Below is a sample of the resources available through the EGCC Library and Information Commons. These resources are intended to help you begin your research on topics in the Fire Science field. Should you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
Find books in the EGCC and OhioLINK collection by using our Gateway Search.
Try using the following search terms:
Below are are few examples of books within our collection.
Fully Involved Leadership by
One of the fire service's most well-known and respected leaders reveals principles and events that have shaped his and other chief's careers and leadership values that no "cookie-cutter" leadership or management book can provide. The real-world experiences and lessons that are vividly detailed in the book provide a roadmap for any aspiring firefighter wishing to be promoted, a company or chief officer looking to go to the next level, or a fire chief who wishes to further develop their leadership skills. Fully Involved Leadership, written by Chief Gary Ludwig addresses the tenets of leading firefighters at all ranks and levels, and provides a blueprint for not only motivating firefighters but inspiring them; not showing them how much you know, but how much you care; that leadership is not a position or title - it is an action and examples; reminding you that rank does not equate to leadership, the inverted table of organization, and much more! Fully Involved Leadership is filled with powerful leadership topics and at its core addresses the values of trust; the two key qualities needed to be a fire service leader - character and competence; how to keep your emotions in check by using I before E - intelligence before emotions; how to keep from making a wrong decision; why it is important to show honor to your firefighters, plus a whole lot more! Chief Ludwig offers warm and engaging stories of not only his experiences but other chief officers and how they learned from their mistakes when it comes to leadership. Chief Ludwig provides insights and hard lessons learned that makes you reflect upon the question, "Who would you follow if your life depended upon it?
Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service by
In 1971, Francis L. Brannigan created Building Construction for the Fire Service, a groundbreaking resource offering the most comprehensive knowledge of building construction available to fire fighters. With his dedication to fire fighter safety and saving lives, the legacy of Frank Brannigan continues with the sixth edition of Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service.The Sixth Edition meets and exceeds the National Fire Academy's Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) course objectives and outcomes for the Associate's Core-Level course called Building Construction for Fire Protection (C0275). Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service, Sixth Edition is an integral resource for fire officers, instructors, those studying for promotion, individuals taking civil service examinations, fire science students, and both current and prospective fire fighters. It is part of an integrated teaching and learning system that combines dynamic features and content to support instructors and to help prepare students for their career in firefighting. This new edition features:Chapter 7 Non-Fire Building Systems (new) describes several categories of non-fire systems in buildings, including electrical systems, plumbing systems, conveyances, refrigeration systems, and Ventilation (HVAC) systems, in addition to the hazards the systems pose for fire fighters.New or expanded content on:Aluminum-clad polyethylene panelsScaffoldingCranes and their useModular construction using stacked shipping containersLight-weight wood-frame constructionFire escapes and stair designCross-laminated timber and heavy timber constructionMethods of protecting steel against fireNew "green" materials and methods such as hempcrete and biofiltersStructural wall framing systems with insulated studsAir-supported structures for sporting eventsMassive single-structure lightweight wood frame apartment buildingsFirefighting recommendations in lightweight wood frame residential buildingsBuilding construction and its relationship to flow pathHistorical perspective on fire resistance testing and its shortcomingsRoofing material testsSafety issues of post-fire investigation of significantly damaged/collapsed buildingsScenario-Based Learning. Case Studies are found at the beginning and end of each chapter to encourage and foster critical-thinking skills.Tactical Considerations. This feature offers suggestions for firefighting, safety concerns, and related additional material for application on the fireground. Wrap-Up. Chapter Summaries, Key Terms, Challenging Questions, and Suggesting Readings promote comprehension and mastery of course objectives and outcomes.
Fire Officer's Handbook of Tactics by
With his fifth edition, Chief John Norman offers lessons learned during his extensive and time-honored career. Chief Norman imparts wisdom and experience by offering advice informed by actual outcomes from the fireground. This guide continues to be invaluable for firefighters aspiring to the officer level and those seeking to promote safety and effectiveness in their organization and the communities they serve by improving their own skills. This fifth edition conveys valuable information gained over the past several years from scientific research relating to the tactics that we use to the changes that have taken place within our communities. Failure to recognize change and adapt to it places a fire department at a great disadvantage and can cost lives and property. The community changes that most directly affect the fire service today include faster, hotter, and more toxic fires and significantly reduced staffing in many fire departments. These are inescapable facts. Our challenge is to use the knowledge that is at our disposal to select the right tools, technologies, and tactics to safely and successfully adapt to and overcome these challenges.
Search for eBooks using the following databases:
Below are a few examples of eBooks available in our collection.
