The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical and veterinary information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
Search medical terms and abbreviations with the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical dictionary from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster. Master today's medical vocabulary. Become an informed health-care consumer!
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
There are other guides in our system that should prove useful for helping you out in this assignment.
In this project you will construct a PowerPoint presentation on a disease that interests you. You should include information about the background of the disease, etiology, pathogenesis, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments options.
You should search for the disease you are interested in simply by putting the disease in quotes. "Parkinson's disease"
You may be in luck and be able to have information in the form of a "Research Starter." This may be good to get the first element of your presentation taken care of, background information.
You may want to do plenty of smaller searches for the disease and the other elements of this presentation. For example:
"Parkinson's disease" AND etiology
"Parkinson's disease" AND pathogenesis
In the case of signs and symptoms, you should search signs or symptoms instead. "Parkinson's disease" AND signs OR symptoms
Investigating Human Diseases with the Microbiome by
Investigating Human Diseases with the Microbiome: Metagenomics Bench to Bedside is a summary of underlying principles for human health and disease studies from a microbiome point-of-view. From birth to old age, microbiomes in fecal, oral/nasal, vaginal, and skin samples contain important information that can predict disease risks in the future. Tissue samples also contain microbes that are relevant for diseases. The microbiome connects genetic and environmental factors and is poised to greatly facilitate precision medicine, including prevention, diagnosis and effective treatment of many complex diseases. Based in traditional microbiology and adding a more wholistic view of the advent of high-throughput sequencing, this reference poses the key questions of the total number of microbial cells and their distribution in the human body while also considering concepts from macroecology and from causal reasoning. An entire chapter is dedicated to methods, providing hands-on information for important considerations when collecting samples for metagenomic studies. Provides a consistent framework for the study of the microbiome at various body sites based on over 10 years of human microbiome studies Consolidates relevant information for readers looking to get an idea of microbes for human health, elucidating why one might want to include the study of the microbiome in current or future research efforts Provides technical considerations for designing and carrying out microbiome research and applications
Vaccine Design: Volume 1, Vaccines for Human Diseases: Methods and Protocols
This volume provides a practical guide providing step-by-step protocol to design and develop vaccines for human diseases. Divided into three volumes, Volume 1: Vaccines for Human Diseases guides readers through an introductory section on future challenges for vaccinologists and the immunological mechanism of vaccines. Chapters focus on design of human vaccines for viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases as well as tumor vaccines. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and practical, Vaccine Design: Methods and Protocols, Second Edition, Volume 1: Vaccines for Human Diseases aims to be a useful practical guide to researchers to help further their study in this field.
Encyclopedia of Virology: New Research (6 Volume Set) by
This six volume set presents important research on virology. Some of the topics addressed include: the fundamentals of Zika virus preparation for pandemic diseases West Nile virus the management of the spread of Ebola virus disease human papillomaviruses viral hemorrhagic fevers the treatment of avian influenza virus bronchiolitis
Oral Epidemiology: A Textbook on Oral Health Conditions, Research Topics and Methods by
This intermediate textbook on oral epidemiology is designed to meet the needs of advanced students in the fields of Dentistry and Oral Health and dentists in the early stages of their career. Readers will find detailed information on the epidemiology of individual diseases and disorders and on hot topics and methods in oral health research. The extensive first part of the book explores the international epidemiological literature regarding a wide range of conditions, from dental caries and periodontal diseases to halitosis and malocclusions. In each case, the prevalence, disease-specific measures, and associated factors are identified. Attention is then focused on cutting-edge research topics in oral epidemiology, such as the intriguing mechanisms linking oral diseases and chronic general diseases, life course epidemiology, and the role of socioeconomic determinants of oral health. The final part of the book is devoted to description of the epidemiological methods and tools applied in the field of oral health. Here, the coverage includes validation of questionnaires, data collection and data analyses, and systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology by
"Comprehensive and comprehensible, but also encouraging -- informed by the hope and belief that informed its creation." -Cancer Amid sweeping advances in the science and treatment of cancer, the TEXTBOOK OF CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY offers students and professionals a definitive, systematic resource for understanding the factors affecting all types of human cancer. This fully updated new edition offers an overview of epidemiology's key concepts and methods as they relate to cancer (including the emerging potential of biomarkers) as well as site-specific chapters on individual cancers' natural history, pathology, descriptive epidemiology, and etiology. Taken together, these chapters forge connections between established science and the ongoing evolution of this dynamic field. Crisply and concisely written by an assembly of internationally recognized researchers, the TEXTBOOK OF CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY offers a superlative introduction to the subject's consensuses and controversies for those embarking on their careers and a ready reference for seasoned professionals.
