See the Books & eBooks page for more.
Foundations of Rural Public Health in America by
Foundations of Rural Public Health in America spans a wide variety of important issues affecting rural public health, including consumer and family health, environmental and occupational health, mental health, substance abuse, disease prevention and control, rural health care delivery systems, and health disparities. Divided into five sections, the book covers understanding rural communities, public health systems and policies for rural communities, health disparities in rural communities and among special populations, and advancing rural health including assessment, planning and intervention. Written by a multidisciplinary team of experienced scholars and practitioners, this authoritative text comprehensively covers rural health issues today. Key Features- Several topics covered meet the required competencies for an MPH curriculum (e.g. community needs assessment, partnership or coalition development, social justice, etc.).- Comprehensive coverage includes current issues in mental health, LGBTQ populations, COVID-19, commercial agribusiness, adolescent health, rural hospitals, and more.- Hands-on classroom activities for students and discussion questions provides opportunities for active learning.- Instructor's manual, test banks and additional discussion questions along with PowerPoint slides provide helpful resources for course planning and preparation. - Each new print copy includes Navigate eBook Access enabling you to read your digital textbook online or offline from your computer, tablet, or mobile device.
The Frontier Nurse Practitioner by
This pioneering text is the first to present a framework for remote-rural and frontier nurse practitioners (NPs), with a focus on the political and contextual forces that influence practice. This groundbreaking text distills contextual knowledge required for frontier practice, describes how it differs from work in more populated locations, and discusses the special skills and training needed in this setting. It addresses the art and ethics of frontier practice, the relationship between federal policy and frontier health care, and how to advocate for adequate health care in remote areas. Also included are rich narrative case studies, in which NPs vividly describe why they decided to practice in the frontier environment. They also discuss the educational and work experience needed for frontier practice, the potential complications of treating patients who are also friends and neighbors, and how to manage emergency medical and trauma experiences in remote environments. Key Features: Provides the first model for frontier and remote-rural NP practice based on narrative evidenceIntroduces the new frontier and remote (FAR) methodology and demonstrates its use in nursing researchIllustrates how narrative nursing knowledge contributes to the discipline and informs theoryProvides a systematic review of key literature relating to frontier NP practiceDiscusses the link between federal policy and rural health care and its impact on NP practiceDistills educational and policy recommendations from the practice experiences of frontier NPs
Health Disparities in the United States by
Challenging students to think critically about the complex web of social forces that leads to health disparities in the United States. The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide disparities persist between social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. In this revised edition of Health Disparities in the United States, Donald A. Barr provides extensive new data about the ways low socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact to create and perpetuate these health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term. This thoroughly updated edition focuses on a new challenge the United States last experienced more than half a century ago: successive years of declining life expectancy. Barr addresses the causes of this decline, including what are commonly referred to as "deaths of despair"--from opiate overdose or suicide. Exploring the growing role geography plays in health disparities, Barr asks why people living in rural areas suffer the greatest increases in these deaths. He also analyzes recent changes under the Affordable Care Act and considers the literature on how race and ethnicity affect the way health care providers evaluate and treat patients. As both a physician and a sociologist, Barr is uniquely positioned to offer rigorous medical explanations alongside sociological analysis. An essential text for courses in public health, health policy, and sociology, this compelling book is a vital teaching tool and a comprehensive reference for social science and medical professionals.
Mental Health and Wellbeing by
Mental Health and Wellbeing is a timely new book that explores these increasingly important subjects from an intercultural perspective. This is essential reading for anyone studying or working in mental health at this time of unprecedented levels of human migration and when mutual understanding of diverse cultural perspectives is of vital importance.
Rural Nursing, Sixth Edition by
Now in its sixth edition, this authoritative classic remains the only text to provide a wide range of essential information for nurses who work in sparsely populated and vulnerable geographical areas. Focusing on rural nursing concepts, theory, research, education, public health, and healthcare delivery from a national and international perspective, the sixth edition is distinguished by its emphasis on practical applications. With ten completely new chapters and substantial revisions, it disseminates the skills and knowledge required for effective nursing practice, education, and research regarding the evolving rural and frontier setting. Written for undergraduate and graduate nursing students, the book highlights the challenges of frontier nursing and the relative opportunities for innovative practice in rural healthcare. The effect and spread of the coronavirus on nonmetropolitan areas is covered throughout the text. Topics for discussion at the beginning of each chapter and case studies throughout the text promote critical thinking. An Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides accompany the text. New to the Sixth Edition: New Chapters on Theory and Research, Emergency Medical Services, Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention, Interprofessional Education, FNP Competencies, Transcultural Service-Learning, and more! Incorporates the new challenges that coronavirus created and how to address them. Greater focus on practical applications for rural nursing practice Increased coverage of telehealth, evidence-based policy, and education programs Updated models of practice and research Key Features: Covers critical issues for nursing professionals who are practicing, teaching, and conducting research in underserved areas. Expands understanding of the cultural characteristics of rural persons and places. Provides single-source reference of rural information for rural nurses, nursing students, faculty, and researchers. Authored by noted educators and practitioners of rural nursing from across the United States and Canada. Includes an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoints!
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Ensure Culturally Competent, Contextually Meaningful Care for Every Patient Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care is your key to ensuring safe, ethical and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps you master transcultural theories, models and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment. Updated content familiarizes you with changes in the healthcare delivery system, new research studies and theoretical advances. Evidence-Based Practice boxes ground concepts in the latest research studies and highlight clinical implications for effective practice. Case Studies , based on the authors' actual clinical experiences and research findings, help you translate concepts to clinical applications across diverse healthcare settings. Review questions and learning activities in each chapter inspire critical thinking and allow you to apply your knowledge. Chapter objectives and key terms keep you focused on each chapter's most important concepts.
eBooks from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania, Rutgers and Penn State presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
eBooks in subjects including earth and planetary sciences, engineering and computing, life and biological sciences, medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
MIT Press Direct eBook collection through 2021. MIT Press Direct Description: Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
In 2021, the State Library of Ohio awarded American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) grant funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to OhioLINK for the purchase of a shared collection of unlimited-user, perpetual-access Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) e-books.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
See Articles & Journals page for more information on searching for articles.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 451 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is a core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Education Research Complete offers a large collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
EGCC access to Films on Demand includes the following packages: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science and Math, and Allied Health. There are approximately 27,000 streaming titles in this package.
Films on Demand features streaming content from: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, BBC, National Geographic, The NewsHour, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Education, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.
(scroll down to click the Counseling & Psychotherapy box to view all available videos in the collection)
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.