Annual Library Reports

Last Updated: 7/11/2023

Below is some information about the library that can help you answer library related accreditation questions. Please reach out to the Library Director if you need more specific library-related information or if you have questions about any of the resources or services listed below. 

Locations: 

The EGCC Library consists of two physical locations. The EGCC’s Library is located on the main floor Steubenville Campus with a satellite location called the Information Commons located in Thomas Humphries Hall on the Youngstown Campus. Both library locations provide access to the library's print collection, interlibrary loan, reference services and public access computers as well as paid printing.

OhioLINK:

The EGCC Library is a member of OhioLINK, a consortia of 117 libraries from 88 institutions located throughout Ohio. Ohio based EGCC Library patrons can request materials through interlibrary loan service from other OhioLINK member institutions. EGCC Library patrons may also take advantage of OhioLINK's pick-up anywhere and walk-up access at participating OhioLINK institutions. 

Library Collections:

The EGCC Library’s physical collection contains approximately 15,000 items divided between the two campuses with the majority of the collection residing at the main library in Steubenville. Additionally, through its co-operative membership in the OhioLINK consortium, EGCC users have access to the shared OhioLINK collection of approximately 38 million items that are available through interlibrary loan.  Interlibrary loan materials may be picked up at either EGCC campus or at any OhioLINK Library that participates in the pick-up anywhere service.

In addition to access to the physical materials, EGCC users enjoy access to approximately 200 licensed online research databases containing full-text online articles, eBooks, streaming videos and more. The online collection may be accessed on-campus or remotely via the Library’s website (https://egcc.edu/library) through the Library’s Discovery layer (Gateway Search) and A-Z database list.

Electronic Resources are licensed both by the EGCC Library and OhioLINK. Locally licensed resources are only available to EGCC users. OhioLINK license resources are available to all OhioLINK members.

Information Resources:

• Local Book Collection: approx. 15,000 titles (includes some locally purchased eBooks that are not part of a database subscription)
• Online Research Databases: 200 Databases (https://egcc.libguides.com/az.php) (This includes locally subscribed resources as well as OhioLINK consortium resources).

Library Provided Resources:

• Research Guides (LibGuides) (https://egcc.libguides.com/): 87 guides currently published. These are locally created research guides for our students and faculty. These are regularly updated guides and are used to provide instructional support as well as direct students to the library’s print and digital online information sources
• Library Answers & FAQs (LibAnswers) (https://egcc.libanswers.com/): This is a collection of Library FAQs and how-to articles. These articles are created by library staff in response to requests or need.
• Asynchronous Tutorial Videos (https://www.youtube.com/c/EGCCLibraryandInformationCommons): This is the library’s collection of tutorial videos. The videos address a variety of topics from how-to request a book to more in-depth research tutorials. 
• Interactive Self-Paced Tutorials (LibWizard) (https://egcc.libanswers.com/Faculty-FAQs/faq/351089): This is a newer resource/service. This is a collection of interactive self-paced tutorials that cover a range of library and information literacy topics. These tutorials generate a certificate of completion (not score dependent) at the end of the tutorial. Faculty can embed these tutorials into their Canvas courses.

Library Services:

• Reference: Students and faculty may contact the library staff for assistance in locating resources or for assistance using resources. The Library’s reference is available by drop-in or appointment via the following methods: in-person, phone, email, text, live chat and video chat.
• Research Assistance: Students and faculty may contact the library for more in-depth research assistance for course projects, papers, presentations or other course work. Research assistance is available by drop-in or by appointment via the following methods: in-person, phone, email, text, live chat and video chat.
• Library Instruction Workshops: Library workshops are available to students and faculty. The Library’s calendar of workshops is available on our library homepage and LibCal portal (https://egcc.libcal.com). In addition to scheduled workshops, faculty may request a workshop for their classes. Online workshops may be recorded and can be emailed to those who registered for the event.
• Live Chat (LibChat) is available on most library webpages, research guides and in some research databases. This service can be used by all.
• Library Chatbots: The library employs rules-based (not AI) chatbots to aid students when members of the library staff are not available to monitor the library's live chat. Chatbots are also used as stand-alone navigation aids on certain guides (e.g. the library's citation guide). Library staff monitor feedback for the chatbot so that chat-flows can be adjusted to meet the needs of the users. 
• Reference Appointments (LibCal): (https://egcc.libcal.com/) can be self-scheduled using our LibCal portal. These appointments are open to students and faculty.

Supporting Students through Faculty Support:

• Library Instructional Sessions: Faculty may request library instructional sessions for their classes. The library can offer generic as well as custom tailored sessions to support class assignments. Virtual sessions can be recorded and distributed to students who are unable to attend the live session.
• Workshops for Faculty: Similar to the workshops for the students, the library has a calendar of workshops specifically for faculty. Likewise, academic departments are invited to request a workshop to learn about discipline specific resources available through the library.
• Faculty Library Guide: https://egcc.libguides.com/newfaculty This is a faculty orientated guide that the library updates regularly to share new resources, tips, updates and more.