American Jurisprudence, 2d
This encyclopedic text covers procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural. Consisting of over 430 topic headings (titles), the encyclopedia entries collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 4th ed. by
Explains legal terms and concepts in everyday language. Covers a wide variety of topics including specific legislation, persons, entities, movements, and events that have shaped the U.S. legal system and influenced public perception of American law.
The following are databases in our collection that contain eBooks.
Below is a list of EBSCO eBooks. To download these eBooks, you will need a MyEBSCO account. The links below explain how to create a MyEBSCO account and how to download an EBSCO eBook.
A Practical Introduction to Paralegal Studies by
A thorough exploration of the entire paralegal profession. Covers the fundamentals of the paralegal profession and the American legal system, along with the paralegal skills essential for success in the workplace.
Basic Bankruptcy Law for Paralegals by
Presents succinct descriptions of the bankruptcy system, with an emphasis on the paralegal's role at every stage of a bankruptcy proceeding. Focuses on the nuts and bolts of a Chapter 7 consumer bankruptcy case to provide paralegals with a general understanding of other types of bankruptcy processes.
Basic Contract Law for Paralegals by
A clear, comprehensive, and straightforward introduction to all of the basics of contract law, specifically designed for paralegal students. Includes an appendix of 12 sample contracts.
Basic Wills, Trusts, and Estates for Paralegals by
A straightforward introduction to all of the basics of wills, trusts, and estates law was specifically designed for paralegal students. Provides a helpful point of reference for learning the intricacies of estate planning.
Business Organizations for Paralegal by
A comprehensive overview of business organizations for paralegals, presented in a student-friendly format.
Concise Guide to Paralegal Ethics by
Provides succinct coverage that focuses on paralegal ethics and professional conduct.
Criminal Law and Procedure for the Paralegal by
Using actual examples from practice, this book teaches students about the real-world experience of the paralegal, with coverage of local, state, and federal criminal cases.
Fundamentals of Criminal Practice by
Focuses on providing the skills and knowledge paralegal students need to function effectively in careers related to criminal law. From investigation and discovery, to trial and sentencing, this text traces every step of the way through five hypothetical criminal cases.
Law Office Management for Paralegals by
A comprehensive introduction to law office management, emphasizing ethics, law office culture, law office systems, and "soft skills," such as communications and critical thinking.
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals by
Emphasizes the skills and issues that paralegals encounter in practice. Designed specifically for paralegal students, this text teaches cutting-edge research skills, writing style, and proper citation form.
Real Estate and Property Law for Paralegals by
Complete introduction to real estate and property law, designed with the paralegal student in mind.
The following print books are available in the EGCC Library's on-campus library collections. If you are an off-campus student, we recommend checking with your local public law library for more print books related to the paralegal field.
The Empowered Paralegal by
This book provides step-by-step techniques for managing time, docket calendars, files, clients, and litigation, as well as providing sound guidance on managing the work relationship with attorneys and paralegal professionalism.
Paralegal Study Guide: 2020-2021 by
An exam prep book and practice test questions for the Paralegal Advanced Competency Exam (PACE)
Paralegal Today by
A concise and easy-to-follow textbook for beginning paralegal students. Contains detailed coverage and a variety of excellent student aids.
The U.S. Legal System by
This book provides an overview and introduction to the basics of the U.S. Legal System. The chapters cover the Constitution, the Judicial System, the sources of U.S. Law, case law, and civil dispute resolution.
Criminal Law and Procedure for the Paralegal by
Using actual examples from practice, Criminal Law and Procedure for the Paralegal, Third Edition, teaches students about the real-world experience of the paralegal, with coverage of local, state, and federal criminal cases. Working with the various types of cases presented in this book familiarizes students with the role of the paralegal in the process of investigation, prosecution, and defense, in criminal cases. Edward Carter's successful building-block approach explains the basic elements of all criminal offenses and how those elements are used to define crimes. New to the Third Edition: Updated throughout, with deeper examination of certain subjects and new material reflecting the evolution of certain areas of the law in response to technology. New case cites throughout, with discussion of Carpenter v. United States, Madison v. Alabama, and Timbs v. Indiana decisions. Expanded discussion of universal jurisdiction in Chapter 6. New section on searches of electronically stored information In Chapter 16. Examines the two different views courts have developed about how the rules relating to overbreadth and particularity should be applied to searches of electronically stored information, discusses the Stored Communications Act of 1986 and the 2018 amendment to the Act relating to search warrants for stored communications of "U.S. persons," and contains a discussion of the application of the plain view rule to searches of electronically stored information. Expanded discussion of the cruel and unusual punishment clause of the Eighth Amendment in Chapter 21 now covers when that clause prohibits the execution of a person who becomes incompetent after being sentenced to death, along with consideration of the application of the excessive fines clause to civil forfeitures. Professors and students will benefit from: A sensible, four-part organization: Introduction to the criminal justice system Distinction between criminal law and criminal procedure Criminal law Criminal procedure Clear explanations of the basic elements of all criminal offenses, including an accessible, systematic approach to analyzing the legal nature of any criminal offense. Edited cases that illustrate key concepts. Eye on Ethics and Historical Perspective sidebars. Helpful pedagogy, including chapter objectives, definitions in the margins, and review questions. An integrated treatment of white-collar crime. Broad coverage of a wide range of criminal investigations, from police investigations to administrative and grand jury investigations.