating seafood and sediments. An exhaustive review of DDT isomers reveals unexpected mechanisms of DDT transfer to fishes. A chapter on pollutant geochronology using river sedimentary archives provides novel insights on pollution history since the beginning of the anthropocene. This book will be a valuable source of information for engineers and students developing novel applied techniques to monitor and clean pollutants in air, wastewater, soils and sediments.
Green Chemistry by
This book presents a large number of organic reactions performed under green conditions, which were earlier performed using anhydrous conditions and various volatile organic solvents. The conditions used involve green solvents like water, super critical carbon dioxide, ionic liquids, polymer-supported reagents, polyethylene glycol and perfluorous liquids. A number of reactions have been conducted in solid state without using any solvent. Most of the reactions have been conducted under microwave irradiations and sonication. In large number of reactions, catalysts like phase transfer catalysts, crown ethers and biocatalysts have been used. Providing the protocols that every laboratory should adopt, this book elaborates the principles of green chemistry and discusses the planning and preparations required to convert to green laboratory techniques. It includes applications relevant to practicing researchers, students and environmental chemists. This book is useful for students (graduate and postgraduate), researchers and industry professionals in the area of chemical engineering, chemistry and allied fields.
Inorganic Chemistry for Geochemistry and Environmental Sciences by
Inorganic Chemistry for Geochemistry and Environmental Sciences: Fundamentals and Applications discusses the structure, bonding and reactivity of molecules and solids of environmental interest, bringing the reactivity of non-metals and metals to inorganic chemists, geochemists and environmental chemists from diverse fields. Understanding the principles of inorganic chemistry including chemical bonding, frontier molecular orbital theory, electron transfer processes, formation of (nano) particles, transition metal-ligand complexes, metal catalysis and more are essential to describe earth processes over time scales ranging from 1 nanosec to 1 Gigayr. Throughout the book, fundamental chemical principles are illustrated with relevant examples from geochemistry, environmental and marine chemistry, allowing students to better understand environmental and geochemical processes at the molecular level. Topics covered include: * Thermodynamics and kinetics of redox reactions * Atomic structure * Symmetry * Covalent bonding, and bonding in solids and nanoparticles * Frontier Molecular Orbital Theory * Acids and bases * Basics of transition metal chemistry including * Chemical reactivity of materials of geochemical and environmental interest Supplementary material is provided online, including PowerPoint slides, problem sets and solutions. Inorganic Chemistry for Geochemistry and Environmental Sciences is a rapid assimilation textbook for those studying and working in areas of geochemistry, inorganic chemistry and environmental chemistry, wishing to enhance their understanding of environmental processes from the molecular level to the global level.
Lignin Chemistry by
The series Topics in Current Chemistry Collections presents critical reviews from the journal Topics in Current Chemistry organized in topical volumes. The scope of coverage is all areas of chemical science including the interfaces with related disciplines such as biology, medicine and materials science. The goal of each thematic volume is to give the non-specialist reader, whether in academia or industry, a comprehensive insight into an area where new research is emerging which is of interest to a larger scientific audience. Each review within the volume critically surveys one aspect of that topic and places it within the context of the volume as a whole. The most significant developments of the last 5 to 10 years are presented using selected examples to illustrate the principles discussed. The coverage is not intended to be an exhaustive summary of the field or include large quantities of data, but should rather be conceptual, concentrating on the methodological thinking that will allow the non-specialist reader to understand the information presented. Contributions also offer an outlook on potential future developments in the field. The chapter "Lignin‑Based Composite Materials for Photocatalysis and Photovoltaics" is available open access under a CC BY 4.0 License via link.springer.com.
A New Paradigm for Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology by
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the theoretical developments and technological breakthroughs that have deepened our understanding of environmental pollution and human health, while also promoting a comprehensive strategy to address these problems. The respective chapters highlight groundbreaking concepts fueling the development of environmental chemistry and toxicology; revolutionary analytical and computational approaches providing novel insights into environmental health; and nature-inspired, innovative engineering solutions for tackling complex hazardous exposures. The book also features a forward-looking perspective on emerging environmental issues that call for new research and regulatory paradigms, laying the groundwork for future advances in the broad field of environmental chemistry and toxicology. Written by respected authorities in the field, A New Paradigm for Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology - From Concepts to Insights will offer an invaluable reference guide for concerned researchers and professional practitioners for years to come.