Dust Explosion and Fire Prevention Handbook by
Up-to-date and thorough coverage of the causes, repercussions, and prevention of dust explosions and fires by one of the most well-respected environmental scientists and worker safety litigation specialists in the world This handy volume is a ready "go to" reference for the chemical engineer, plant manager, process engineer, or chemist working in industrial settings where dust explosions could be a concern, such as the process industries, coal industry, metal industry, and others. Though dust explosions have been around since the Earth first formed, and they have been studied and written about since the 1500s, they are still an ongoing concern and occur almost daily somewhere in the world, from bakeries to fertilizer plants. Dust explosions can have devastating consequences, and, recently, there have been new industrial standards and guidelines that reflect safer, more reasonable methods for dealing with materials to prevent dust explosions and resultant fires. This book not only presents these new developments for engineers and managers, it offers in-depth coverage of the subject, starting with a complete overview of dust--how it forms, when it is in danger of exploding, and how this risk can be mitigated--as well as a general overview of explosions and the environments that foster them. Dust Explosion and Fire Prevention Handbook covers individual industries, such as metal and coal; offers an appendix that outlines best practices for preventing dust explosions and fire and how these risks can be systematically mitigated by these implementations; and incorporates a handy glossary of terms for easy access, not only for the veteran engineer or chemist, but for the student or new hire. This ready reference is one of the most useful texts that an engineer or chemist could have at their side. With so many accidents still occurring in industry today, this must-have volume pinpoints the most common, sure-fire ways for engineers, scientists, and chemists working with these hazardous materials to go about their daily business safely, efficiently, and profitably, with no extraneous tables or theoretical treatises.
Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured by
Based on the National EMS Education Standards and the 2015 CPR/ECC Guidelines, this book offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures students' comprehension and encourages critical thinking.
Fire Protection: Detection, Notification, and Suppression by 
Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings by
Environmental concerns and advances in architectural technologies have lead to a greater number of green buildings or buildings with green, eco-friendly elements. However, from a practical standpoint, there is no incident reporting system in the world that tracks data on fire incidents in green buildings. Fire safety objectives are not explicitly considered in most green rating schemes, and green design features have been associated with photovoltaic panels and roof materials, lightweight timber frame buildings, and combustible insulation materials. Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings is the result of an extensive global literature review that sought to identify issues related to green building elements or features and ways to ensure those issues are tracked for future improvement.The book identifies actual incidents of fires in green buildings or involving green building elements, points out issues with green building elements that would increase fire risk, clarifies reports and studies that address ways to reduce fire risk in green design elements, and compares research studies that explicitly incorporate fire safety into green building design. The authors also pinpoint gaps and specific research needs associated with understanding and addressing fire risk and hazards with green building design. Using their data, the authors developed a set of matrices relating these green attributes and potential fire hazards. With these comprehensive tools, potential mitigation strategies for addressing the relative increase in fire risk or hazard associated with the green building elements and features have been identified.Fire Safety Challenges of Green Buildings is intended for practitioners as a tool for analyzing building safety issues in green architecture and developing methods for tracking data related to green design elements and their potential hazards. Researchers working in a related field will also find the book valuable.
Firestorm by
"Frightening...Firestorm comes alive when Struzik discusses the work of offbeat scientists." --New York Times Book Review "Comprehensive and compelling." --Booklist "A powerful message." --Kirkus "Should be required reading." --Library Journal For two months in the spring of 2016, the world watched as wildfire ravaged the Canadian town of Fort McMurray. Firefighters named the fire "the Beast." It acted like a mythical animal, alive with destructive energy, and they hoped never to see anything like it again. Yet it's not a stretch to imagine we will all soon live in a world in which fires like the Beast are commonplace. A glance at international headlines shows a remarkable increase in higher temperatures, stronger winds, and drier lands- a trifecta for igniting wildfires like we've rarely seen before. This change is particularly noticeable in the northern forests of the United States and Canada. These forests require fire to maintain healthy ecosystems, but as the human population grows, and as changes in climate, animal and insect species, and disease cause further destabilization, wildfires have turned into a potentially uncontrollable threat to human lives and livelihoods. Our understanding of the role fire plays in healthy forests has come a long way in the past century. Despite this, we are not prepared to deal with an escalation of fire during periods of intense drought and shorter winters, earlier springs, potentially more lightning strikes and hotter summers. There is too much fuel on the ground, too many people and assets to protect, and no plan in place to deal with these challenges. In Firestorm, journalist Edward Struzik visits scorched earth from Alaska to Maine, and introduces the scientists, firefighters, and resource managers making the case for a radically different approach to managing wildfire in the 21st century. Wildfires can no longer be treated as avoidable events because the risk and dangers are becoming too great and costly. Struzik weaves a heart-pumping narrative of science, economics, politics, and human determination and points to the ways that we, and the wilder inhabitants of the forests around our cities and towns, might yet flourish in an age of growing megafires.
