1,001 Questions and Answers for the CWI Exam by
AWS (The American Welding Society) is the worldwide leader in certification programs for the welding industry. Since the CWI (Certified Welding Inspectors) program inception in 1976, AWS has certified more than 100,000 welding inspectors alone, plus thousands more working professionals across other certification categories. AWS conducts exams in locations around the world, including 550 U.S. sites and 40 countries each year. Many candidates mistakenly assume their field experience is enough to obtain certification, only to end up frustrated when they fail to pass their exam. Certification exams are intentionally comprehensive to ensure the welding industry the high-quality personnel needed to handle these complex roles. The process requires almost everyone to prepare to some extent - even those with years of experience: How much preparation? It depends upon your current skills and knowledge. Are the rewards worth it? The rewards are often worth the time you invest: certification can boost your earnings significantly and expand your career opportunities. While there are a few books that can be purchased from the AWS and outside sources on the CWI exam, there are no publications dedicated to helping CWI candidates pass the exam. This title was written for that express purpose. This work is a comprehensive collection of preparatory exam questions and answers for welders, inspectors, students, or anyone interested in the welding metallurgical field. The work boasts appendices that include tables, formulas, lists of organizations and major corporations employing welders and inspectors.
Blueprint Reading Basics by
Overview Warren Hammer's Blueprint Reading Basics has been a bestselling classic for nearly two decades, revered for its ease of understanding and for giving readers opportunities to practice what they learned. With this historic revision, new author Charles Gillis has updated the entire package, replacing ALL figures with CAD-generated artwork, adding new illustrations, representing metric drawing practices alongside English, and including content from drawing standards such as Dimensioning and Tolerancing, Engineering Drawing Practices, Welding Symbols, Orthographic and Pictorial Views, Surface Texture, Undimensioned Drawings, and Types and Applications of Engineering Drawings, among others. Material has been rearranged for better presentation and an improved reader experience. Chapters on views, dimensions, surface finish, threads, and gears have been expanded, while new material on splines and cam prints has been added. Brand new chapters covering welding symbols and welded parts, sheet metal parts, and cast, forged, and molded plastic parts will be of particular interest to readers working with these processes. Each chapter contains a thorough explanation of the topic at hand, accompanied by detailed professional drawings, review questions, and corresponding worksheets, making this an ideal reference for students and instructors alike, and a must-have for mechanical engineers, draftspeople, inspectors, machinists, and students learning the manufacturers trades. This groundbreaking work now features a broad presentation of metric drawing standards and internationally recognized symbols, making it a truly global reference. An Instructor's Resource (sold separately) includes: * Over 600 PowerPoint presentation slides for using the book in the classroom. The arrangement mirrors the book and can be customized by instructors. * Blueprint Reading Course Recommended Syllabus and Lesson Plans, to be customized to suit each instructor's needs. * PDFs of Selected Figures and Tables. * PDFs for Review Questions and Answers. * PDFs for Worksheet Problems and Solutions.
Please note - You will need to create a free account in order to take the practice exams and save your scores.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) was created with the Occupational Safety & Health Act of 1970. OSHA's mission is to ensure a safe and healthy work conditions by setting and enforcing workplace standards and trainings.
This list is by no means exhaustive, but it gives the researcher/student some basics to start their research off. This is the same for the rest of pages. Please utilize the databases listed for more in-depth research.
Dying to Work by
In Dying to Work, Jonathan Karmel raises our awareness of unsafe working conditions with accounts of workers who were needlessly injured or killed on the job. Based on heart-wrenching interviews Karmel conducted with injured workers and surviving family members across the country, the stories in this book are introduced in a way that helps place them in a historical and political context and represent a wide survey of the American workplace, including, among others, warehouse workers, grocery store clerks, hotel housekeepers, and river dredgers. Karmel?s examples are portraits of the lives and dreams cut short and reports of the workplace incidents that tragically changed the lives of everyone around them. Dying to Work includes incidents from industries and jobs that we do not commonly associate with injuries and fatalities and highlights the risks faced by workers who are hidden in plain view all around us. While exposing the failure of safety laws that leave millions of workers without compensation and employers without any meaningful incentive to protect their workers, Karmel offers the reader some hope in the form of policy suggestions that may make American workers safer and employers more accountable. This is a book for anyone interested in issues of worker health and safety, and it will also serve as the cornerstone for courses in public policy, community health, labor studies, business ethics, regulation and safety, and occupational and environmental health policy.