Phantom Plague by
Harvard Public Health Magazine, Best Public Health Books and Journalism of 2022 The definitive social history of tuberculosis, from its origins as a haunting mystery to its modern reemergence that now threatens populations around the world. It killed novelist George Orwell, Eleanor Roosevelt, and millions of others - rich and poor. Desmond Tutu, Amitabh Bachchan, and Nelson Mandela survived it, just. For centuries, tuberculosis has ravaged cities and plagued the human body. In Phantom Plague, Vidya Krishnan, traces the history of tuberculosis from the slums of 19th-century New York to modern Mumbai. In a narrative spanning century, Krishnan shows how superstition and folk-remedies, made way for scientific understanding of TB, such that it was controlled and cured in the West. The cure was never available to black and brown nations. And the tuberculosis bacillus showed a remarkable ability to adapt - so that at the very moment it could have been extinguished as a threat to humanity, it found a way back, aided by authoritarian government, toxic kindness of philanthropists, science denialism and medical apartheid. Krishnan's original reporting paints a granular portrait of the post-antibiotic era as a new, aggressive, drug resistant strain of TB takes over. Phantom Plague is an urgent, riveting and fascinating narrative that deftly exposes the weakest links in our battle against this ancient foe.
Modern Epidemics by
COVID-19 has made us all aware of the fact that we live in a world full of invisible enemies. Normally, we don't even realize they're there, but from time to time one of these microscopic creatures becomes powerful enough to turn everything upside down. What are these invisible enemies, and how can we prepare ourselves for the pandemics of the future? A specialist in the cellular biology of diseases, Salvador Macip explains, in a language everyone can understand, what it means to share the planet with millions of microbes - some wonderful allies, others terrible foes. He provides a concise account of epidemics that changed history, and focuses on the great modern plagues that are still causing millions of deaths every year, from influenza, TB and malaria to COVID-19. Macip also examines the methods we have used - from vaccines to improved sanitation and social distancing - to try to control these invisible enemies. This authoritative overview of modern epidemics and the pathogens that cause them will be essential reading for anyone who wants to understand our world today, a world in which some of the greatest threats to the human species come from the invisible microbes with which we share this planet.
Diseases and Illnesses Transmitted to Humans by Animals, Insects and Contaminated Food and Water by
This special edition deals with the various diseases that are spread by animals, insects, and through food and water contamination, and the identification and outbreak of animal-, insect-, food-, and water-borne diseases.
Diabetes Handbook and Resource Guide by
The fifth volume in the new Grey House Health & Wellness series, this new title is designed to bring together necessary and valuable information for the millions of individuals, family members, and caregivers affected by diabetes. For those providing care and support to individuals with diabetes, this resource provides easy-to-understand and helpful information about diabetes and connects readers to many sources of support. This comprehensive work comes at a time when 34.2 million Americans, or 10.5% of the population, have diabetes. Diabetes Handbook & Resource Guide combines valuable educational information for patients and their families. It offers statistics, both national and state, as well as discussions about prevention, treatment, and outcomes.
Cardiovascular Disease Handbook and Resource Guide by
This comprehensive work comes at a time when 500,000 Americans die of heart disease every year. Cardiovascular Disease Handbook & Resource Guide combines valuable educational information for patients and their families. It offers statistics, both national and state by state, as well as discussions about prevention, treatment and outcomes. It includes details on 32 types of cardiovascular disease plus information on a number of conditions that can cause, or affect it, including substance abuse and obesity.
Nutrition, Obesity and Eating Disorders Handbook and Resource Guide by
Nutrition, Obesity & Eating Disorders Handbook & Resource Guide is a necessary reference for public and academic libraries, as well as health care collections, providing information crucial to those looking for direction on how to lead a healthy lifestyle, those who suffer from obesity, those struggling with an eating disorder, as well as their families and support network, caseworkers, social workers, and other health care providers.
Visual Impairment and Rehabilitation by
Provides an overview about disability and explains how visual disability affects people. It provides information about vision health related research and surveillance. Conditions that lead to visual impairment such as amblyopia, astigmatism, blepharospasm, cataracts, coloboma, glaucoma, pink eye, retinoblastoma, Usher syndrome and so on are discussed in detail.
Respiratory Disorders Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of respiratory disorders, along with tips for coping with chronic lung disease. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.