The Future of Emergency Management After 2020 by
This book looks at the new normal post-2020 and at the issues that alter the scope, complexity, and priorities of emergency management. Faculty, students, and practitioners of emergency management will find this book pertinent and valuable.
Handbook of Building Materials for Fire Protection by
This handbook is completely devoted to building and construction materials in the field of fire engineering. It covers the typical properties of selected building materials and provides all the information and guidelines necessary to synthesize, manufacture and utilize materials.
Standpipe Systems for Fire Protection by
This important new manual goes beyond the published NFPA standards on installation of standpipe systems to include the rules in the International Building Code, municipal fire codes, the National Fire Code of Canada, and information on inspection, testing, and maintenance of standpipe systems. Also covered are the interactions between standpipe and sprinkler systems, since these important fire protection systems are so frequently installed together. Illustrated with design examples and practical applications to reinforce the learning experience, this is the go-to reference for engineers, architects, design technicians, building inspectors, fire inspectors, and anyone that inspects, tests or maintains fire protection systems. Fire marshals and plan review authorities that have the responsibility for reviewing and accepting plans and hydraulic calculations for standpipe systems are also an important audience, as are firefighters who actually use standpipe systems. As a member of the committees responsible for some of these documents, Isman also covers the rules of these standards and codes as they are written, but also provides valuable insight as to the intent behind the rules. A noted author and lecturer, Professor Isman was an engineer with the National Fire Sprinkler Association (NFSA), is an elected Fellow of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), and currently Clinical Professor in the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at University of Maryland.
Structural Design for Fire Safety by
Structural Design for Fire Safety, 2nd edition Andrew H. Buchanan, University of Canterbury, New Zealand Anthony K. Abu, University of Canterbury, New Zealand A practical and informative guide to structural fire engineering This book presents a comprehensive overview of structural fire engineering. An update on the first edition, the book describes new developments in the past ten years, including advanced calculation methods and computer programs. Further additions include: calculation methods for membrane action in floor slabs exposed to fires; a chapter on composite steel-concrete construction; and case studies of structural collapses. The book begins with an introduction to fire safety in buildings, from fire growth and development to the devastating effects of severe fires on large building structures. Methods of calculating fire severity and fire resistance are then described in detail, together with both simple and advanced methods for assessing and designing for structural fire safety in buildings constructed from structural steel, reinforced concrete, or structural timber. Structural Design for Fire Safety, 2nd edition bridges the information gap between fire safety engineers, structural engineers and building officials, and it will be useful for many others including architects, code writers, building designers, and firefighters. Key features: * Updated references to current research, as well as new end-of-chapter questions and worked examples. *Authors experienced in teaching, researching, and applying structural fire engineering in real buildings. * A focus on basic principles rather than specific building code requirements, for an international audience. An essential guide for structural engineers who wish to improve their understanding of buildings exposed to severe fires and an ideal textbook for introductory or advanced courses in structural fire engineering.
Temperature Calculation in Fire Safety Engineering by
This book provides a consistent scientific background to engineering calculation methods applicable to analyses of materials reaction-to-fire, as well as fire resistance of structures. Several new and unique formulas and diagrams which facilitate calculations are presented. It focuses on problems involving high temperature conditions and, in particular, defines boundary conditions in a suitable way for calculations. A large portion of the book is devoted to boundary conditions and measurements of thermal exposure by radiation and convection. The concepts and theories of adiabatic surface temperature and measurements of temperature with plate thermometers are thoroughly explained. Also presented is a renewed method for modeling compartment fires, with the resulting simple and accurate prediction tools for both pre- and post-flashover fires. The final chapters deal with temperature calculations in steel, concrete and timber structures exposed to standard time-temperature fire curves. Useful temperature calculation tools are included, and several examples demonstrate how the finite element code TASEF can be used to calculate temperature in various configurations. Temperature Calculation in Fire Safety Engineering is intended for researchers, students, teachers, and consultants in fire safety engineering. It is also suitable for others interested in analyzing and understanding fire, fire dynamics, and temperature development. Review questions and exercises are provided for instructor use.
Applying Occupational Psychology to the Fire Service by
Applying Occupational Psychology in the Fire Service: Emotion, Risk and Decision-Making provides readers with an overview of the latest research informing the policies, procedures and practices of those working on the ground in the UK Fire Service. Using best-practice principles and cutting-edge theory, the current text demonstrates how occupational psychology can be applied to fire services around the globe to improve individual, management, and organisational decisions. The authors aim to provide students, trainees, practitioners and fire personnel with a unique insight into a range of topics, including resilience, injury, work related wellbeing, community engagement as well as decision making and operational preparedness. This book represents a call to arms for more robust practices to support the Fire Service, highlighting the psychological factors involved in the firefighter occupation and paving the way towards a better understanding of emotion, risk, safety, and decision-making within the fire context.