Delivering Safety Excellence by
Delivering Safety Excellence Discover how to overcome a culture of inadequately addressing risk and thereby achieve safe working practices from a leader in the field Delivering Safety Excellence: Engagement Culture At Every Level provides an in-depth and practical overview of how to energize frontline employees, supervisors, managers, and leaders to overcome and solve regularly occurring safety concerns. The book teaches readers how to resolve dysfunctional safety cultures by engaging employees at all levels. This cross functional engagement culture regularly builds safe and effective working practices that eliminate regulatory, financial, and personal risk shortfalls while encouraging profitability and efficiency. The distinguished author shows how culture improvement processes and models can be utilized to improve the performance all across an organization. The material is presented in dialogue format using case studies to highlight the relationship between the concepts discussed and their application in the real world. You'll discover how to implement real solutions in industries of all types and in organizations of all sizes using practical and concrete strategies tested by the author in regions and varying cultures around the world. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to rapidly resolving the many common deficiencies in safety culture, including scarce regulatory and cultural materials and a lack of support, trust, and credibility for safety officers Practical discussions of how urgency can obstruct a consistent culture of safety, performance, and prudence Explorations of behavior-based safety, the injury plateau, the Occupational Health and Safety Act, and a dynamic model of safety weaknesses that lead to injuries Perfect for safety officers at all levels of organizations of any size, Delivering Safety Excellence: Engagement Culture At Every Level will also earn a place in the libraries of executives, managers, leaders, supervisors, and employees who seek a one-stop reference for how to build a safe and profitable company.
Process and plant safety by
Accidents in industrial installations are random events. Hence they cannot be totally avoided. Only the probability of their occurrence may be reduced and their consequences be mitigated. The book proceeds from hazards caused by materials and process conditions to indicating engineered and organizational measures for achieving the objectives of reduction and mitigation. Qualitative methods for identifying weaknesses of design and increasing safety as well as models for assessing accident consequences are presented. The quantitative assessment of the effectiveness of safety measures is explained. The treatment of uncertainties plays a role there. They stem from the random character of the accident and from lacks of knowledge of some of the phenomena to be addressed. The reader is acquainted with the simulation of accidents, with safety and risk analyses and learns how to judge the potential and limitations of mathematical modelling. Risk analysis is applied amongst others to "functional safety" and the determination of "appropriate distances" between industry and residential areas (land-use planning). This shows how it can be used as a basis for safety-relevant decisions. Numerous worked-out examples and case studies addressing real plants and situations deepen the understanding of the subjects treated and support self-study. Target groups: Chemical and petrochemical industry, licensing authorities, testing and certification bodies, safety engineers, engineering consultants, students of process, chemical and mechanical engineering as well as of industrial and engineering chemistry. About the Author: Ulrich Hauptmanns studied economics and nuclear engineering at the Universities of Berlin and Edinburgh. He obtained a doctor's degree in nuclear reactor physics in Berlin and then worked as a safety analyst for the company constructing the German High Temperature Reactor THTR-300. After more than three years as visiting professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering of the University of Oviedo in Spain he joined the German government consultant for nuclear safety (GRS) in Cologne. His areas of work were engineering risks and probabilistic safety analyses for nuclear and process plants. Concurrently he taught at the Ruhr-University Bochum. In 1995 he was appointed to the chair of plant safety at the Otto-von-Guericke-University in Magdeburg, which he occupied until his retirement in 2011. Since then he has been working as a consultant on process and plant safety.
Use our Gateway Search to search many of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try. For resources or assistance searching our databases please go to the Help tab.
