This research guide is meant to assist students in the Teacher Education program by providing useful journal titles, databases, books, websites, and other resources on the topic of education. This page serves as a landing page for the program while additional tabs at the top serve as resources for some topics within your program.
Helpful Library Guides
Use our Gateway Search to search all of our databases or choose a specific database to narrow your search. Below are a few specific databases that you may want to try.
For resources or assistance searching our databases, please go to the Help tab.
A wealth of resources to help preschoolers and children in the early grades grasp critical early childhood themes. Developed with experts on early childhood education and guided by evidence-based practices of reading instruction, Early Learning offers rich resources designed for easy integration into the classroom curriculum, public library programming, or learning at home.
Education Research Complete offers a large collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, is an online resource to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. When provided by ERIC, there are links to the ERIC full text or links to other sources such as publisher websites or DOIs.
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
This list is by no means exhaustive. Visit our on-campus libraries to borrow these books.
Where Great Teaching Begins by 
Introduction to Early Childhood Education by 
Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom, 3rd Edition by 
What Great Teachers Do Differently, 1st Edition by This list is by no means exhaustive. These journal titles can give the researcher some research from reputable sources.
Select titles from our Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development professional development and education collection. For our complete list of ASCD titles please click here.
Designing Authentic Performance Tasks and Projects by
Aimed at the growing number of educators who are looking to move beyond covering the curriculum, Designing Authentic Performance Tasks and Projects provides a comprehensive guide to ensuring students' deeper learning--in which they can transfer their knowledge, skills, and understandings to the world beyond the classroom. Readers will learn how to * Create authentic tasks and projects to address both academic standards and 21st century skills. * Apply task frames to design performance tasks that allow voice and choice for students. * Design and use criterion-based evaluation tools and rubrics for assessment, including those for students to use in self-assessment and peer assessment. * Incorporate performance-based instructional strategies needed to prepare students for authentic performance. * Differentiate tasks and projects for all students, including those needing additional support or challenge. * Effectively manage the logistics of a performance-based classroom. * Use project management approaches to facilitate successful implementation of tasks and projects. * Develop performance-based curriculum at the program, school, and district levels. Authors Jay McTighe, Kristina J. Doubet, and Eric M. Carbaugh provide examples and resources across all grade levels and subject areas. Teachers can use this practical guidance to transform their classrooms into vibrant centers of learning, where students are motivated and engaged and see relevance in the work they are doing.
Five Practices for Equity-Focused School Leadership by
This timely and essential book provides a comprehensive guide for school leaders who desire to engage their school communities in transformative systemic change. Sharon I. Radd, Gretchen Givens Generett, Mark Anthony Gooden, and George Theoharis offer five practices to increase educational equity and eliminate marginalization based on race, disability, socioeconomics, language, gender and sexual identity, and religion. For each dimension of diversity, the authors provide background information for understanding the current realities in schools and beyond, and they suggest "disruptive practices" to replace the status quo in order to achieve full inclusion and educational excellence for every child. Assuming that leadership to create equity is a unique practice, the book offers * Clear explanations of foundational terms and concepts, such as equity, systemic inequity, paradigms and cognitive dissonance, and privilege; * Specific recommendations for how to build support and sustainability by engaging colleagues and other stakeholders in constructive dialogues with multiple perspectives; * Detailed descriptions of routines and roles for building effective equity-leadership teams; * Guidelines and tools for performing an equity audit, including environmental scans; * A change framework to skillfully transform your system; and * Reflection activities for self-discovery, understanding, and personal and professional growth. A call to action that is both passionate and practical, Five Practices for Equity-Focused School Leadership is an indispensable roadmap for educators undertaking the journey toward an education system that acknowledges and advances the worth and potential of all students.
Giving Students a Say by
"This practical, engaging guide explores how student-centered assessment not only improves student engagement and achievement but also ensures that assessment is accurate, meaningful, and fair"--
Student Learning Communities by
Student learning communities (SLCs) are more than just a different way of doing group work. Like the professional learning communities they resemble, SLCs provide students with a structured way to solve problems, share insight, and help one another continually develop new skills and expertise.With the right planning and support, dynamic collaborative learning can thrive everywhere. In this book, educators Douglas Fisher, Nancy Frey, and John Almarode explain how to create and sustain student learning communities by? Designing group experiences and tasks that encourage dialogue;? Fostering the relational conditions that advance academic, social, and emotional development;? Providing explicit instruction on goal setting and opportunities to practice progress monitoring;? Using thoughtful teaming practices to build cognitive, metacognitive, and emotional regulation skills;? Teaching students to seek, give, and receive feedback that amplifies their own and others' learning; and? Developing the specific leadership skills and strategies that promote individual and group success.Examples from face-to-face and virtual K-12 classrooms help to illustrate what SLCs are, and teacher voices testify to what they can achieve. No more hoping the group work you're assigning will be good enough-or that collaboration will be its own reward. No more crossing your fingers for productive outcomes or struggling to keep order, assess individual student contributions, and ensure fairness. Student Learning Communities shows you how to equip your students with what they need to learn in a way that is truly collective, makes them smarter together than they would be alone, creates a more positive classroom culture, and enables continuous academic and social-emotional growth.