Oilfield Chemistry and Its Environmental Impact by
Consolidates the many different chemistries being employed to provide environmentally acceptable products through the upstream oil and gas industry This book discusses the development and application of green chemistry in the oil and gas exploration and production industry over the last 25 years -- bringing together the various chemistries that are utilised for creating suitable environmental products. Written by a highly respected consultant to the oil and gas industry -- it introduces readers to the principles and development of green chemistry in general, and the regulatory framework specific to the oil and gas sector in the North Sea area and elsewhere in the world. It also explores economic drivers pertaining to the application of green chemistry in the sector. Topics covered in Oilfield Chemistry and its Environmental Impact include polymer chemistry, surfactants and amphiphiles, phosphorus chemistry, inorganic salts, low molecular weight organics, silicon chemistry and green solvents. It also looks at sustainability in an extractive industry, examining the approaches used and the other methodologies that could be applied in the development of better chemistries, along with discussions about where the application of green chemistry is leading in this industry sector. Provides the reader with a ready source of reference when considering what chemistries are appropriate for application to oilfield problems and looking for green chemistry solutions Brings together the pertinent regulations which workers in the field will find useful, alongside the chemistries which meet the regulatory requirements Written by a well-known specialist with a combined knowledge of chemistry, manufacturing procedures and environmental issues Oilfield Chemistry and its Environmental Impact is an excellent book for oil and gas industry professionals as well as scientists, academic researchers, students and policy makers.
Environmental Organic Chemistry for Engineers by
Environmental Organic Chemistry for Engineers clearly defines the principles of environmental organic chemistry and the role they play in forming remediation strategies. In this reference, the author explores parameter estimation methods, the thermodynamics, and kinetics needed to predict the fate, transports, and reactivity of organic compounds in air, water, and soils. The book's four part treatment starts with the classification of organic molecules and physical properties of natural organic matter, halocarbons, phenols, polyaromatic hydrocarbons, organophosphates, and surfactants. An overview of remediation technologies and a discussion of the interactions that lead to physical properties that affect chemical distribution in the environment is also detailed, as are the important reaction classes of organic molecules, including substituent effects and structure and activity relationships found in Part Two and Three. Part four is devoted to the strengths and weaknesses of different remediation technologies and when they should be employed. Clearly defines the principles of environmental organic chemistry and the role they play in forming remediation strategies Includes the tools and methods for classifying environmental contaminants found in air, water, and soil Presents a wide-range of remediation technologies and when they should be deployed for maximum effect
Applications of Environmental Aquatic Chemistry by
Professionals and students who come from disciplines other than chemistry need a concise yet reliable guide that explains key concepts in environmental chemistry, from the fundamental science to the necessary calculations for applying them. Updated and reorganized, Applications of Environmental Aquatic Chemistry: A Practical Guide, Third Edition provides the essential background for understanding and solving the most frequent environmental chemistry problems. Diverse and self-contained chapters offer a centralized and easily navigable framework for finding useful data tables that are ordinarily scattered throughout the literature. Worked examples provide step-by-step details for frequently used calculations, drawing on case histories from real-world environmental applications. Chapters also offer tools for calculating quick estimates of important quantities and practice problems that apply the principles to different conditions. This practical guide provides an ideal basis for self-study, as well as short courses involving the movement and fate of contaminants in the environment. In addition to extensive reorganization and updating, the Third Edition includes a new chapter, Nutrients and Odors: Nitrogen, Phosphorus, and Sulfur, two new appendices, Solubility of Slightly Soluble Metal Salts and Glossary of Acronyms and Abbreviations Used in this Book, and new material and case studies on remediation, stormwater management, algae growth and treatment, odor control, and radioisotopes.