Fire and Emergency Services Administration: Management and Leadership Practices by
This book provides aspiring and current chief officers who administer, manage, or lead fire, emergency medical services (EMS), rescue, and/or emergency management organizations with the knowledge to make policy decisions and the skills needed to lead their organizations through progressive change.
Fire and Rescue Services by
This unique text fills a major gap in the emergency services literature by surveying the research on fire and rescue service management in the UK. An extensive evidence base focuses on organizational culture, leadership skills, standards, and accountability, emphasizing the services' dual roles as first responders and guardians of public safety and prevention. The implications for international public health and safety programs are made clear as the services' recent history illustrates the complex challenges typical of functioning within local and national political contexts. Chapters take on a broad range of management, leadership, service delivery, and staffing concerns, including: · Evolution and adaptation of fire and rescue services during periods of expansion and austerity. · Civil protection as a local and national priority. · Structural issues: assessments and improvements, collaborations with other services. · Emerging social concerns: diversity, gender equality, the aging worker population. · The concepts and consequences of heroes and heroism. · Future directions for governance, transparency, and accountability. Fire and Rescue Services complements the earlier volumes in the Leadership & Management of Emergency Services series with equal parts realism and vision. It should interest a wide audience of public policymakers, public managers, and emergency service personnel, as well as academics and researchers.
Health and Safety in Emergency Management and Response by
This book familiarizes personnel serving as Emergency Managers, Safety Officers, Assistant Safety Officers, and in other safety-relevant Incident Command System (ICS) roles with physical and psychosocial hazards and stressors that may impact the health and safety of workers and responders in an All-Hazards Response, and ways to minimize exposure. This book provides knowledge on regulations and worker safety practices to the Safety Officer with an emergency responder background, and provides the tools for the Safety Officer with an industrial hygiene or safety professional background that help them be successful in this role. In order to work together effectively, it is important that anyone responding to an emergency be familiar with all standards and protocols.
Health Risks and Fair Compensation in the Fire Service by
This book is an overview of the hazards of firefighting, the health risks of exposure to combustion products that characterize firefighting, the science behind interpreting these risks for purposes of identifying diseases as work-related, and the legal and policy implications of adopting legislated "presumption" for purposes of compensation. The emphasis of the book will be on the risk of cancer, cardiovascular disease, traumatic hazards, and disabling psychosocial adjustment following major incidents. Several new studies have appeared recently, including the largest study of firefighters ever done, by the National Institute of Occupational Health and Safety (NIOSH). They evidence supports the conclusion that firefighters face significant occupational health risks in addition to the obviously severe safety hazards.
Incident Management for Operations by
[O'Reilly Book, please see O'Reilly FAQ] Are you satisfied with the way your company responds to IT incidents? How prepared is your response team to handle critical, time-sensitive events such as service disruptions and security breaches? IT professionals looking for effective response models have successfully adopted the Incident Management System (IMS) used by firefighters throughout the US. This practical book shows you how to apply the same response methodology to your own IT operation. You'll learn how IMS best practices for leading people and managing time apply directly to IT incidents where the stakes are high and outcomes are uncertain. This book provides use cases of some of the largest (and smallest) IT operations teams in the world. There is a better way to respond. You just found it. Assess your IT incident response with the PROCESS programmatic evaluation tool Get an overview of the IMS all-hazard, all-risk framework Understand the responsibilities of the Incident Commander Form a unified command structure for events that affect multiple business units Systematically evaluate what broke and how the incident team responded
Operational and Medical Management of Explosive and Blast Incidents by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the medical and operational management of blast and explosive incidents affecting civilian populations. It incorporates global lessons learned from first responders, emergency medicine providers, surgeons, intensivists, and military specialists with deep experience in handling blast injuries from point of injury through rehabilitation. The book begins with background and introductory information on blast physics, explosion types, frequency, and perspectives from the military. This is followed by a section on prehospital management focusing on medical and trauma responses, triage, psychological consequences, and operational considerations. It then examines the roles of the emergency department and ICU with chapters on planning and training, surge capacity, resilience, management of common injury types, contamination, and ventilator strategies. The next section covers surgical treatment of a variety of blast injuries such as thoracoabdominal, extremity and vascular, and orthopedic injuries. The book then discusses medical treatment of various injury patterns including lung, abdominal, extremity, and traumatic brain injury. The final section of the book covers post-hospital considerations such as rehabilitation, mental health, and community resilience. Throughout, case studies of recent incidents provide real-life examples of operational and medical management. Operational and Medical Management of Explosive and Blast Incidents is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, nurses, and medical students in emergency medicine, traumatic surgery, intensive care medicine, and public health as well as civilian and military EMS providers.
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
For additional Fire Science Journals and full-text publications use the Publication Finder and enter search terms such as: Fire Safety, Fire Science, Fire Engineering, etc.