Teaching for Deeper Learning by
Far too often, our students attain only a superficial level of knowledge that fails to prepare them for deeper challenges in school and beyond. In Teaching for Deeper Learning, renowned educators and best-selling authors Jay McTighe and Harvey F. Silver propose a solution: teaching students to make meaning for themselves. Contending that the ability to "earn" understanding will equip students to thrive in school, at work, and in life, the authors highlight seven higher-order thinking skills that facilitate students' acquisition of information for greater retention, retrieval, and transfer. These skills, which cut across content areas and grade levels and are deeply embedded in current academic standards, separate high achievers from their low-performing peers. Drawing on their deep well of research and experience, the authors * Explore what kind of content is worth having students make meaning about.* Provide practical tools and strategies to help teachers target each of the seven thinking skills in the classroom. * Explain how teachers can incorporate the thinking skills and tools into lesson and unit design.* Show how teachers can build students' capacity to use the strategies independently.If our goal is to prepare students to meet the rigorous demands of school, college, and career, then we must foster their ability to respond to such challenges. This comprehensive, practical guide will enable teachers to engage students in the kind of learning that yields enduring understanding and valuable skills that they can use throughout their lives.
Teaching to Empower by
We want students to master academic standards, and we want them to be confident, adaptive, and socially responsible. Above all, we want them to find meaning and satisfaction in their lives. Achieving these goals requires a concerted focus on the social-emotional skills that empower students in and beyond the classroom. In Teaching to Empower, Debbie Zacarian and Michael Silverstone explore what an empowered student looks like in our increasingly diverse contemporary schools and prompt educators to examine their own relationship to empowerment. The book's evidence-based strategies and authentic examples show you how to foster an inclusive culture of agency, self-confidence, and collaboration that will give each of your students--regardless of race, culture, language, socioeconomic status, abilities, sexuality, or gender--the opportunity, responsibility, and tools to become an active learner, thoughtful community member, and engaged global citizen. Whether you're a preservice teacher, a classroom novice, or a veteran, you'll find the practical guidance you'll need to * Create inclusive and empowering physical learning spaces. * Set up self-directed learning and promote positive interdependence. * Promote student self-reflection. * Teach the skills of collaboration. * Foster the self-advocacy that fuels deeper, more autonomous learning. * Partner more effectively with families and the community to support student empowerment.
What Makes a Star Teacher by
How do some teachers manage to expertly engage students in deep learning, harmonize mandated standards with individual student needs, and create trusting relationships in the classroom? What typically sets these "Star Teachers" apart from other teachers? In What Makes a Star Teacher: 7 Dispositions That Support Student Learning, Valerie Hill-Jackson, Nicholas D. Hartlep, and Delia Stafford provide a framework that can help ensure that you are your students' greatest asset-and a star teacher in your classroom. The book is grounded in studies conducted and ideas developed over a half-century by educational theorist Martin Haberman, whose models are used in hundreds of school districts across the United States. It's designed to help you assess, develop, and reflect upon seven key dispositions of Haberman's Star Teacher framework: 1. Persistence 2. Positive values about student learning 3. The ability to adapt general theories into pedagogical practices 4. An encouraging approach to students classified as at risk 5. A professional versus a personal orientation to learners 6. The ability to navigate school bureaucracy¿ 7. A willingness to admit one's shortcomings Full of insightful authentic examples, practical and ready-to-use strategies, and numerous suggested resources, What Makes a Star Teacher offers what every teacher-and every student-needs to thrive in any classroom.
Where Great Teaching Begins by
What comes to mind when you think about lesson planning? If you're like most teachers, you focus on the material you need to present, what you will do and say, what you will ask students to do, and the assessments you will create and administer. And if you're like most teachers, you also know what it's like to be disappointed when this careful planning doesn't always lead to the deep understanding and mastery you'd intended. There's a better way to approach instructional design says author and teacher-educator Ann R. Reeves, and it's within every teacher's grasp. It begins with a simple mental shift from "planning for activities" to "planning for learning outcomes" and a critical concentration on learning objectives. Remarkable for its clarity and filled with vivid examples, Where Great Teaching Begins is a step-by-step walk through the crucial, behind-the-scenes intellectual work necessary to make instruction truly effective and help students learn deeply and meaningfully. Here, you'll discover how to * Translate even the most inscrutable standards into strong, learning-focused objectives. * Use effective objectives as the basis for excellent assessment. * Craft engaging learning activities that incorporate both targeted content and necessary thinking skills. * Pull objectives, assessments, and learning activities together into powerful plans for learning. Whether you're a novice instructional designer or a veteran seeking a new, streamlined process, this book is a must-read take on how to plan and achieve the excellent learning all teachers aim for and all students deserve.
E-Books in OhioLINK Databases
This list is by no means exhaustive, but it gives the researcher/student some basics to start their research off. Please utilize the databases listed for more in-depth research.
Handbook of the Sociology of Education in the 21st Century by 
Innovation and Accountability in Teacher Education by 
Leaders in the Sociology of Education: Intellectual Self-Portraits by In one class you are to find a peer reviewed journal article on "diversity in education," the following link will lead you to an FAQ on the subject.
Full-text articles from thousands of academic journals and professional magazines on a wide variety of educational topics to support educator professional development. Includes lesson plans, curriculum standards, and more.
Graphical search interface for students in grades K-5. Explora for Primary Schools is a colorful, mobile-friendly search for students in grades K-5. Explora provides an easy to use interface to find magazine articles, pictures, and encyclopedias. Searching is organized by topic, and topic overviews are available for many subjects.
This resource was previously known as Kids Search.
Explora for Secondary Schools is a search interface designed for students in grades 6-12. It provides students with research tools to obtain appropriate types of content (magazines, newspapers, biographies, etc.) on a variety of topics.
This resource was previously known as Student Research Center.
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
Primary Search provides full text from 57 children's magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children''s reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Animals and full text for over 100 pamphlets.
TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for articles from magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, biographies, book reviews, public opinion polls, EBSCO's Current Issues database, and government information.
Physical Education and Arts and Crafts are also an important part of lesson planning. The two databases below may be useful:
